We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trap for tourists”

Trattoria alla Madonna
Ranked #275 of 1,448 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Polo
Leuven, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Trap for tourists”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Tiny dishes, personnel not friendly and bad wine of the house. Charge a 2 euro cover per person + 12% of service. I didn't see any eating there and there must be a reason for that. Total trap for tourists.

Helpful?
1 Thank fabiobrlorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    865
    943
    408
    257
    280
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good and affordable”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

If you are coming to Venice you should stop here to eat. You will be waiting an empty table for at least 15-20 min. Because the place is very crowded, however your reward will be fantastic. Mid range prices. I recommend FUSILLI AL TARTUFO and RISOTTO AI FRUTTI DI MARE.

Helpful?
Thank Emme Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Large, busy and dependable quality for many years”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I have eaten here several times over the past 25+ years and it has always been very good. This time for lunch I had spaghetti with black squid sauce, a favorite of Venice. It was great. The color and appearance is off-putting, but once you taste its briny freshness, you are hooked forever. I finally convinced my wife to try it and she begrudgingly admitted it was really good. She had spaghetti with clam sauce which was great. The service was professional and competent which is important in a quite large (for Venice) crowded restaurant serving people from all over the world. I have no qualms about recommending Madonna if you are looking for a great restaurant near the Rialto bridge.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerReady3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Fabulous !!!!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

The food is sensational. Fish a speciality, but also first class roast chicken.
Spaghetti Al vongole was superb, as were sardines in a piquant sauce with onions.
Waiters are a little surly, but soon perked up with a little English charm!
I would highly recommend this traditional Venetian restaurant, which, by the way, is full of Italians.
Very reasonable prices too!

Helpful?
1 Thank connell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“10 years ago this was good, not nowadays”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Disappointing, the food is not good and I spent 8 hours after lunch to digest it. I went here 10 years ago two times and the experience was great. To be avoided nowadays.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RRR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria alla Madonna also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria alla Madonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing