We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost quality”

Trattoria alla Madonna
Ranked #284 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Polo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lost quality”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have been at the Madonna several times in 2011 & 2012; - good food at reasonable prices, just like Michelin Guide described. Now we realized that the place Sent down dramatically. Spaghetti Vongole fresh, served almost cold, portion reduced by 1/3. Astice ( Hummer) was dry and shrunken, obviously cooked the previous day. Not to mention seafood risotto, does not contain visible seafood particles. The bill with the tip already included. A we will not go anymore.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliocarli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    845
    925
    403
    256
    277
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Everything we order was excelent”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We ordered different plates and recommend the black rice with squid. Also the mussels (cozze) marinara were fantastique, the tiramisu was a litrle to sweet for me but good taste in general. The price high but finally a good value for the money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jorge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was one of our favorites. We had an excellent clam and mussel starter. My fish was excellent and I liked the atmosphere. I though it was very reasonable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheOCfromBigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
307 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Adequate, but not Overwhelming”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by a local Venice resident as being a hidden gem known only to local people with great food. If this restaurant was a hidden gem, it is no longer. I had a view of the entrance from my seat in the restaurant and it became clear to me that 80% of the people coming through the door were tourists with their tour books open. The food was adequate, but was not particularly tasty, except dessert (which was great). I thought it was fun that the seafood, including the whole fish, is displayed in cases as you enter the restaurant and that the waiter brings you fish (with its skin) to you for approval before the fish is taken to the kitchen for cooking. The bread on the table is stale and I noted that most people did not finish the piece they began. The wine, of course, is excellent. It is, after all, Italy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyrelaxeddudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ok food, but seems like a tourist destination”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

When I read reviews of this place being in a dark alley off the beaten path by the Rialto bridge, I thought it must be a hidden gem. Walking up to the restaurant was a little scary as there's just a simple door and you can't really see inside. It seems like a secret place that you're discovering and must be good. But as soon as you walk in and see the numerous waiters and the huge room (well 3 separate dining rooms to be exact) with banquet looking tables, you realize this is just another place in Venice capitalizing on tourists. Especially with the 12% service charge included (the 2 Euro per person cover charge didn't bother me, as every restaurant I went to in Venice, even the ones not near tourist attractions had that.) The food was fine, but nothing special. Felt like I could get the same thing at an Italian restaurant in America. The service was faster than typical in Italy, but a line was forming and I think they were trying to get us out of there. I will say they never pressured us to order anything or balked when we ordered beer instead of a bottle of wine. Their prices for food and drinks were reasonable though so in the end I was happy that at least we didn't spend too much money on the mediocre food.

Overall I would say skip it. Next time I'd rather go to one of the touristy places along the water near the Rialto because at least I could say I had a nice view while eating mediocre food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria alla Madonna also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria alla Madonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing