We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“private dock on the Grand Canal!”
other travelers have booked this property
The Grand Canal
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Grand Canal
The entrance The living room - detail 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
46 reviews
The Grand Canal
The entrance
The living room - detail 1
The view from the apartment
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
A bathroom
Map
Venice
The kitchenette
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Veneto

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tropichaw...
St. Thomas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“private dock on the Grand Canal!”
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Via Tiepolletto. The apartment is perfect for two couples, and right on the Grand Canal! The apartment is decorated in a funky-cool style, with an entire kitchen in a closet, ceramic blue stars on the bathroom wall (it has two separate baths) and eclectic furnishings - it was perfect for us. WiFi is available, although sometimes I had to stick my iPad out the window to lock it in. There is a private dock adjacent to the lobby where you can sit with a glass of vino rosso and watch the boat traffic go by. It was a bit hard to find, and since it is located right on the Grand Canal. you must approach it from a back alley (it would be easy if you had your own boat...) A perfect place in a perfect location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
20Jbond00...
Delhi, New York
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Disappointing misrepresentation about a lovely location”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this apartment for two nights with my boys. The apartment is ideally located on the canal. Description of this is actually a thin line between truth and misrepresentation. The mails pasted below are evidence and acknowledgment of these facts.

"Dear Anna,
I am indeed surprised that two of my mails failed 2 reach you. This very fact evidences lack of wifi in the apartment.
Let me assure you that my boys are among the finest net wizards around. They struggled with access to the net for over two hours on the two days we were there. The free wifi did not get accessed, forget about the use of access code.
Attempts to call you failed as no one answered. But the response was immediate, once we were on the return train. Disappointing.
On another note the apartment lacks even wine glasses and its living spaces need attention in time and investment, both. The sofa set is unkempt and needs attention due to age related issues. The decor needs the same care as the two washrooms reflect. The lighting and the paper prints do not do justice to the address of being a palace on waterfront, which is a reality. This is the only time in my life that I drank a high end wine out of water glasses, as it was too late to buy and it was pelting rain, too.i would have happily bought them to leave behind for those after us., not to suffer.
My serious advice is that a property such as this can give much higher yields, if re looked as a serious hospitality business.
Since I intend to reflect my concerns, it is only fair that I share them with you beforehand.
Best wishes,
Satya"
And the reply from the owner

"Dear Satya,
I don’t know what happened as I’m always in touch with the phone and the e-mails.
I can make you sure that the internet works, as I checked with my nephew that lives in the palace and use it.
I’m really sorry for trouble with the wine glasses, Lucia didn’t noticed that they were missing and I’ll pay great attention to your inputs.
Kind regards Anna"
The apartment is very basic in terms of furnishing and has an unkempt feel about it. Two windowless bedrooms and a living room overlooking the canal are separated by a closet kitchen, which is meagre in terms of crockery and glasses.
Infact this apartment has been carved out of a long hall in the building.
However the two toilets are well appointed and done well. Unfortunately you can't substitute them for bedrooms.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location
Liked least: Stingy Underutilisation of such a well located asset
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desantisd...
Palmdale, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 2 nights this month and it was definitely not enough. The location of the palazzo is right on the Grand Canal - the view outside the front window is breathtaking! The two bedrooms were comfortable and it was nice having 2 bathrooms. The only issue, and it wasn't even really an issue, was the caretaker who met us speaks NO English. My mom speaks Spanish so we were able to figure things out and Anna, the contact person, was extremely helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location!
Liked least: Wifi was not strong enough for anything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rscarry1
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Surprise”
Reviewed May 17, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We waited almost too late to book a place for the La Biennale preview week in Venice and after days of searching we came across this little gem. Could not be happier with the communication and assistance by the folks show rent this place. We arrived very late to a wonderful smile and the keys and tour to out little piece of Venetian heaven. All three of us thrilled by opening the windows and seeing we actually were on the Grand Canal, after arriving on our water taxi to the door. Great location with Le Biennale pavilions and installations and exhibitions all around us. We hit the ground running on the first morning with a full agenda of much art and Venice to discover. Coming home to our new home away from home in Venice we loved the quirky decor and the fact we had two bathrooms and a good size front room with comfy sofa's and nice small working kitchen. Just be aware that you have to go through one of the bedrooms to get to the second but we are all close friends do it felt like a chic slumber party. The back bedroom had loads of hanging space and great big bed and privacy. We would book again and can highly recommend far exceeded expectation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: locationa nd decor
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blkmoth
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Feel like a Venetian”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I felt like we were coming home to a warm, comfortable apartment after a day out exploring the city. One can sit anywhere in the living area and see passing by the activity on the Grand Canal. Also, to wake up and see the sun lit shimmering of the canal's water cast upon the walls was lovely. The location is perfect as there is an express vaporetto stop as well as a traghetto crossing practically around the corner. Anna was promptly responsive in emails and was very kindly helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania2980
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely loved staying at this property...it was right on the Grand Canal...Lucia is such a nice lady...She checked us in and genuinely made us feel very welcome. The jetty wght outside ride the apartment for the water taxi.
We cannot wait to go back and will never book another place.
Thank you Lucia and Anna,

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suziewong...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were due to arrive after 11pm at night. Anna advised us to take a water taxi ( great advice ) and she arranged for her housekeepers daughter to meet us . There is a water door at the palazzo and our taxi dropped us at the entrance . We has asked for bread and milk to be supplied and it was there waiting. Although we do not speak Italian we understood the instructions we were given and a contact phone number was put into my phone in case I had a problem . The palazzo has a living room - furniture old but in keeping with the palazzo style - with a dining table and when you open four full size cupboard doors you find an incredibly compact kitchen with every requirement available . The palazzo is very clean and has a lovely hallway outside . We spent one afternoon sitting in the old courtyard . In the
morning we ate breakfast at the table and looked out on the grand canal watching the numerous boats go by. When we went out the next day we left down a very narrow passageway and promptly got lost - the water bus is only 5 minutes a way but easy to get lost in the venice back streets. We understood why Anna suggested the water taxi at night! There is a bakery just a couple of streets away which sells fresh bread, pastries, water etc . We ate out at dinner so never used the cooking facilities. My only concern was the bars on the front and back windows - leaving only the door as a fire escape ( there was a hose outside which took water from the canal) . The palazzo allows you to come and go as you please - it had a cd, English books and a TV ( we watched the movie 3 kings in English - it had Italian subtitles when the Iraqi language was used!) for entertainment . Also guide books of venice were available . Highly recommended

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing