We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Modern Italian” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Impronta Cafe

Impronta Cafe
Ranked #32 of 1,377 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Modern Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

As with many places in Venice, we found Imprompta Cafe by chance. Enjoyed a superb lunch of black squid ink pasta with pesto and marinara, tomato and mozzarella salad and a glass of crisp white wine. Excellent coffee and service. If we can find it again, we will return!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneysidersOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    703
    319
    64
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Modern Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Booked online for this restaurant & glad I did as was very busy on a Friday night in Venice. We did have to wait 15 minutes for our table in the bar area which was quite cramped but had some drinks and enjoyed watching everyone else's food come out.

We had the mozzarella and prosciutto starter which was incredible quality, just the freshest ingredients. Then we both had pasta for main which again was very good. The atmosphere was busy but not cramped, it was a welcome change to be somewhere modern.

The only slight negative for this place was the service which was a bit hurried and abrupt, it was a busy night so can understand the staff being busy but a bit more friendliness would have been appreciated.

Overall would definitely recommend though for a good value, top quality, modern meal in a beautiful part of Venice

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beagle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good service and prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Just ate their with my girlfriend. They spoke good English and described to me what the Venetian sauce is after I wanted the ravioli. I got the gnocchi as my prima instead as I don't like salty sardine sauce.

Helpful?
2 Thank digitaldan123
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
242 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Casual contemporary dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Another good pick from Trip Advisor, and a nice contrast to the other places we visited.

The restaurant has a very contemporary feel in both its menu and decor. The choice and quality of food was excellent. The portions are small but perfectly formed: we'd recommend having something light for lunch and visiting in the evening so you can try several dishes.

Tip: make sure you reserve in advance. We ate early on Saturday evening and it was already fairly busy. By the time we left (about 8pm) it was packed, with several parties waiting for tables.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Family W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food and wine. A nice change from the usual tourist traps”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this place by accident (there is no name on the outside of the building). It has a simple, chic decor and was crowded at lunchtime with locals (always a good sign). We waited for 15 minutes for a table and it was definitely worth it! The food was delicious. We had the fish of the day - swordfish and sea bass - and roasted rabbit. The Pinot Grigio was splendid and even the sparkling mineral water was good (I'm personally not a fan of mineral water, but I really enjoyed this one). Service was fairly speedy, but not rushed and the ambiance was very lively. All in all, a great experience and definitely a must for anyone wanting to branch out of the regular tourist places.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VisitorLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Impronta Cafe also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Impronta Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing