We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Peaceful Reteat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Patronato Salesiano Leone XIII

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Patronato Salesiano Leone XIII
Ranked #180 of 462 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Peaceful Reteat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

A Monastery guesthouse providing simple but very adequate accommodation. Plain rooms with beds, wardrobes and a desk. Good en suite bathrooms. All kept spotlessly clean. A good and healthy buffet breakfast is provided. The staff are all welcoming, efficient and very helpful. There is also a roof-top terrace with garden furniture that guests are welcome to use. This guesthouse is in a residential area, and is quiet and peaceful, ensuring a good night's sleep after a day in the hustle and bustle of the heart of Venice. However, it is also only two minutes walk from a vaporetto stop. Also, just around the corner, there is a Co-op store, a fresh fruit stall, a gelateria and some good, reasonably priced trattorias. It is also only a fifteen minute slow walk from St Mark's Piazza. We would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a superb view of the end of the Grand Canal and lagoon, and are next to the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
7
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acton, MA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

As stated in the other reviews, this is not luxury accommodation. However, if you want a clean, quiet, comfortable and safe place to sleep that won't break the bank, this may fill the bill. It is conveniently close to the Giardini vaporetto stop, in a quiet part of Venice that is nice to escape to after dealing with the crowds in the tourist areas, while at the same time an easy walk from San Marco. It was fun talking to the Europeans we met in the breakfast room--I think we were the only Americans staying there at the time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Holly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I visited Venice recently, I was not sure about how this place would be, it was slightly difficult to find it in the map, due to the peculiar numbering and distribution of streets in the area, this was by far the worst think I can say about this hotel. Do not come here if you intend to have jacuzzi, high speed internet and a LED TV in your room, if you are interested in a simple room with a private bathroom, very clean and tidy and a helpful and extremely warm staff, everything close to San Marco, this is your place, I will certainly return on my next trip to Venice. They informed me about an excellent trattoria nearby and lent me a pair of boots to wander around the centre of Venice with its peculiar acqua alta.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NenitodeMadriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was the third time I had stayed here - that in itself must show how much I rate it! Just a short walk - about 15 to 20 minutes from St. Marks - and a beautiful walk too along the Grand Canal. Situated next to a park, it was really quiet and also a very safe area for anyone travelling alone. The staff are very welcoming and really make you feel at home. The girl on the desk speaks English really well. What I liked were the nice little touches like being able to fill up your water bottle in the dining room at any time and a large fridge for the use of guests. It was spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were very good. I stayed in about six different places in Italy this year, including 4 star hotels but this was in my mind the best in every respect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ROSEMARIE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

On a Pilgrimage from the USA to Italy with a group of 28 and this lodging is very basic. No TV in room, only bed(s) and private bathroom with Air Conditioning. Internet available for a fee. There was a Continental Breakfast served in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank we2love2travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Sarasina
Sarasina
#311 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Castello
Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#115 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Venice Nice
Venice Nice
#234 of 462 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Castello
B&B Laguna724
B&B Laguna724
#250 of 462 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Castello
Bed & Breakfast Giardini
Bed & Breakfast Giardini
#97 of 462 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patronato Salesiano Leone XIII? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patronato Salesiano Leone XIII

Property: Patronato Salesiano Leone XIII
Address: Calle San Domenico Castello 1281 | Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 462 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placed in the Sestiere of Castello in the extreme part of Venice, in the proximities of the Biennale exhibition, the B&B is out of the tourist mass area in quiet position. Good point of departure to discover the greatest tourist attractions: St. Mark's Square is just 15 minutes away by feet, the stop of the vaporetto "Giardini / Biennale" (around 250 meters away) is served from three public lines. We offer simple and functional rooms with en suite bathroom all equipped with telephone, air conditioning, autonomous heating, wi fi connection and hair dryer. No curfew time for the night reentry. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing