We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location, Superb Hosts, Lovely Room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed And Breakfast Ca' Luisa
Ranked #125 of 458 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location, Superb Hosts, Lovely Room!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Ca'Luisa is situated fantastically between St Marks (2 minute walk) and the Rialto Bridge (5-10 minute walk).
Upon arrival we were greeted by big smiles and shown to our room. A spacious, warm, clean, tidy, venetian style room. Double bed, breakfast table and 2 chairs, wardrobe, mini-fridge, safe, hairdryer, large TV, and a modern ensuite! Very nice considering the very reasonable price.
The WIFI was fine for us in the room on the laptop, but mobile devices struggled to pick it up, but they did say we were more than welcome to use the foyer sofa for better WIFI if needed.
Breakfast is served in the room between 9 and 10, croissant, bread, muffin, yogurt, preserves, juice and coffee. Housekeeping is at 10am everyday, come back to a tidied room which is lovely!
Lovely couple who run it. One day we were on our way out and Luisa ran after us with an umbrella in hand as it was raining outside! Just an example of their thoughtfulness.
Stayed 4 nights and didn't have a single complaint!
Being rather close to the centre, foot traffic outside can go onto near midnight, but is expected with such fantastic location. Nothing to lose sleep over though!

Would thoroughly recommend, and if returning to venice we would use ca'luisa again.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the Venchi - icecream shop - was large, clean and had a modern ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bballlouie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    50
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
134
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The location is fantastic, just a 2-min walk from Piazza San Marco and 5 mins from the Rialto Bridge. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights for our honeymoon in a spacious room -- with an equally roomy en-suite bathroom -- just across from the gourmet chocolate chain, Venchi (which makes delicious gelato). When we arrived, we were greeted by the lovely Luisa and Bruno with complimentary champagne and crisps. Luisa speaks just enough English, whereas charming Bruno spoke only Italian and relied on hand gestures.

Our room was equipped with the standard wardrobe, safety box, small fridge and TV, as well as an extra pillow and blankets. We had a double room and were surprised the bed was two singles pushed together. They were on the firm side but comfortable. The décor is old school and charming; most importantly, it's very clean (daily cleaning services are provided).

A continental breakfast is served every morning, comprising coffee, fruit juice, bread, pastries, a nice selection of jams, yoghurt, and sometimes fruit. We were asked what time we would like breakfast and we said 8.30am, but Luisa seemed quite insistent on having it served at 9am. We're not sure if this was a language barrier thing.

If we had any gripes, it would be the poor WiFi reception -- you literally had to stand by the door to get a signal. Perhaps our room was furthest away from the office, where I'm guessing the router is located. Also the windows don't really keep out the noise, but that's what we expected from a B&B in a central location and it gets quieter after midnight.

Overall, we would recommend this to anyone looking for a good stay in the heart of Venice.

Pros: Location, very clean and spacious room, nice breakfast, free use of umbrellas, friendly hosts
Cons: Poor WiFi reception, a little noisy but bearable

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caelisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Ca' Luisa is very close to San Marco Piazza (2 minute walk) in a central area close to Rialto Bridge as well (6 minute walk to middle of bridge, 4 minute walk to Rialto waterbus stop [add time if you have luggage or if it is a busy time of day]). My husband and I stayed at Ca' Luisa for four nights in a very large room with two chandeliers, en suite bathroom, two windows and breakfast served in the room at 9am. Our hosts were very gracious and helpful. Breakfast was basic but included coffee, yogurt, cheese, juice, and packaged breads. The room included a mini refrigerator. There was an air conditioner but because it was September we did not use it. Internet is free and easy to use. Our hosts helped us find a laundry and gave useful travel tips. Despite some limits in English, communication was easy. The room overlooked a narrow passageway ('street') with a trattoria close by - however, the street was quiet and the windows of very high quality provided further sound-proofing.

We had arrived by train (and took waterbus route 1 which stops right in front of the alley (street!) that you walk down to get to the B&B. As we were flying out, we bought a 24 hour Alilaguna ticket pass (30 euro) the day before we left (so that it included the trip to the airport - we left from the same dock at Rialto and took the orange line 'arancia' - takes 1 hour). On that penultimate day we used our transit pass to go to Lido and Murano via Alilaguna. Highly recommend both islands. I had heard that Murano was a tourist trap, but we did not experience this as we were not on a tour and could wander in an out of the shops on a quaint canal. We also had a wonderful opportunity to see Rigoletto in La Fenice Theatre in Venice- the original theatre this opera premiered in. It is a gem of a theatre and we had a fantastic time on the very top balcony. You are allowed to take photos of the theatre before and after the performance. The theatre is close to Ca' Luisa as well. Overall a wonderful trip and terrific stay at Ca' Luisa!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

(ca' luisa[--]
Although hard to find, the effort is well worth the time. We found that Bruno and his wife were most accommodating in meeting our needs during our stay. They have a small B&B, up one flight of stairs with 3 rooms. It is located next to a nice restaurant, and gelato parlour. Some street noise but that's typical of Venice.It is located about two US blocks from San Marco Square. We made use of a luggage porter to help us with our luggage as well as locating the B&B. Lugging heavy luggage over the canal bridges can be frustrating and quite tiring. The sign for the B&B is hard to see as it is over the doorway in a dimly lit street.Their location is like a hub of a "wheel". You can go in many different directions and visit many locations without wasting a lot of time and effort.

Room Tip: The best room overlooks the street, but it is noisier than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We picked Ca' Luisa for it's great location and we weren't disappointed! It's super close to the San Marco Piazza and the Rialto Bridge & Market. It's also really hard to find but once you get there it's great. The bed was comfortable, AC was strong and wifi worked well. The owners don't speak much English but we figured it out. If you're looking for a nice centrally located spot this would be a great pick.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank leopard8996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We chose this place because of its very central location. The room was clean and spacious. We were served some fresh fruit on our second day. Breakfast was basic but we did enjoy the coffee a lot. It kept us going all morning so no complaints. I would definitely recommend this b&b to anyone.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JJ_TravelExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I recommend staying at Ca Luisa! You will not be disappointed. We chose this B&B because it had the following: a truly central location that was two minutes to the Rialto Bridge and two minutes to Piazza San Marco. Really! In the middle of everything. Our room was air conditioned and quite large. The room is on the corner with three large windows that overlook a fun little intersection and upscale gelato shop. Bathroom was top notch and quite modern. Luisa and her husband were the epitome of warmth and hospitality – even though we arrived very late in the evening and interrupted their dinner.
We enjoyed being served in our room – the large table in the corner was lit with morning sunlight. We could hear Italians making morning deliveries and calling out their greetings to each other. This made it special and enjoyable. The homemade jam was delicious!

But yes, like others, we noted that the breakfast is not really homemade, much of it in plastic wrapping. Italian friends explained that it could be regulations on just what is allowed to be served fresh, what is allowed to be cooked/prepared by B&B owners whose kitchens are not inspected like restaurants are. Anyway, this prepackage style, without fresh fruits or just cooked items, was actually not that uncommon during our stay at other B&Bs. We were not surprise or disappointed by the breakfast.

The room and the location and the friendly owners make Ca Luisa really a good value and great location for exploring Venice. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 612goJohnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#131 of 385 in Venice
433 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#199 of 385 in Venice
410 reviews
San Marco
Residenza La Loggia
Residenza La Loggia
#67 of 458 in Venice
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Ca' del Nobile
Ca' del Nobile
#77 of 458 in Venice
651 reviews
San Marco
Ca' della Loggia
Ca' della Loggia
#210 of 458 in Venice
160 reviews
San Marco
Guest House Morettino
Guest House Morettino
#70 of 458 in Venice
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed And Breakfast Ca' Luisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed And Breakfast Ca' Luisa

Property: Bed And Breakfast Ca' Luisa
Address: San Marco 1052, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 458 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
b&b ca' luisa is located in a spectacular area in the historic center of venice just few steps from piazza san marco and the rialto bridge.the rooms are in an ancient palace of' 600 in a beautiful apartment completely restored.have private bathroom,bright and elegantly furnished in venetian style,air conditioning,tv,minibar,safe and wififor breakfast you can taste typical venetian desserts from our pastry products,in the building net ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bed And Breakfast Ca' Luisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing