We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price you pay and the location you are in you cannot beat this!!”
Review of A Venice Emeralds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Venice Emeralds
Ranked #374 of 471 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My partner and I are on a month long holiday in Europe. I had pre-planned all our hotels for this trip, after weeks of searching for a hotel in Venice I decided to book this little BnB, A venice Emerald. When I booked, I didn't realise we had booked a room with share bathroom, however the wonderful owner Guisppe noticed this straight away and upgraded us to a beautiful room for free. The building is tucked away in a quite alley, but is quite easy to find. We did have to call to find it, but Guisppe was honest and clear with his directions, and to our supprise we were practically standing right next to it lol.
The BnB has no lift, but I think most places in Euope are like that, and after staying in Malta for 2 weeks we really wern't phased. Beside Guisppe, a rather strong Italian man, helped carry our luggage up to the room after he sat us down and showed us a map and answered any questions we had.
The rooms are all renovated and look EXACTLY LIKE THE PHOTOS <those other comments are rubbish> the bathrooms are beauitful and have the bed made and supllied with fresh towels daily. I found the area quite easy to sleep in, some noise but come on this is Venice not a country town. Anyway, after a nice meal and a bottle of wine, one should be able to sleep just fine lol
Giusppee was honest with suggestions on the better places to eat and sightsee, as well as transport etc. Really good advice.
If your smoker than you'll love the little smokers patio!
My partner and I wern't really on a budget, but this place is def the best value for money that I had found in Venice. And I'd rather have more money to spend shopping and dinning than having a grand canal view room anyway.
Oh and the breakfast is to die for!
Thankyou A Venice Emeralds for a great stay in venice!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jasminia_gough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for A Venice Emeralds
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 64 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

My sister and I stayed at this B&B in the middle of June. We had originally booked to stay in the hostel run by the same owner, but because there was some availability in the B&B, we were offered an upgrade for an unbeatable price. In many ways, this was the perfect stay. Guiseppe, the owner, was extremely welcoming and spared no detail helping us plan our stay in Venice. As a former chef, he personally makes the croissants for breakfast - a wonderful touch! The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and came with a minibar so we could store drinks and food - so important when you're on a budget! While there is no lift for the B&B, rest assured that Guiseppe will personally carry your luggage up and down for you. The only slight flaw in this miracle of a place is that the air-conditioner is a little noisy so we wouldn't use it throughout the entire night. But it didn't really matter - once the room gets cool enough, you just switch it off. A big thank you to Guiseppe for his exemplary manner and unparalleled service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were really pleased with our choice of staying at A Venice Emeralds. The location is perfect, tucked away in a side street it's about 5 minutes or so to walk to either the Rialto bridge or St Mark's square. I loved the rustic feel of the building, but it was fitted out with new furniture that still blended with the rustic theme, while the bathroom was clean and looked recently renovated. Breakfast was simple but very satisfying. Giuseppe is a fantastic, helpful host; he sits down with you at check in and points out everything you need to know on a map. I know some of the reviews have said Giuseppe was rude to them, but all I can say is that he'll treat you as you treat him - be polite, be friendly and you won't have a problem. If that's not for you then I'd stay in a hotel.

Room Tip: Familiarise yourself with a map of Venice before you get there! Use piazza Santa Maria as a landmark...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gen1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

i stayed together with my girlfriend for 3 days in the "a venice Emeralds" in the town of Venice.
we had some doubts with this B&B, because some people gave bad recommendations and reviews about this stay.

We can really tell you, these bad reviews are really a fake! The B&B is great, the rooms are clean and the best host we ever met! He is a really italian original, very nice man, very helpful with some tips of the town and activities, nice breakfast and free WiFi in the room and eat area.

Try it and you don't wanna regret it.

Have a good time and everytime again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank raybs1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this nice and cozy bed and breakfast hotel in June

The hotel has a very personal touch and all of the staff are friendly and helpful.

If you want to have a low-budget–no-fuss - stay in Venice, this is a good choice right in the heart of town.

Be aware: If you are coming to Venice for the first time, make sure to bring a map, where the location of the hotel is marked. This part of Venice is with VERY tiny streets – it is almost like a maze – so having a map in the hand with the location marked makes it a lot easier.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nilastica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Ignore the previous review completely - what rubbish. We have just returned from three nights in this hotel and everything about it was great. The owner is a really nice guy - made us feel really welcome. The room was lovely - air con, fridge, big bed, own bathroom with lovely hot shower - breakfast was a real treat. The place is perfectly located, in a quiet but centrally located street. We'd go back in an instant - and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SolihullSDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were two couples who stayed at this B&B for a long weekend. We shared a room which was plenty big enough for 4 people and had our own bathroom for the whole weekend.

Giuseppe went out of his way from the very beginning to ensure our stay was comfortable and pleasant. He sits you down in his office after you put your bags in your room and is prepared to spend as long as it takes answering any questions you may have about Venice and even provides you a map and shows you where all the important sightseeing locations are. Communication during the booking process was fast and friendly.

Breakfast was awesome. Giuseppe gets up at 5am in the morning and freshly bakes croissants which are absolutely magic. The 4 of us were addicted to them and would rush down every morning for brekkie!

Location wise it is perfect. It is within 5min walk to San Marco and the Rialto bridge. Not to mention all the little laneways that provide the best (and usually cheaper) eating. There's also an ATM in the square opposite Santa Formosa which is right next to the B&B.

Cannot recommend A Venice Emeralds enough. Thank you Giuseppe!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pohman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#158 of 384 in Venice
2,137 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 384 in Venice
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Laguna Residence
#303 of 471 in Venice
47 reviews
Castello
Hotel Al Piave
Hotel Al Piave
#61 of 384 in Venice
909 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#124 of 384 in Venice
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Venice Emeralds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Venice Emeralds

Address: Castello Ramo Grimani 4860, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #374 of 471 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $90 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — A Venice Emeralds 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A venice emeralds B&B is situated in the heart of the historic center of Venice, near the most beautiful area of Venice, Campo Santa Maria Formosa, and 2 minutes to the famous Rialto Bridge and three minutes walk from the wonderful Piazza San Marco and to the gallery that houses centuries of art.Easily accessible via the main station with vaporetto no 1 or 2, provides customers with comfort, tranquility and privacy, surrounded by a modern and yet ultra functional, the result of the owner's big experience in the hospitality industry and in particular 'host families both Italian and foreign, and then the staff will always be present and available to help and advise and meet the demands of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your A Venice Emeralds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Venice Emeralds Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing