We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“skinflint”
Review of Sandolo - CLOSED

Sandolo
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“skinflint”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Run away from this place, the owner is an Egyptian whose single purpose expropriate the tourist. Exposes the tourist menu at a reasonable price, but the food is very low, there are much better options in venice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    11
    5
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The service is very good unless you are getting there with an organised very big group of people and your order is lost on the way. But the food is good, nothing spectacular, but good

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Veve_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“horrible food and service, dont go here”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

as soon as i stepped into this place, i had a bad feeling. the waitress had an attitude when i asked her several questions about the food (rolled her eyes, breathing heavily) after trying the main dish and it tasting horribly, i asked to have it sent back and the owner instantly came out and started saying how the food was fresh and was very good despite me insisting that it didnt taste good and i only had a bite. finally, he took the dish back. i told the waitress to cancel the rest of the order but when i went to pay for the check, i saw that i had been charged for everything, including the food that i cancelled as well as the dish that i had sent back. owner gave me an attitude and insisted that i pay for everything that i never got. overall horrible experience. i will be disputing this charge when it shows up on my credit card and i urge you all to avoid this hassle.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ilya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Food was ok but...”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The food was ok. I ordered the tourist prixe fix menu which came with seafood pasta, fried calamari, and roasted vegetables. The pasta was not al dente (more American style) and I would have liked the shells on my mussels so as to be more assured of their freshness. The wine was overpriced at 9 euro for 1/2 liter. The decor was a mishmash of styles which gave the restaurant a bit of a corny feel.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TiMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slagelse, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wait, wait”
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Booked table for 10. When we turned up, nothing was prepared. We had to stand up, until seats were ready. Ordered food, another 65 minutes waiting time. Average food, but the ragu was perfect!

Helpful?
Thank KILA01Slagelse
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Sandolo also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing