We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to be”

Osteria alla Bifora
Ranked #154 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Holsbeek, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Place to be”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Charming interior, cosy hustle and bustle, limited choice of excellent food and friendly service. Worth a detour !

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    306
    68
    29
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cracking food, decent wine and a lovely place”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Campo Margherita is a terrific piazza in Dorsoduro at a decent distance from San Marco. Bifora is in a very old building, even by the standards of Venice which makes simply being in it a pleasure. The guys seem to have a really good business model. Most of the food is cold (deliberately!) but top notch, absolutely fresh and beautifully presented. Portions are enormous, the chicetti platter has to be seem (and tasted) to be believed As others have said their prices are extremely reasonable for Venice.
The second (of three) times went went there we had no difficulty getting a table at 18.15 but by 19.00 there was a queue of both locals and tourists out of the door.
The only small criticism I'd have is that the staff didn't seem very keen to engage with their customers. They remained perfectly civil but distant. This was a little disappointing and my reason for only a 4 star rating. But it didn't prevent us from visiting 3 times in the week we were there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LinershWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“sensible and filling . . .”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

i paid for 2 glasses of spritz and the little meat platter (surprisingly, not so little).
if this was NYC, i would have probably paid 3 x as much!
its a MUST!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank weezaweezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Wonderful smoked swordfish, all locals, great service and we really felt welcomed as tourists. Great cheeses and meats on antipasti menu. Perfect lunch and had so much leftover, we had it wrapped and ate it on the plane going home instead of Delta cardboard.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtravelAmherst_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unpretentious”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This place was reccommended to us by people who have spent a lot of time in Venice. In spite of the nice weather we wanted to sit inside and enjoy the atmosphere of the Osteria, in a building that has housed a restaurant since anno 1014. The welcoming staff brought us platters filled with cured meats, cheese and grilled vegetables. The food was delicious and beautifully presented and most of all reasonably priced. We will most definately be going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria alla Bifora also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria alla Bifora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing