We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice expensive restaurant in Venice”
Review of Taverna San Lio

Taverna San Lio
Ranked #205 of 1,424 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Castello
Istanbul
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice expensive restaurant in Venice”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We had a nice lunch at this restaurant in Venice. The cheese plate was excellent and both our main dishes were well presented. My wife had a curry shrimp pasta dish which was very saucy but well cooked. I had a pizza which was also good. Service was somewhat lackluster which was surprising given the restaurant was not very busy for lunch. As well, they charge a cover charge which I didn't appreciate given the food already was quite expensive. So food was good, but given the high cost I am not sure I would go back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zenon30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    186
    59
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Berkshire
Level Contributor
144 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fresh, Modern - Romantic and well priced”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We picked this as our 'Treat' meal on our break, and we are so glad we did.

It's not cheap, but we chose the fixed price menu, which was superb. Mixed fried fish for me, Sea bass for the wife - Clams with Spaghetti, panna cotta. Lovely food, well presented.

A great, fresh and not oily mixed fried fish, with interspersed fried vegetables.

Nicer than your average taverna - A good treat

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeAndDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
386 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This turned out to be a wonderful find. The menu of the day was outstanding value for money, with a la carte options for the pickier diner. Good food beautifully cooked & served, good wine & great value too. We really enjoyed our evening

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food & service but beware...”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We had a meal in this beautiful modern restaurant last night. It was our third and last evening meal. It was a bit close to San Marco for us (as we're aware of how high prices can be hiked) but it was reasonable. Food is lovely, we just had pasta, cost around €13 but a good plateful. Other diners had salted seabass which looked lovely (albeit out of our price range!). The drinks are pricey; expect to pay a minimum of €24 for a bottle of house wine. Staff are very attentive but service is slow (we waited 30-40 mins for spaghetti although it was very busy). One thing we would point out is beware of the 'menu del giorgio' or menu of the day. Its shown outside (on a movable board) but is only at lunch time which is misleading. Basically its a way to get you in the restaurant! All in all we had a nice meal but it is nothing compared to La Mascerata and others we've tried here.

Helpful?
Thank katieflipflop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Modern , clean and good standard”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I work in the hospitality sector and We decided on this restaurant due to some of the positive reviews on Tripadvisor which out weigh the negative . We was not put off by the reviews of slow service as we was out for dinner and in no rush seeing as we are not at home and on a break! Good modern but warming decor much better than most of the dated stuffy places near by , but not pretentious in any way. Service was very courteous and friendly . The menu (not set menu) was varied enough without over complicating with too many dishes which bows well with me. Was presented with a complimentary amuse bouche which was lovely and a nice little extra touch. Our starters of Squid salad and beef carpaccio were very nice, clean and of good proportion . We then shared the squid risotto which was cooked perfectly ! This venue has Reasonable and fair pricing for the good standard of food which is another plus for us considering what places charge in Venice. We recommend this place for a nice laid back evening and would return if ever back in Venice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna San Lio also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Taverna San Lio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing