We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing dinner and service”
Review of Sangal Venice Restaurant - CLOSED

Sangal Venice Restaurant
Price range: $35 - $142
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Marco
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing dinner and service”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I was in venice with my boyfriend and fir dinner we decided to try Sangal restaurant !
We choise to sit on the roof terrace , oh my god what an amazing view !
Our maitre (Paolo) suggest us a Venetian aperitif bellini with italian champagne and fresh peach !
We startet with beef tar tar and then we had venetian pasta (bigoli) and selection of fresh fish from the sea and for dessert we had tiramisu and cream brule' with a bottle of soave from veneto region.
The food was fantastic and our waiter is really fruendly and professional! We will come back and tell to all our friends about this place! Thank you sangal

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hysabrda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    28
    18
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful place but with a terrible service.”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Great terrace, good for drinks but as a restaurant has several gaps : bad service (my waiter does not speak English !!!), limited menu and wine list.

Although the food os good, dishes are small and expensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Wien, Austria
2 reviews
“Exclusive ambiente, great cocktails, friendliness”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I discovered Sangal as I was strolling through a less crowded part of Venice - I saw they had a piano (with actually a duo playing smooth jazz and standards, very pleasant) and had a chat with the friendly owner who happened to be outside. Stayed the whole evening, had a few nice talks. Excellent cocktails, complimentary snacks, free wifi .. didn't eat in the restaurant, hence only 4 stars. But if it's as good as the cocktails and service, it deserves 5. Will check in again soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply divine”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Lovely restaurant with knowledgable and friendly staff. Great to eat on a terrace in Venice. Food is cooked divinely although it is somewhat pricey. Wine list could offer a wider choice to complement the lovely food....and at a more reasonable price. Pricey but worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4dgatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooftop dining, good food, wonderful staff”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here and it was a great experience. We got a corner table on the rooftop and it was nice to be above the busy piazza. There are 2 other floors for indoor drinking and dining. The interior was dark but very stylish and modern. The staff were friendly and engaging. The food ranged from good to outstanding. Prices were not a bargain, but considering the surroundings I paid gladly. I would highly recommend this one.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johntphipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sangal Venice Restaurant also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing