We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ostello Santa Fosca
Ranked #56 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have been to this hostel quite a few times for my PHD lessons in Venice.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable, nothing to envy to others budget solutions.
The price is the best that you can find in Venice and the staff is always very gentle and helpful.
They give you free wifi, buggage storage and the and coffee for free.
Last but not least the position is simply amazing! From the hostel you can walk everywhere in Venice without paying for the public transport that here are quite expensive.
I would suggest it to everybody that is looking for an easy and cheap solution in Venice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 215 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

We were looking for a cheap location to spend a few days in Venice. These 3 days were very cool. Ostello Santa Fosca is very well situated in Venice with a great staff and clean rooms. We slept in a private room for two, very comfortable. The shower were clean also. The only window of our room gaves onto a canal : very pleasurable !
The Hostel is at 15 minutes from the airport shuttle arrival in a quiet place (Line 5 at the airport, 25 - 30minutes the ride). The price is quite affordable.
On the other hand, it is a little difficult to find when you do not know the exact place and there were no breakfast included in the price, but it was said in the reservation so no suprises !

It was a real great trip, lovely staff and amazing city !

GB AC

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ostello santa f... o, Direttore at Ostello Santa Fosca, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

dear BG AC
thank you for your kind comment
we are glad you hade a great time in our hostel!
as you said the location of the hostel is perfetc to visit the city; just few minutes walk from the train station and rialto bridge, 10 minutes walk from s mark square!
for our staff good service to clients is a must! we are happy you underlined this aspect! it s very important for us!
we take care of cleaning every day, in all rooms and bathrooms!
our prices are very affordable, great deals for students, young travellers and families!
hope to have you back in ostello santa fosca
the manager
leila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

great hostel when on a budget, not much atmosphere but cant complain about facilities. it is a little difficult to find but that's just Venice ... its like walking the labyrinth. would stay again if on a budget

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave-Rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ostello santa f... o, Direttore at Ostello Santa Fosca, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

dear dave rabb
thank you for the positive comment
venice is a labyrinth, you are right! some times it s easy to get lost! our hostel is in the very centre just few minutes walk away from the main train station and rialto bridge.
hope to have you again with us
ostello santa fosca
the manager
leila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My roommates were lovely, and the place is in a quiet enough area. The room was horrible (as to be expected sometimes from a hostel with such a low price) I got lost getting there as it is very hard to find and most importantly I GOT EATEN ALIVE!!!! I left Venice early because my body was destroyed by the insects that I encountered here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobetrotterNYC212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ostello santa f... o, Responsabile reception at Ostello Santa Fosca, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

dear richard
we are very sorry to have read your comment
please note we are in the very center of venice, few steps away from the train station and the rialto bridge; venice can be confusing if it was your first time walking around.
the most important aspect is the matter of bedbugs; please note we take the matter very seriously and check all beds and rooms monthly. we therfour cannot accept your comment. if in the past other clients have brought bedbugs from other hostels we have immedialty called our tecnichians!
ostello santa fosca
the manager
leila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at this hostel for 3 nights and was happy with it. I stayed in a 7 bed female dorm. My room was very clean and a good size, and had a mixture of bunks and single beds. We had our own bathroom, which was clean. The room doesn't have air cond, but does have a fan. Be sure to close the window at night, as we had lots of mosquitoes and moths fly in! The staff were very friendly and helpful when checking in and out. The kitchen and common room were both nice, clean and efficient. There was wifi, but it was slow and kept dropping out. The hostel had lockout times for cleaning, and night curfews. The location of the hostel was really good. I was happy with everything, and would come back here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here on the recommendation of a friend - I wish we had checked Trip Advisor first! It's located relatively central which makes it an easy base to explore Venice from, however it also means it's a long walk with bags to the trains/buses.

The room was dirty, the pillows the thinnest I've ever seen and there was no fan or a/c and it was very hot. The bathrooms were so gross I only showered out of necessity and the toilets didn't have seats on them - something I can deal with in public toilets but not a hostel.

The staff were not particularly friendly either and having a curfew was simply ridiculous - we are adults after all!

I can't say in strong enough words how bad this place it - it pretty much tarnished our view of Venice as we were so miserable in that 'hostel'.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different place. Anywhere but here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoAngelNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ostello santa f... o, Direttore at Ostello Santa Fosca, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

dear noangelnz
we are sorry to read such comments
please note the fact that we had a curfew at half past midnight was clearly wirtten when you reserved our hostel. you could have decided before booking that this could have caused you problems.
all bathrooms and rooms are cleaned daily by our staff; since it's shared areas arriving in the afternoon you could have found them not in perfect conditions if other guests didin't properly behave.
your friend after all did suggest our hostel to you! he probably had a good experience!
we are sorry if the staff at the reception hasen't been enough friendly, and we are also sorry if you found no seats on the toilets; in fact this summer we had to change several of them because broken, and it took one day to settle them all.
we are glad you appreciated the central position of the hostel!
ostello santa fosca
the manager
leila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Bad rooms, awful shower, curfew, but good staff and location. Hard to find, bad atmosphere, no curtains. Use it only if you don't really have any other variants. We were staing there for 2 days and it was theworst time in our travel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HikerWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ostello santa f... o, Direttore at Ostello Santa Fosca, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

dear sashasvet
the title of your comment is not fair enough if you consider our staff and location good!
the fact you had the imprecion it was hard to find depends that it was probably your first time in venice; we are just 10 min walk between the train station and rialto bridge, behind the main road!
we are sorry curfew matter has been a problem, we are sure you have read about it before booking!
our rooms are basic, we don't undestand your comment; all bathrooms ( showers and toilets) are daily cleaned. If the situacion was so bad you could have told the reception about it, you could have checked with you and in case provided.
ostello santa fosca
the manager
leila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Belvedere
#232 of 385 in Venice
80 reviews
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Castello
Youthvenicepalace San Marco
Youthvenicepalace San Marco
#126 of 230 in Venice
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Residenza Grisostomo
Residenza Grisostomo
#51 of 230 in Venice
64 reviews
L'Imbarcadero
#57 of 230 in Venice
109 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Silk Road Hostel
Silk Road Hostel
#30 of 230 in Venice
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ostello Santa Fosca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostello Santa Fosca

Address: Fondamenta Canal, Cannaregio 2372, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Price Range: $53 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a cheap accomodation in the center of venice? Ostello Santa Fosca is the property for you! We offer basic double rooms and dorms ( mixed or only female) at very affordable prices. Walking distance: 10 min from Rialto bridge 15 min from SMark Square 10 min from train station SLucia 15 min from Piazzale Roma ( bus terminal) 3 min from big supermarket FREE WIFI CONNECTION FREE CITY MAP FREE LUGGAGE DEPOSIT FREE BOARDING PASS PRINTING WINTER TIME SCHEDULE ( from half September to half june) Reception time table 9am-12 3pm-8pm No curfew Breakfast service 1 euro No kitchen available 8 euro extra cost for arrival after 8 pm SUMMER TIME SCHEDULE ( from half june to half september) Reception time table from 8am to half past midnight non stop Curfew at half past midnight Big courtyard Kitchen available 8am -10am and from 1.30 pm to 11 pm 8 euro extra cost for arrival after 8 pm ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ostello Santa Fosca Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing