We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“THE BEST ICECREAM” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Boutique del Gelato

La Boutique del Gelato
Ranked #38 of 84 Dessert in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Takeout
Neighborhood: Castello
Description: Telephone: 041 5223283
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“THE BEST ICECREAM”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Ofcourse i am not a gourmet and it is impposible for me to stop and taste every gelateria in Venice. But i have a taste of quality, and for me this place is one of the bests in Italy. I can not forget the taste of the combo i had; vanilla, melon and lemon. They were all super tasty. And it was indeed too chear; 3 scoops 2,5 €. Here the icecream is a bit creamy than normal, so it is better to sit down somewhere and enjoy it until the first drop. However unlike the icecream quality, the person behind the counter was very cold and unfriendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hatice e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    61
    27
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sendai, Japan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best gelato in Venice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I loved the Straciatella and Chocolate combo. And cheap, too! My wife liked the lemonade slushies. We made almost daily visits to La Boutique.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sendaialt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Went to Boutique del Gelato today in Venice. Have to say that its not very good. I have had a lot of gelato traveling in Italy and this place is average or even below average. Grom is a lot better.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I have eaten the most delicious gelato in this store in Italy. You can not find this taste in Rome or Florence. Shouldnt miss that!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ulkuzun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and rude”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

The server was rude, the scoops tiny (some not even a full scoop) and the selection was poor (8 flavors at most). We decided to give it a try anyways, but we really were disappointed. Around the next corner we came upon Gelatoteca Suso where we had a second go at a satisfactory gelato experience. This time we were not let down - Gelatoteca had a wide selection of flavors: Both traditional ones like pistachio and vanilla, but also more exotic ones like rich dark chocolate (like the night) and crema di doge. Do yourself a favor and go to Gelatoteca Susan instead of La Boutique del Gelato - you really won't regret it!

Helpful?
1 Thank Amalie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Boutique del Gelato also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to La Boutique del Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing