We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant change in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Porta D'Acqua

La Porta D'Acqua
Reserve with
La Porta D'Acqua is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #102 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $110
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Polo
Description: Historic environment with frescoes of 700 and a water gate of the original end 500 a few steps from the Rialto Bridge. A cuisine that combines Mediterranean and southern Italy than typical Venetian style. The restaurant is closed until the 22nd January 2016.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A pleasant change in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

It was nice to find a restaurant which did not mimic the other 1000 'typical' Venetian restaurants with a standard menu? More Mediterranean than Northern Italian in style we tried their tasting menu which had an interesting and varied selection which was beautifully prepared and presented.

Very good value with a warm and friendly staff and owner

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomandMyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    185
    50
    35
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Pay a visit to Salvo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

The Hubs and I came here on a recommendation from our tour guide. Dinner was great and the service was even better. Salvo was very patient and accomodating. The tiramisu was absolutley delightful. Would recommend for a nice romantic dinner!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“the (almost) perfect anniversary meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

The restaurant is cute and cosy. A very easy walk from the vaporetto stop. The joy of the restaurant was our charming and entertaining waiter who made us smile from start to finish. He helped create the perfect atmosphere for our celebration. Our starter (a mix) was excellent. The main courses were a bit hit and miss. I ordered the fish with orange sauce which was very bland. Besides that, we had a fantastic time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jolev11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Recommended by our hotel. The other 2 resturants they recommended were excellent (Ai Barbacani and Trattoria alla Madonna) so had high hopes for this one. Started out good with the waiter recommended a combination of appetizers. The were very good but instead of one plate each could have easily been shared by two people. The main course was very disappointing. So salty I couldnt eat it. My husband's meal was also very salty. Didn't have dessert as nothing appealed to me. Overall can recommend only the appetizers and the other two restaurants I mentioned at the beginning of this review.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My family and I had an very good experience at La Porta D'Acqua. The food was great, especially the spicy mussels and our waiter Salvo was wonderful. This restaurant definitely beats any of the "tourist traps" you'll find near Rialto bridge and well worth walking a bit off the beat path.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maverickz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Porta D'Acqua also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to La Porta D'Acqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing