We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and perfect location”
Review of Aqua Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Aqua Palace Hotel
Ranked #44 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and we highly enjoyed our stay. Our junior suite was spacious and comfortable. The room had good air conditioned that worked well too. We enjoyed the sleep quality as well, I had read some reviews saying that there was some noise outside but frankly I slept great and had no issues with noise whatsoever.
Staff is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast very good, with friendly waitress too, very kind.
The luggage man is also very kind and helpful.

What the hotel could enhance :

- add a coffee / tea machine in the rooms, at the very least in the junior suites. Any hotel has these nowadays and I was surprised not to find one.

- the shower has a very short glass wall and you have to be extra careful not to wet all the floor, which is nearly impossible. It would be good to make them larger so that it makes it easier to shower.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Venise.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilovetotravel155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 1,222 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

I needed a guaranteed good night's sleep after 3 nights in 3 different countries, so was lucky to find Aqua Palace on a late avail search- one room left.
On foot, the simplest way to find the place is via the Calle Specchieri San Marco tucked right at the back right hand side as your face the square from the bay behind the cathedral. Just head straight all the way up until you reach the junction and then turn right and it's the building across the small bridge.
If I'd have known that, might have saved me 40 mins! Saw that many guests used water taxi- hotel has landing bay.

Staff couldn't have been more helpful on arrival, and once I got into my room, I knew I'd made the right choice. Beautiful spacious room, great stylish bathroom, and super comfortable bed.
Needless to say, had a wonderful 8 hours sleep, ready for the chaos of Venice the next day.

Certainly not the cheapest place to stay in Venice, but as the adage goes, you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anthonyruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in May. Hotel is in a great location between Rialto bridge and St Mark's Square. As we had our 22 year old daughter with us we stayed in a suite witch was very nice. Huge bedroom and separate lounge area which was made into the second bedroom. Bathroom was beautiful, Italian white marble very large.
What makes this hotel so good are the staff. Very helpful, greeted us by name each time we passed reception. Hotel arranged water taxis for us from airport.
Venice is a beautiful city but very expensive. Gondolier ride was €80 for 30 minutes. Water taxi from airport to hotel was €150 Expect to pay London prices for meals and drinks.
Loved our visit and we made the correct choice with the Aqua Palace.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ToonBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

A very fine hotel in a quiet location. It is a few minutes walk to St Mark's - where you can cheerfully squeeze your way past lots of tourists taking pictures of each other - and a few minutes in the other direction to the Rialto bridge.
My guess is that if you're in the market for a hotel like this, you will be more interested in the areas away from St Mark's. Venice is such an improbable and amazing city and has so much more to do and see than St Marks. The hotel itself is on a quiet canal and some of the rooms look directly onto it. We had a view of the canal, which can be noisy first thing in the morning when the small barges come to collect the rubbish (everything in Venice happens by canal, even rubbish collection, ambulances and police chases). We weren't bothered by the noise as it's part of the charm and they came around 8.30 but it's worth bearing in mind when you think about a room with a view.
The suite itself was very big and very tastefully decorated. Clearly a lot of thought has gone into the finer touches. The double bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom was bigger than most bedrooms and there was plenty of wardrobe space.
The breakfast room is small but there was always a table for us when we went down. The fruit juice is delicious and fresh and there's a good selection of cereal, bread, fruit, eggs and bacon. The lady who serves breakfast can be a bit slow, especially if she manages to drag someone else into a conversation, but this is all part of the charm.
If you do stay here - and I would certainly go back - then ignore the hotel's directions which are about as useful as saying 'wander around till you find it.' It is near the Hotel Canaletto, which is better signposted. Check directions on their website, then the Aqua Palace is 50m past that on the other side of the street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Garreth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Aqua Palace Hotel, and we loved it.

We stayed in Room 101 (a junior suite). The room was clean, quiet, spacious, and well-appointed. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone.

Breakfast was a simple but excellent buffet. My wife and I especially appreciated the efforts of the woman who made us cappuccinos every morning. She was very kind and personable.

We only rated two categories 4/5 stars, but these are really nit-picky observations, not complaints:
- Value: (4/5 stars) This is not a cheap hotel, but the quality was very good for the price
- Sleep quality: (4/5 stars) Air conditioning was relatively loud, we would have liked more pillows, and the mattress was two twin beds pushed together rather than a large, single mattress (this is common in Europe)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edmund B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We were initially allocated a ground floor room looking onto the canal, but I prefer a quieter room so we asked to be moved. Although the hotel was very busy they kindly moved us to a top floor room. It did not have a canal view but that really wasnt important to us. It was light, spacious and very comfortable with an enormous bed and lots of storage. Skylight windows added to the light airy feel and airconditioning worked very well.
Breakfast was excellent and the very friendly ladies were a joy. they made us feel so welcome.
The receptionist organised a private walking tour of that part of the city, which wasnt cheap (Euro 130) but was excellent value as we saw many places you otherwise wouldnt see and we heard a lot about the history of Venice.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room or a lie-in, dont book a canal view as the rubbish barges can wake you earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We really enjoyed staying at Aqua Palace in Venice. The location is great! Water taxi can directly go to the entrance of the hotel, and it's like 2 minutes walk to St Mark's Square, 5-7 minute walk to Rialto Bridge....1 minute walk to shopping district. Stuff were very attentive, we were greeted every time we were in/out of hotel, Hotel room is quite clean, spacious, bathroom has very modern feel. It was quite at night and each room has air-conditioning. I personally loved the big marble shower. Breakfast was also excellent. Fruits, pastries, cheese/meats, toast, and even bacon and eggs. It was all very flesh each morning.
It might be a little difficult to find a hotel...well but it's hard to read map in Venice anyway. We got the hang of it pretty quick, just found the way to St Mark's and few turn from there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rnmika27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Reali di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 384 in Venice
2,068 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#45 of 384 in Venice
1,423 reviews
Castello
Charming House IQs
Charming House IQs
#5 of 384 in Venice
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palace Hotel

Address: Calle de la Malvasia 5492/a, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $170 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Castello quarter, the atmosphere of ancient Venice awaits you at the luxurious 4 star Aqua Palace Hotel, a hotel that symbolizes the new Venetian hospitality for those in search of charm, seduction and comfort, in a perfect balance between traditional and modern. With a contemporary touch, the finely furnished rooms and suites interpret the distant past of Marco Polo's Venice, suspended between the west and the east, with soft lighting, fine curtains and special materials. Scalfarotto Palace is home to the passionate work of the Caputo Family, hoteliers for two generations, at your service and ready to give you the perfect welcome to Venice's historic center, where "Aqua" means life, history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Nozio Netplan srl, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aqua Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing