We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqua Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aqua Palace Hotel
Ranked #38 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Southend, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Having never stayed in the centre of Venice, we weren't quite sure what would be the perfect location. We wanted somewhere comfortable, and while cost wasn't the top priority, we wanted to have enough spending money to ensure we could also enjoy more than just the hotel.

I was a little dubious before we arrived... somehow I had this image of a slightly tyrollean lodge, with the odd cobweb in the corner from what I had seen on the website. Some sort of overwhelming and heavy brown wood feel. Nothing could have been further from the truth. It felt like the perfect Italian designer get away. With temperatures hitting 42 degrees, the aircon was essential.

The staff were great. Warm friendly and helpful. Just the right blend of being there, and not being obtrusive.

And the location was to die for: 5 minutes to St Marks Square, or 5 minutes to the Rialto Bridge.We couldn't have made a selection that suited us better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmw26_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    256
    44
    7
    1
See reviews for
212
758
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BLACKPOOL
Level Contributor
177 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We've just had another 2-night stay at the Aqua Palace in the wonderful city of Venice, prior to a Royal Caribbean cruise round Dubrovnik, Corfu, Santorini, Athens and Katakolon (we had a similar holiday last year). Yet again, our stay at the Aqua Palace was super. Our rooms on the ground floor were beautiful, and the decor is amazing. All the staff are really helpful, efficient and friendly, and speak English! Nothing is too much trouble, and they all did everything to make our stay really pleasant. The breakfast is excellent, and everything you could wish for is on offer. The hotel is in a great location, just a 3-minute walk to St Mark's Square. We can't wait to go there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GILL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Husband and I stayed four nights Sept. 2013. Highest price hotel recommended by travel agent but we chose it because it looked far and away nicer than the other hotels on the list. We couldn't have been more pleased. Got a junior suite, very spacious with amazing décor. AC was plenty adequate against the late summer heat and humidity. A little noisy in the morning when the service boats start loading and unloading on the adjacent canal, but nothing a pillow over my head didn't cure. Can't say enough good about the staff, particularly Sylvia in the breakfast room. My husband went down to breakfast ahead of me one morning; I had asked him to bring me back a cup of tea. He asked for the tea and selected a bowl of fruit for me. Sylvia kindly agreed to bring it up for me and then arrived with a tray full of other delightful tidbits as well. In addition to the great service, the breakfasts were wonderfully prepared, very fresh and plenty of choice. Hotel is centrally located between San Marco and the Rialto Bridge. Hard to find at first but once you get your bearings it's very easy to get around. City is outrageously crowded and the Aqua Palace is a pleasant oasis away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel for money and great location, reception very helpful and awesome little archway to sit under with a g&t watching the boats go by! Everything was very close including the San Marco square. Breakfast was amazing. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WillandJoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Right from the beginning we were greeted with fantastic service. This continued to the lovely lady working in the kitchen serving us breakfast. The gentlemen at the front desk were very helpful and nothing was an issue. The Internet service was great. Our room (401) was very comfortable. If only other people in Italy was as friendly as the team at Aqua Hotel. I found the staff in the other information booth were very arrogant and wouldn't look at you when talking to you. Thanks for the great hospitality "Team Aqua"!

Room Tip: Ask for room 401 if your a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at Aqua Palace for four nights. It is a comfortable hotel, in a quiet location, which backs onto a canal. It is not easy to find. The central location, just minutes from Rialto bridge and San Marco, is excellent. Our room was a bit dark, partly due to decor and a rather small window. It was a reasonable size, with a large modern bathroom. Breakfast was fine, although I would not recommend the hot options. The alternative cereals, pastries, fruit etc. were adequate. There are numerous shops and restaurants just minutes away.
This is quite an expensive hotel, considering the absence of facilities. It is hard to see how they can justify their prices. But this is an expensive area.
And that includes restaurants! They are quite pricey here, and many are poor value. If you want to find more sensible prices, head east into Castello, where there are plenty. In fact, just head away from the centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonExplorer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

After a 10 day luxury cruise my wife and I stayed for 3 nights (a fourth to go) at the Aqua Palace Hotel in Venice. We arrived at the waterside canal entrance by water taxi from the pier where our ship docked. We arranged for a junior suite which was clean and well appointed and of comfortable size. The a/c is excellent and the marble bathroom is a good size and equipped with a toilet, of course, and a bidet. There is a hair dryer, robes, and a magnifying mirror for my wife. The only issue is that the double sink does not leave much room for personal effects and there is no ledge. The hotel offers free wi-fi which worked great and turn down service is provided at night. A well prepared and presented buffet breakfast was included in our rate . Ask Sylvia to make one of her now famous coffe drinks. I would be remiss if I didn't mention that the hotel can be best described as boutique. No grand lobby, no spa or the like. However it is well situated. You can take a gondola from the water entrance or walk one way to San Marco or the other way to the Rialto bridge and the vaparettos - water buses. Shopping and restaurants are found but a few minutes walk in either direction . The desk staff is attentative and helpful. I would note that when we asked about the best way to get to Murano the desk attendant advised us that a complimentary water taxi was available. That was true but the provider we believe was the operator of a glass factory on Murano. Thus we were treated and given a tour of the factory and shown through their showroom with the hope that we would buy something. I would note that there was no pressure and the gentlemen who showed us around their foundry and showroom were polite and not imposing in any way. The showroom was beautiful but offered nothing of interest to us. The return trip was by vaparettos at our expense and this was expected. All in all an excellent experience and if I were coming back in the near future I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maurice g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Reali
Hotel Ai Reali
#36 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#37 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#28 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#16 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palace Hotel

Property: Aqua Palace Hotel
Address: Calle de la Malvasia 5492/a, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Castello quarter, the atmosphere of ancient Venice awaits you at the luxurious 4 star Aqua Palace Hotel, a hotel that symbolizes the new Venetian hospitality for those in search of charm, seduction and comfort, in a perfect balance between traditional and modern. With a contemporary touch, the finely furnished rooms and suites interpret the distant past of Marco Polo's Venice, suspended between the west and the east, with soft lighting, fine curtains and special materials. Scalfarotto Palace is home to the passionate work of the Caputo Family, hoteliers for two generations, at your service and ready to give you the perfect welcome to Venice's historic center, where "Aqua" means life, history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aqua Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing