We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Location In Venice”
Review of Aqua Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Aqua Palace Hotel
Ranked #44 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Once you complete the slightly confusing task of negotiating the tiny alleys in Venice and you locate the hotel for the first time, you will love the location. The hotel is conveniently located about 5 minutes from either St. Marks Square or the Rialto Bridge. Here's a hint - from a raised pad on the side of St. Marks Square, walk straight ahead on Basso (with a slight jog along the way) until you pass a small church. Turn right past the church, make a quick left for a few feet then turn right - the hotel will be right in front of you over a small bridge.

We were warmly welcomed on arrival and loved our spacious room overlooking a small canal. The decor was clean and elegant and the large bathroom had a wonderful walk-in shower. We found the staff at the front desk to be patient and helpful with our many questions and Sylvia in the breakfast room was a delight every morning. The bed was extremely comfortable and even the pillows were perfect.

Bottom line - we absolutely loved our stay at the Aqua Palace and will happily return on a future trip!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LightFighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Aqua Palace in March. We had a small room on the 4th floor with a balcony over looking the back of the hotel. The room was suitable and the bathroom was fine. The morning breakfast was always nice and the staff was very helpful. One thing I would say is to get good directions on how to get to the hotel unless you get a direct transfer. We spent a lot of time trying to find the hotel as the map on the web sight is difficult. Many streets in Venice are easy to find. We got off at the Rialto bridge stop and we were very frustrated when we finally got to the hotel. Again the overall location is fantastic!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Aqua Palace. While small, the room was quite lovely and obviously newly renovated. The bed was firmer than I would have liked, but my traveling companion liked it the best out of all the hotels we stayed at in Italy. The bathroom was large and comfortable, which is a rarity in our experience. The breakfast also was wonderful with a lot more options than we found in other hotels, and very high quality. The location is perfect, directly in between the Rialto bridge and Piazza San Marco. It can be difficult to find if coming from the Vaporetto, but once you learn the location it is a very short walk to many nearby sights. The service we received overall was wonderful. Our only negatives would be that the hotel does not have a bar or restaurant in it other than serving breakfast, and while our room would get warm overnight, we were unable to utilize air conditioning to cool the room (and leaving the windows open subjected us to mosquitoes.) Still, I would recommend this to visitors to Venice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding service and organization from the start. We had a suite on the second floor and the room was outstanding. Excellent location with five mins to the main square and ten to the Rialto. All employees were helpful and extremely friendly. Let the hotel organise your private transfer its well worth it though you won't get change from €350. We found a great restaurant just down the canal and returned there 3 times. Loved it- but bring thongs in case the square floods an you're feeling adventurous!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rcuta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 night May 15th/16th 2013, the staff were very friendly and helpful when we needed to find out something, our room was lovely and very spacious as we were ungraded on arrival which was very nice. I would come back to the Aqua Palace hotel again as the location is perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARGOROSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I would go back to stay again. Great reception with really friendly staff. The room was a little dark and small but overall it was a comfortable stay bed was good and the room was clean. Bonus was the private courtyard balcony area with full afternoon sun.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank crusty8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We spent just two nights at the Aqua Palace hotel but wish we had had more time there. Perfectly situated close to St. Mark's Sq and a number of very good restaurants. On arrival the door was opened for us and our bags taken care of. We were shown to our room, given our bags and left to ourselves. The room was smaller than expected and an odd shape up on the 4th floor at the back of the hotel. No view to speak of but it did have a small enclosed terrace area that caught the full sun in the early afternoon. And it was away from the early morning noise at the canal side. We loved it. The service was friendly and the food was first class and yes a bar would have been nice but when you are three mins walk from all that you could possibly need it wasn't a problem. Would not hesitate to stay there again, if room 406 was available.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jaxatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Reali di Venezia
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
#27 of 385 in Venice
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel L'Orologio
#23 of 385 in Venice
774 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#39 of 385 in Venice
935 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palace Hotel

Address: Calle de la Malvasia 5492/a, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $156 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Castello quarter, the atmosphere of ancient Venice awaits you at the luxurious 4 star Aqua Palace Hotel, a hotel that symbolizes the new Venetian hospitality for those in search of charm, seduction and comfort, in a perfect balance between traditional and modern. With a contemporary touch, the finely furnished rooms and suites interpret the distant past of Marco Polo's Venice, suspended between the west and the east, with soft lighting, fine curtains and special materials. Scalfarotto Palace is home to the passionate work of the Caputo Family, hoteliers for two generations, at your service and ready to give you the perfect welcome to Venice's historic center, where "Aqua" means life, history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aqua Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing