We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will happily return to this Hotel every Venice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aqua Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Palace Hotel
Ranked #42 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Will happily return to this Hotel every Venice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding service and organization from the start. We had a suite on the second floor and the room was outstanding. Excellent location with five mins to the main square and ten to the Rialto. All employees were helpful and extremely friendly. Let the hotel organise your private transfer its well worth it though you won't get change from €350. We found a great restaurant just down the canal and returned there 3 times. Loved it- but bring thongs in case the square floods an you're feeling adventurous!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rcuta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    261
    46
    7
    1
See reviews for
217
777
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 night May 15th/16th 2013, the staff were very friendly and helpful when we needed to find out something, our room was lovely and very spacious as we were ungraded on arrival which was very nice. I would come back to the Aqua Palace hotel again as the location is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARGOROSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

I would go back to stay again. Great reception with really friendly staff. The room was a little dark and small but overall it was a comfortable stay bed was good and the room was clean. Bonus was the private courtyard balcony area with full afternoon sun.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank crusty8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We spent just two nights at the Aqua Palace hotel but wish we had had more time there. Perfectly situated close to St. Mark's Sq and a number of very good restaurants. On arrival the door was opened for us and our bags taken care of. We were shown to our room, given our bags and left to ourselves. The room was smaller than expected and an odd shape up on the 4th floor at the back of the hotel. No view to speak of but it did have a small enclosed terrace area that caught the full sun in the early afternoon. And it was away from the early morning noise at the canal side. We loved it. The service was friendly and the food was first class and yes a bar would have been nice but when you are three mins walk from all that you could possibly need it wasn't a problem. Would not hesitate to stay there again, if room 406 was available.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jaxatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

On a quiet canal between the Rialto Bridge and St. Mark's Square is this lovely boutique hotel. Convenient, clean and comfortable, we had a lovely stay from May 10-13. The first room they showed us was next to the elevator, so we politely asked for another, which was clean, small (but the usual for European rooms), and had a big shower, but best of all, it had a small balcony with a table and chairs and a view over the rooftops to the dome and spires of St. Mark's. It was a smoking room, but smelled fine. We loved it. Breakfast was delicious--cured meats and cheeses (standard Italian fare), pasteries, toast, cereal, yogurt and fruit. Sylvia greeted us each morning with a warm smile and delicious cappuccinos. Roberto at the front was especiallly helpful, as was everyone there, recommending great local restaurants, making reservations and arranging for airport transfers. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kid_Doc_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have very mixed feelings about this hotel. In fact we never felt really comfortable there. May be because of the small size of the common areas (reception, breakfast place), the lack of a nice bar where to unwind after a hard day of sightseeing, the darkness of the room room despite its 2 windows (dark wall paper and almost black carpet are rather depressing - room 303), or perhaps because of the 8am wake up call everyday caused by the noise of the workers gathering the garbage and loading it on a boat just outside the hotel. To us the Aqua Palace has no romantic atmosphere whatsoever but it offers a good level of comfort (good bed, good and large shower, safety box, slippers, reliable internet service, etc.), good service (the lady serving breakfast is outstanding) and an excellent location for an acceptable value (not cheap but Venice is expensive). Not enough for us, we shall not return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alain2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Like so many other sojourners in Venice, we shared the universal desire for "A Room With A View." If that is your preference, be aware that although this beautiful old building, with elevator and fronting on a picturesque canal may well have such rooms, none were made available to us on our stay.

On arrival we were presented with a recitation of our defects as guests: We had booked "late" (in our case five weeks or so in advance), we had arrived very early (no surprise there as the hotel had booked our water taxi), we wanted effective internet so, in the true Venetian manner (don't forget that Merchant) we would be granted a beneficial upgrade. And up we went. Out the door, down a dark passage and into an entirely separate "secret annex" belonging to the hotel, sometimes referred to on maps as "Aqua B". I use the term Secret Annex with full recognition of the inference it carries: Poor Anne Frank confined in a dark and uncomfortable attic.

Our suite was indeed divided into two sections, but although I didn't measure it the total square footage would certainly not exceed a small room in a modest hotel. Divided as it was, and further encumbered with a large pillar inconveniently located, it hardly warranted the lofty appellation of suite. Did I mention it was up a steep, narrow, slippery flight of stairs without a handrail? Oh, guess not. I did have a view of sorts, opening as it did onto a tiny square into which light seldom penetrated.

My remonstrances fell on deaf ears although perhaps we should have summoned the characteristic outrage of the pre-war British traveler coping with the dunning innkeeps, we felt that the next offer would likely be even worse and surrendered.

A bathroom without a single square inch of space to put one's toiletries, lacking even a hook or two on the door was one inconvenience of our little Hideaway. So was the entire lack of a dresser or any other means of unpacking the contents of our suitcases. The walls were clad in dark-brown wallpaper, expensive-looking but which added to the gloomy atmosphere of our little cachot. A penitent monk would have loved it.

Free internet is indeed available but it is of the sort that requires one to log on over and over again using a meaningless ID and password generated for you. That is, you do not get an automatic log in so each time your device times out, you need to visit a web page and re-enter these little, complicated codes.

The hotel itself, as much as we saw of it, looked entirely acceptable and attractive. The most attractive feature to us was the elevator of course. The food offered in the daily breakfast was excellent in my opinion, and was served by a delightful young lady who makes a superb cappuccino on request.

My outrage over the uncomfortable, cramped and overpriced accommodation makes if impossible for me recommend this hotel or to return to it. Perhaps I should have fought harder at check in but the Secret Annex was already a compromise as they first room they offered us was one flight even higher in the outbuilding and I thought I would have a heart attack on the staircase for sure.

So, if booking this place insist on photos of the room you will get and make sure you know what you are buying. Aside from this aspect, the staff were friendly, generally helpful and courteous. But a Room with a View this was not. I know I am burning my bridges here, but I cannot imagine returning to this hotel despite its excellent location, good coffee and charming personnel.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room number and digital photos or you will be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#36 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Reali
Hotel Ai Reali
#37 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#16 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#8 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palace Hotel

Property: Aqua Palace Hotel
Address: Calle de la Malvasia 5492/a, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Castello quarter, the atmosphere of ancient Venice awaits you at the luxurious 4 star Aqua Palace Hotel, a hotel that symbolizes the new Venetian hospitality for those in search of charm, seduction and comfort, in a perfect balance between traditional and modern. With a contemporary touch, the finely furnished rooms and suites interpret the distant past of Marco Polo's Venice, suspended between the west and the east, with soft lighting, fine curtains and special materials. Scalfarotto Palace is home to the passionate work of the Caputo Family, hoteliers for two generations, at your service and ready to give you the perfect welcome to Venice's historic center, where "Aqua" means life, history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aqua Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing