We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Venice Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqua Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aqua Palace Hotel
Ranked #38 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Venice Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 night May 15th/16th 2013, the staff were very friendly and helpful when we needed to find out something, our room was lovely and very spacious as we were ungraded on arrival which was very nice. I would come back to the Aqua Palace hotel again as the location is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARGOROSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    256
    45
    7
    1
See reviews for
212
760
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

I would go back to stay again. Great reception with really friendly staff. The room was a little dark and small but overall it was a comfortable stay bed was good and the room was clean. Bonus was the private courtyard balcony area with full afternoon sun.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank crusty8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We spent just two nights at the Aqua Palace hotel but wish we had had more time there. Perfectly situated close to St. Mark's Sq and a number of very good restaurants. On arrival the door was opened for us and our bags taken care of. We were shown to our room, given our bags and left to ourselves. The room was smaller than expected and an odd shape up on the 4th floor at the back of the hotel. No view to speak of but it did have a small enclosed terrace area that caught the full sun in the early afternoon. And it was away from the early morning noise at the canal side. We loved it. The service was friendly and the food was first class and yes a bar would have been nice but when you are three mins walk from all that you could possibly need it wasn't a problem. Would not hesitate to stay there again, if room 406 was available.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jaxatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

On a quiet canal between the Rialto Bridge and St. Mark's Square is this lovely boutique hotel. Convenient, clean and comfortable, we had a lovely stay from May 10-13. The first room they showed us was next to the elevator, so we politely asked for another, which was clean, small (but the usual for European rooms), and had a big shower, but best of all, it had a small balcony with a table and chairs and a view over the rooftops to the dome and spires of St. Mark's. It was a smoking room, but smelled fine. We loved it. Breakfast was delicious--cured meats and cheeses (standard Italian fare), pasteries, toast, cereal, yogurt and fruit. Sylvia greeted us each morning with a warm smile and delicious cappuccinos. Roberto at the front was especiallly helpful, as was everyone there, recommending great local restaurants, making reservations and arranging for airport transfers. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kid_Doc_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have very mixed feelings about this hotel. In fact we never felt really comfortable there. May be because of the small size of the common areas (reception, breakfast place), the lack of a nice bar where to unwind after a hard day of sightseeing, the darkness of the room room despite its 2 windows (dark wall paper and almost black carpet are rather depressing - room 303), or perhaps because of the 8am wake up call everyday caused by the noise of the workers gathering the garbage and loading it on a boat just outside the hotel. To us the Aqua Palace has no romantic atmosphere whatsoever but it offers a good level of comfort (good bed, good and large shower, safety box, slippers, reliable internet service, etc.), good service (the lady serving breakfast is outstanding) and an excellent location for an acceptable value (not cheap but Venice is expensive). Not enough for us, we shall not return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alain2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Like so many other sojourners in Venice, we shared the universal desire for "A Room With A View." If that is your preference, be aware that although this beautiful old building, with elevator and fronting on a picturesque canal may well have such rooms, none were made available to us on our stay.

On arrival we were presented with a recitation of our defects as guests: We had booked "late" (in our case five weeks or so in advance), we had arrived very early (no surprise there as the hotel had booked our water taxi), we wanted effective internet so, in the true Venetian manner (don't forget that Merchant) we would be granted a beneficial upgrade. And up we went. Out the door, down a dark passage and into an entirely separate "secret annex" belonging to the hotel, sometimes referred to on maps as "Aqua B". I use the term Secret Annex with full recognition of the inference it carries: Poor Anne Frank confined in a dark and uncomfortable attic.

Our suite was indeed divided into two sections, but although I didn't measure it the total square footage would certainly not exceed a small room in a modest hotel. Divided as it was, and further encumbered with a large pillar inconveniently located, it hardly warranted the lofty appellation of suite. Did I mention it was up a steep, narrow, slippery flight of stairs without a handrail? Oh, guess not. I did have a view of sorts, opening as it did onto a tiny square into which light seldom penetrated.

My remonstrances fell on deaf ears although perhaps we should have summoned the characteristic outrage of the pre-war British traveler coping with the dunning innkeeps, we felt that the next offer would likely be even worse and surrendered.

A bathroom without a single square inch of space to put one's toiletries, lacking even a hook or two on the door was one inconvenience of our little Hideaway. So was the entire lack of a dresser or any other means of unpacking the contents of our suitcases. The walls were clad in dark-brown wallpaper, expensive-looking but which added to the gloomy atmosphere of our little cachot. A penitent monk would have loved it.

Free internet is indeed available but it is of the sort that requires one to log on over and over again using a meaningless ID and password generated for you. That is, you do not get an automatic log in so each time your device times out, you need to visit a web page and re-enter these little, complicated codes.

The hotel itself, as much as we saw of it, looked entirely acceptable and attractive. The most attractive feature to us was the elevator of course. The food offered in the daily breakfast was excellent in my opinion, and was served by a delightful young lady who makes a superb cappuccino on request.

My outrage over the uncomfortable, cramped and overpriced accommodation makes if impossible for me recommend this hotel or to return to it. Perhaps I should have fought harder at check in but the Secret Annex was already a compromise as they first room they offered us was one flight even higher in the outbuilding and I thought I would have a heart attack on the staircase for sure.

So, if booking this place insist on photos of the room you will get and make sure you know what you are buying. Aside from this aspect, the staff were friendly, generally helpful and courteous. But a Room with a View this was not. I know I am burning my bridges here, but I cannot imagine returning to this hotel despite its excellent location, good coffee and charming personnel.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room number and digital photos or you will be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We booked a flight + hotel package with BA, first time visitors to Venice but not to Italy. We were so pleased with our choice of hotel, it really is a gem!

On arrival, we were shown to our room on the 4th floor. The room was a good size, had a very comfortable bed, good storage space, was decorated gorgeously in rich fabrics, golds and bronzes, with a lovely marble bathroom. The view was of rooftops, which could have been a little disappointing but in fact looked very arty, and we were there to explore and not spend time looking out the window! The minibar was very well stocked, with a number of branded spirits (Absolut vodka, Gordon's gin and miniature bottles of Moet champagne).

The staff at the hotel were all very helpful, most spoke good English although I did try out my basic Italian which I think they appreciated.

The breakfast room is small, but again very nicely decorated, but the size wasn't a problem as it never felt too busy. The choice of food and drinks at breakfast is good, with waiters ready to show you to your seat and bring you coffees/teas. There were a couple of different fruit juices, and both English and Continental breakfast foods. The staff are on hand to keep your drinks topped up, often without having to ask, which is nice. On our last morning, they brought out a selection of biscuits and fresh fruits with chocolate fondant, I thought this was a really nice touch.

The location of the hotel is perfect, just between the Rialto Bridge and St Mark's Square in the Castello quarter. The location meant we were close enough to walk to all the main tourist spots, but the evenings were quiet and relaxed. The hotel is small enough to offer a personal service, and the front desk staff always remembered you each morning and evening.

We hadn't been to Venice before, so we decided the best way to get to know the city was to "get lost" which we did on our first evening. We stumbled across a tiny pasta restaurant "Alfredo's" which was cheap, and excellent quality. The kind older man in there helped us choose which pasta and which sauce to have, advising and tutting and gesticulating in true Italian fashion! I'm guessing he was Alfredo - a credit to the restaurant. There are only a couple of benches for diners, we chose to takeaway back to the hotel which was just around the corner.

On our last day, our flight wasn't until the evening so the hotel let us keep the room on until 2pm at no extra charge.

Really a lovely, luxurious hotel, and I would recommend it to anybody planning a trip to Venice - I really would go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anitasvacanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Reali
Hotel Ai Reali
#35 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#36 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#28 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#16 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palace Hotel

Property: Aqua Palace Hotel
Address: Calle de la Malvasia 5492/a, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Castello quarter, the atmosphere of ancient Venice awaits you at the luxurious 4 star Aqua Palace Hotel, a hotel that symbolizes the new Venetian hospitality for those in search of charm, seduction and comfort, in a perfect balance between traditional and modern. With a contemporary touch, the finely furnished rooms and suites interpret the distant past of Marco Polo's Venice, suspended between the west and the east, with soft lighting, fine curtains and special materials. Scalfarotto Palace is home to the passionate work of the Caputo Family, hoteliers for two generations, at your service and ready to give you the perfect welcome to Venice's historic center, where "Aqua" means life, history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Aqua Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing