We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Venetian romance!”
Review of Aqua Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Aqua Palace Hotel
Ranked #46 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed here for 3 days while on holiday celebrating our 30th anniversary. We were greeted in our room with a gorgeous flower arrangement and card with the best wishes of the management- nice touch!

The room was soooo Venetian: silk wall coverings, lush draperies, fabulous chaise lounge, gilded writing desk and magnificent marble bathroom!

We had a lovely canal view and we weren't at all bothered by morning noise.

Everyplace in Venice is hard to find, but we followed the directions on the website from the Rialto vaporetto stop and we had no trouble even though it was our first time in Venice. There's really no need for a water taxi - it's only a 5 minute walk and you have to learn your way around sometime!

The location is ideal: just a few minutes walk to San Marco, Rialto and the morning market, which is early but totally worth waking up for!

The hotel was great at making dinner reservations and arranging the obligatory gondola ride.

Breakfast was quite extensive, hot and cold dishes. The croissants filled with jam were the best and the waitress was among the friendliest people we met.

On the day we left, our plane was so early we had to leave before breakfast started at 7, yet when we came downstairs, our cappuccinos were waiting for us, along with an early breakfast. It was so appreciated.

Everything about the hotel gushed Venetian charm and elegance, from the Murano chandeliers to the velvet ottoman in the elvator!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenore38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,213)
There are newer reviews for Aqua Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2011

Delightful Hotel with great staff. Gabriele at the front desk gives a superior welcome and Silvia delivers a super service breakfast !! Lovely views in oversized suite, much better than expected. Right next door is our favorite Venice Restaurant which is a big plus when one has walked all day long. Ae Sconte is the restaurant and Roberto and his sister are perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breffnicom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

25TH ANNIVERSARY. Very nice room. upgraded on arrival. Window outside where garbage was emptied on Monday early morning. Very noisy. Breakfast nice staff pleasant. Very cool when we traveled. room comfortable. nice clean room. bed comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 25thanniversary2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel has it all. It's not cheap, but it's on a small side canal so very quiet, not terribly hard to find (relative, in Venice!), and wonderful staff from bellmen to restaurant and front desk. We had a lovely room with plenty of space, and a view to die for. it's like Disneyland come alive outside the windows (we chose a smaller canal-view room over a larger room right on the water, which we thought would be too loud). Somehow the hotel manages to be contemporary and charming at the same time (how DO they do that?), with lovely furnishings and comfortable bed (hard, but comfy!).

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms before you choose - both the rooms we saw were lovely, the smaller was fine for...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCGetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We have just returned from a short stay at the Aqua Palace in Venice and it has left us wanting to return again as soon as possible. We arrived at the hotel, delivered to their landing by water taxi. We initially thought the taxi fare expensive, but after exploring the area over the next few days came to appreciate what a good idea the taxi was. I would have hated to have had to negotiate the many stairways, steps and narrow walkways with suitcases.
On entering the hotel the first impression how clean and beautifully presented the reception area is. Checkin was completed efficiently and in a very friendly fashion and we were shown to our room quickly. The room was absolutely perfect in every way, with a large comfortable bed and an immaculate bathroom. The room decoration was not done in wallpaper or painted but in perfect silk panels. Very Venetian!. The hotel was quiet and very tranquil. So quiet that we imagined that we were the only guests staying there. This idea was dispelled at breakfast the following day. Breakfast, which was served in a comfortable dining room consisted of a buffet of a good selection of hot and cold foods, the waitress being especially cheerful and attentive.
The hotel is well situated for walking to the many attractions of Venice and the reception offered to arrange any kind of visit or tour you could ask for. I would recommend taking up these offers as the prices turned out to be cheaper than organising them for yourself (inluding water taxis)
This hotel lists itself as 4 star but beats many claimed 4 star rated hotels we have previously stayed at throughout Europe
Venice is an expensive place overall, but we felt it worth it. Would I recommend the Aqua Palace? Absolutely

Room Tip: canal facing rooms have best views, but water traffic could be noisy if you like open windows.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

The Aqua Palace Hotel is a little difficult to find but that is because it is off the main thoroughfares whilst still very close to both St Marks and the Rialto bridge, which is pretty much ideal- but it took us a couple of days to get our bearings and learn the routes back! We thought the staff were all very friendly and helpful especially the waitress at breakfast; the buffet breakfast offered a reasonable choice and was good quality. Our standard room was at the back with no view but we realised that was to be expected- there are other rooms with canal views as an upgrade- and it was nice and quiet and well decorated and furnished. We got a good deal by Venice standards but prices are generally high in the City. We would certainly consider a return stay if we were thinking of a hotel in Venice. From this central location we pretty much walked the whole city in five days and it is easy to get to the water buses which are great.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelfromhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed at the Aqua Palace hotel for two nights in mid-October in a twin room. The hotel was not especially easy to find but then nothing is in Venice! Top tip: take a detailed map of the city with you as it is very easy to get lost and find yourself going around in circles! Nevertheless the hotel was in an excellent location at just 4-5 minutes walk from the Rialto bridge and the waterbus terminal. It's also centrally located in relation to the rest of the city so it's not difficult to explore all the adjoining quarters. If you haven't got much time in Venice it's worth taking the Line 1 waterbus which follows the route of the Grand Canal running through Venice.

This hotel clean and modern. The reception staff were not overly friendly but certainly polite and courteous. Our room was on the ground floor but we didn't have any problems with noise. In fact, the hotel is rather quiet. The room overlooked the canal and footbridge; one downside is people can look in so you end up keeping the curtain's drawn for privacy and so not much daylight can get through (minor problem when you're spending the majority of the time outside sightseeing).

The room was spotless. The bed was very comfortable-we got a good night's sleep on both nights. The hotel provides free wireless internet access in the rooms but you need to ask for a username and password. The room included breakfast which was OK although the pastries were delicious. All in all, we had a wonderful time in Venice and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nors93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Reali di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#31 of 385 in Venice
2,045 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#42 of 385 in Venice
1,403 reviews
Castello
Charming House IQs
Charming House IQs
#10 of 385 in Venice
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palace Hotel

Address: Calle de la Malvasia 5492/a, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $185 - $621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Castello quarter, the atmosphere of ancient Venice awaits you at the luxurious 4 star Aqua Palace Hotel, a hotel that symbolizes the new Venetian hospitality for those in search of charm, seduction and comfort, in a perfect balance between traditional and modern. With a contemporary touch, the finely furnished rooms and suites interpret the distant past of Marco Polo's Venice, suspended between the west and the east, with soft lighting, fine curtains and special materials. Scalfarotto Palace is home to the passionate work of the Caputo Family, hoteliers for two generations, at your service and ready to give you the perfect welcome to Venice's historic center, where "Aqua" means life, history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing