We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Modern, Renovated Hotel”
Review of Aqua Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aqua Palace Hotel
Ranked #43 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed four nights at Aqua Palace in early Aug 2011 and had a wonderful stay. The hotel had been renovated within the past year, and it is fairly modern in decor and everything is new and in good condition. The bed was fantastic. (It Italy we find them too hard and often with the split in the middle.) The room we had was fairly small (but perhaps average for Italy), but the bathroom was quite large with a tub and plenty of counter space. The room had a safe and the AC was very good. (Several of the other hotels we stayed at during this trip had weak AC's and never quite cooled the rooms). The hotel is in a great spot, between St. Marks Square and the Rialto, but enough off the beaten path so it is quiet. The staff were very helpful, and they got us a reservation at the top restaurant (per Rick Steves) where they knew the owner. Breakfast was more than the traditional pastries and coffee and included eggs and bacon and had the most pleasant staff. Overall a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Some rooms look out on a courtyard (not much view); request one looking over the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie_Hotlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

700 - 706 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2011

Aqua Palace Hotel exceeded our expectations in every way. The room was large and luxurious, with a huge marble bathroom and windows opening over the canal. It seemed to be very recently renovated. The free Wifi was fast, the included breakfast was generous and the hotel's charges were exactly as advertised when we booked: no added "room tax" or other random additions. A daily copy of the International Herald Tribune was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melb0urne_Melb0urne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This is a very stunning hotel, in a quiet street, but close to restaurants and attractions. It was extremely clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatricSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here for one night before a cruise. We had paid for a shared water taxi from Marco Polo airport to Venice. What we didn't realize is that the taxi would not take us directly to the hotel's jetty. Instead, they dropped us at the Rialto Bridge and left us to fend for ourselves.

As it turns out, the hotel is just a 5 minute walk from the Rialto Bridge, but no one we asked had any idea where it was. Eventually we found it, but only by dumb luck. We actually saw another tourist being escorted to the hotel by the police, whom she had obviously asked for help finding it!

All this could be allayed by a simple map on the hotel's web site.

However, once we arrived, we received a very warm welcome. The property itself is a renovated palazzo, and it is stunning, with high beamed ceilings, beautiful drapes and wallpapers and anitiques everywhere. Our room was equally lovely, and equipped with an enormous bathroom.

The staff was extremely polite and helpful, and spoke perfect English. Breakfast was included (not sure if that's the case for every room) and was delicious and plentiful.

The room rates are not cheap, but nothing is in Venice. For the price, I think you would be hard-pressed to find nicer accommodations in Venice.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedstoneBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Great Modern Hotel- Awesome location- a little hard to find but I would highly recommend!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine9888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

The hotel is a few minutes walk from st Marks square which is perfect. St Marks square is so noisy and packed with tourists that you don't want to be staying too close to it.

Free wi-fi was provided which was great.

All staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast although was not extensive the range was perfect. Good view from the room, which also had a large bathroom.

Highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Venice!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndMarBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

The hotel was in a Great location, it was very clean, and for being close to everything it was very quiet

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cafiregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Reali di Venezia
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
#34 of 387 in Venice
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Palazzo Veneziano
Palazzo Veneziano
#20 of 387 in Venice
286 reviews
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#36 of 387 in Venice
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palace Hotel

Address: Calle de la Malvasia 5492/a, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $125 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Castello quarter, the atmosphere of ancient Venice awaits you at the luxurious 4 star Aqua Palace Hotel, a hotel that symbolizes the new Venetian hospitality for those in search of charm, seduction and comfort, in a perfect balance between traditional and modern. With a contemporary touch, the finely furnished rooms and suites interpret the distant past of Marco Polo's Venice, suspended between the west and the east, with soft lighting, fine curtains and special materials. Scalfarotto Palace is home to the passionate work of the Caputo Family, hoteliers for two generations, at your service and ready to give you the perfect welcome to Venice's historic center, where "Aqua" means life, history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aqua Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing