We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just FLAWLESS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Al Duca di Venezia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Ranked #41 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just FLAWLESS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

This Hotel in Venice did not fail my expectations:
the rooms are simply royal, beautiful and equipped with all the items you'd need.

A great price-quality relation, a PERFECT location and the kindest staff ever.

TOTALLY recommended, me and my boyfriend loved it and we shall definitely get back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChiaraMEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    269
    46
    5
    12
See reviews for
190
641
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Aah - Hotel Al Duca di Venezia! Thank you SO much for a wonderful, romantic, relaxing Christmas. We stayed here for four nights. We booked an apartment, but on arrival were offered either the apartment or a hotel room - whichever we preferred. The receptionist, Michelle (all staff are SO friendly, helpful and kind) showed us the room & the apartment so we could choose. We decided on the room (one of the red rooms - wow!! Wow! Luxury, lovely! Gorgeous!!) We loved it so much, we really didn't want to leave.
This has been one of our best hotel experiences, and we travel a lot.
Location is fantastic - it's 15 min walk from the main tourist part of Venice, which we saw as a great positive because it meant the hotel was super quiet at night and we were in a less touristy part of town.
There are several fantastic restaurants nearby; a co-op and a patisserie / coffee shop. It's also very close to a waterbus stop, so is easy to get to from the airport.
The thing we loved about this hotel is how cosy it felt and how incredibly kind and helpful the staff were. Definitely the best customer service I've experienced at a hotel.
A decent breakfast plus great recommendations for restaurants, etc.
We loved it! Would definitely return and wish we were still there....
Thank you so, so much to the fantastic, lovely staff who worked from 23-26 December 2012. You made our stay so wonderful and we really appreciate all of your help and recommendations.

Room Tip: We loved the red room with the wood floor...! Very quiet at night, great bathtub, huge, comfy bed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smileyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Al Duca di Venezia is easily accessed by foot from Sta Lucia train station and within walking distance to Rialto and Piazza San Marco. The breakfast was great with plenty of pastries and quality coffee to start the day.

Though the service was just ok, it was still a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LeaCasas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, MP, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

--- THE GOOD ---
We had booked a family room via booking.com but through email conversations opted for a family suite and paid the total amount at the hotel. We were 3 adults traveling for 3 nights in Novemvber.

The hotel room was very lavish and spacious (Room 104). The room was very big and I mean very big. The bed was very nice. The decor was very good with the golden drapes and huge windows.The living room area was as big as the bedroom area. the sofa was huge!! and I mean HUGE!

The bathroom was very nice and clean although very small. The hotel was very clean and our rooms were also cleaned everyday. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic. We loved it!

I had requested for a room with a small balcony which room 104 had which was right above the hotel entrance / lobby.

The hotel staff was very helpful. I would like to thank - Prateek & Sakti for being very helpful during our stay. They answered all our questions and even help us book the daytime tours.

--- THE BAD ---
(1) The sofa bed although was huge, but sleeping on it was HORRIBLE. I used to wake up every night and had bad back aches due to the sofa. I could feel the metal bars under the mattress when I used to sleep. (but I have to say that it was the BIGGEST sofa bed I have ever seen in my life)

(2) The bathroom shower was very small. I am of average size and it was very difficult just for me to take a shower. My parents are much bigger than I am and it was very hard for them to take a shower inside this tiny shower pod.

(3) I did not know that this was a B&B instead of a proper hotel as on booking.com and tripadvisor it is listed under hotels. Hence, there was no room service. Also, paying this much price we as travellers take certain things for granted like room service, coffee maker in the room, etc but that wasn't there. I did ask about that to the hotel staff but they said that they just have drinks from the bar downstairs. No food.

--- OVERALL ---
In conclusion, I would say that the hotel was GOOD. It felt a bit overpriced but compared to everything else and other hotel in Venice, the price by the hotel seemed justifiable. I would recommend it to other guests!

Room Tip: Room 104 is the family suite room right above the entrance with huge windows and a little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank masandrahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Al Duca di Venezia in January 2012.It's a little "secluded",but that's why we chose it.Quiet and very well managed.Loved the surrounding area with the small piazzas.
What a wonderful find!We stayed in the Superior Room (Red Room).We loved everything about it.
Bedroom:clean,quite big and well decorated.The beds were comfortable.We loved the purple Murano chandelier.
Bathroom:Clean,big and comfortable with nice amenities.
The breakfast was nice and the lady working in the dining area was always friendly.Breakfast was a nice experience.
The service at the hotel was excellent.The staff at the reception was always friendly and helpful.
There are plenty of nice restaurants nearby.These restaurants are as authentic as can be and are certainly not tourist traps.

All in all a great hotel.Friendly helpful staff and a very romantic hotel in a very romantic city.

We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Tip:Choose the Superior Room(Red room) it's a wonderful experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnofTaipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Since we coincidently booked our trip the weekend of the big gondola races, there weren't a ton of options to book that were nice at a good price.
This place was recommended to me by my friends who travel a lot for work and said they really enjoyed the staff and room here.
My friend and I did enjoy the apartment though! We felt like we actually lived in Venice and this was our apartment. The suite we got had a ton of room and the ac worked great!

It was a little difficult for us to find but I think some of that might have attributed to it being our first time in Venice. The girl at the front desk was extremely helpful and gave us a map and directions how to get around, even though everyone encouraged us to "get lost in Venice".

The location did end up being a great spot and only a 20 min walk to the train station.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Not really a hotel .... more a large guest house. Stayed a couple of nights.

Good location if you like to walk, only a few minutes from the train station. Rooms are very nice but the hotel had a very empty feel about it. Breakfast was very basic and charging extra for cooked option is very poor considering the room prices. Mind you, the whole of Venice is a huge rip-off so why should the hotels be any different?

Free wifi was a help.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kradcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#53 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,288 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#24 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Best Western Hotel Olimpia
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Duca di Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Duca di Venezia

Property: Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Address: Santa Croce, 1739 | Fontego dei Turchi, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Duca di Venezia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Al Duca di Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing