We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, Quiet Hotel in Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Ranked #49 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Lovely, quiet hotel in (slightly) less touristy area of the city. Front desk was accommodating at all times. Breakfast was very good and generous. Despite the fact we were on a ground floor room, I slept like a baby and felt very secure. For older travellers getting to other parts of the city may be a bit arduous; we were fine with taking the public boats, for which we bought a three day pass, very much needed.

All in all, a positive experience in a city overrun by tourists.

Room Tip: Specify the need for a bathtub if needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank perrubud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,081)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

571 - 577 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2011

The hotel may be a 15 minute walk from the Rialto, and another 10 minutes from St Mark's Square, but our family found its location to be one of this hotel's attractive features. In a city of chaos with many tourists, the hotel's location was perfect, away from the brouhaha of the crowds of tourists, but close to some very quaint piazzas with great restaurant selections. We had a royal red room which my wife was very excited about, as was our niece who stayed in another equally red room with her family!! The rooms were very elegant, and even had air conditioning. There was a communal room on the 1st floor with a small balcony. Our family (almost 12 of us, plus 2 close friends) all stayed in the hotel, and enjoyed some pre and post-dinner drinks in this elegant communal room. It was ideal for our situation. The hotel was fairly difficult to find but what isnt in Venice unless you're looking for the Rialto or St Mark's.... We would definitely stay here again. Carlo on the front desk was extremely helpful and accomodating. No cash discounts offered.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Griswalds007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

WOW!!!! My husband and I felt so lucky to be staying at this boutique hotel for three nights on our honeymoon. I almost wasn't going to write a review to try and keep this little gem a secret but they deserve one. We had one of the Red Superior rooms and it was truly palatial. The rooms was HUGE by any standard and stunning beyond description. The photo's don't lie. This is backed up by wonderful staff, with particular mention to Pier Carlo who was so friendly offering plenty of useful information and also very happy to help me improve my very basic Italian. The location is perfect. Only one stop on the vaporetto from the station and two from the bus terminal. The Rialto bridge was within easy walking distance as was San Marco Square. Plenty of great restaurants nearby, especially Al Ponte Del Meggio, a canal side restaurant around the corner. Our family and friends will definitely being staying at Hotel Al Duca Venezia following our glowing reviews as will we when we return to Venice. Hopefully in the not to distant future. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank as444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Spent three nights at the Hotel Al Duca di Venezia with my husband and two teenage sons. We loved the hotel -- from the over-the-top Venetian style decor (very dramatic!) to the lovely and accommodating host. The location is a few steps off the Grand Canal right near the Natural History Museum. It is off the tourist-heavy path and we loved it for that. It is only a 10 minute walk to the Rialto Bridge and another 5 to San Marco, both of which were loaded down with people during Easter Week. The more quiet neighborhood of the hotel was a wonderful treat after spending the days with the throngs of other tourists. There are still plenty of lovely piazzas and restaurants close by. An added plus is that it is a quick walk to the train station if you are arriving or leaving the city that way.

We had the family room which featured a king and a king pull-out which my children said was very comfortable. The only issue we had was a rather smallish bathroom with only a half shower door. With teenage boys in tow, the floor of the bathroom would get quite wet.

Otherwise, fantastic and a great choice for families, but also very beautiful with lots of murano glass chandeliers, so quite romantic as well.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suehax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We chose this hotel based on TA and we and our travel friends were thrilled with my choice! Pretty rooms, friendly staff who made us dinner reservations at fantastic restaurants, and overall a pleasant experience. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sschieber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

We chose this hotel purely on TA reviews. We were not disappointed. Warm welcome, room was big and comfortable. Location was perfect, quiet but can explore main attractions by walking. We will stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traverler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Immaculately clean. Efficient service. Terrific breakfast. Awesome bathroom. Damask upholstered walls are luxurious and insulating. Close to train and an easy boat ride to/from the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithMcCawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#54 of 385 in Venice
845 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,783 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,947 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#36 of 385 in Venice
1,592 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#27 of 385 in Venice
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Duca di Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Duca di Venezia

Address: Santa Croce, 1739 | Fontego dei Turchi, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $120 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Duca di Venezia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Al Duca di Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing