We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Venice Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Palazzo Minelli
Ranked #156 of 468 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Venice Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at this quaint b&b for 2 nights following a cruise which ended in Venice. There were 4 of us, with plenty of luggage, so we opted to take a water taxi from the cruise port...100 euros but worth it as he dropped us off at a tiny dock just steps from the front entrance and, as with most things in Venice, it is hard to find and addresses mean nothing. Matteo greeted us and helped with our luggage (sorry about that heavy one!). Pack lighter as there are 2 long flights of stairs. We had 2 queens in adjoining rooms with a private bathroom for 2 couples. There was also a balcony overlooking the canal. There is a door separating the rooms but the balcony is accessible from one bedroom while the bathroom was accessible from the other. We had a ball watching and waving at all the gondolas floating by! But be aware, it can be a little noisy in the early morning hours if you leave the windows open. The rooms were large and clean and the bathroom was quite updated. Matteo was very friendly and helpful. It is close to all the major areas but down a quieter street which was nice. There was also a nice table and chairs if you want to grab some food and eat in. My only recommendation would be a small refrigerator with ice trays in the room. Our room also had a side alcove with a twin bed that would be great for a couple with a child. If you want a homey, friendly experience in a lovely 16th century building away from the madding crowds, this is for you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    66
    37
    12
    9
See reviews for
59
105
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The experience of staying here was excellent even before we arrived! As we were arriving really late into Venice, Matteo assured us it was no problem to meet us at San Marco vaporetto and walked us to the B&B! A nice touch so late at night!

The B&B was perfectly located just a few minutes walk from St Marks square and less than 10 from Rialto bridge - generally close to everything we wanted to see and do as a tourist! Matteo was also a great support in helping us find details of train times for a trip to Lake Garda which was a highlight of our trip.

The room was spacious, traditional and clean and we enjoyed waking up by being serenaded by the gondolas going up and down the canal! Would absolutely recommend this place to anyone visiting Venice.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms can be a little noisy with the gondolas and singing starting from around 8am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LianneC486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Palazzo Minelli was exactly what we have seen on the web!!! The B&B is in a 16th century building but well renovated. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. We had a very spacious room facing the canal where lot of gondolas and many other vessels going up and down. The canal was a bit noisy but anyway it had a lot of fun! Sometimes we were sitting in the terrace of the room and we were photographed several times by passing tourists on gondolas as they believe that we were Venetians!!!
Matteo, the owner of B&B is a very kind young man as he came and picked us from a place that we finally lost our way! He helped us in carrying our luggage.
Breakfast was ok. The coffee was very nice and we had as much as we want! Definitely we will be back if we will be in Venice again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller-dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Absolutely loved it. The owner, Matteo came and met us at Rialto Bridge, from there it was a few minutes walk to the hotel. St Marks square was just a few minutes walk too. We were upgraded from out triple room (on the canal, which was delightful) to two very large adjoining rooms on the canal, with a double length balcony! It was stunning. Decor very Venetian, beds comfortable, nice flat pillows which I love, hot water everyday, modern bathroom, nice and warm and a great location. There are umbrellas there to borrow should you need them and both Mattoe and his helper were very friendly and inviting. When we arrived we asked for a coffee, which they didnt charge for, which we thought that was a nice touch. We will definitely stay again next time we go to Venice
Venice is great, you see people walking around lost, trying to read their maps, ourselves included, and then bump into them again, hours later, still lost - its so funny.

One word of warning though, NOTHING to do with the hotel. We went to a bar next to the nearest Supermarket, "Movie The Bistro & Wi-Fi Cafe", they had an A frame outside advertising a band, we went in had a couple of wines and they'd laid out some nibbles on the bar, which we didnt try AND then when we went to leave they tried to charge us €15 each for the band and buffet, there was nothing to warn us of this on the A frame! We didnt pay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed in room 1 which overlooked one of the canals. It was quite spacious and the bed was comfortable. The washroom was also clean. Each morning, the owner brought breakfast to our room, and it was great! It is located about 5 minutes from St.Mark's square, which is great to walk to at night. It's so lively and filled with people. Lovely place to stay. As mentioned in the reviews by others, there was a lot of noise from the gondolas passing through the canals, but we enjoyed watching them (whenever we were in the room, because mostly we were outside). Venice was magical! Would definitely stay there again without second thoughts!

Room Tip: Room 1 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gv s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a delightful 16th century building that was once a private home. The antique furniture is perfectly in tune with the period (and may even be original), except for the bathroom which is modern and well appointed. Our room overlooked the convergence of two canals and we loved watching the seemingly endless parade of gondolas from our balcony, and enjoyed the occasional serenades from passing gondolas. Our group of six took a water taxi to a location on the canal very close to the hotel, where the manager met us and helped us with our baggage (thankfully, as there are a lot of stairs in the hotel). The room was spacious and comfortable - I am most choosy about beds and I found the bed just fine. The location is well placed for everything - La Fenice Theatre just around the corner and St Mark's Square just a short walk away. The breakfast was a little on the lean side, compared with other hotels we have stayed in, but in Venice there are so many places to eat and shop that we were not bothered by this. We could not fault our host's hospitality and we loved every minute of our two night sojourn. If we go back to Venice this will be our first choice again. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank real_kiwi_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAUNTON
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed here in room #1 for 4 nights before leaving on a cruise. This was my second time in Venice, and staying here made this a truly wonderful experience. The B&B is just off a charming little square that houses La Fenice Opera House, a 16th century church and several restaurants. It's a short walk to St. Marks Square, and one of the major gondolier stations. It's quiet and it's safe. Room # 1 overlooks the canal, and you will be seranaded by gondoliers from 10 AM until midnight. Who cares about the construction noise??? You're in Venice hearing opera sung from your window that opens onto the canal! (Besides, the noise was minimal, and we didn't stay in the room past 9 AM) We were NOT met at the vaporetto by the owner unfortunately. However, just keep asking how to get to La Fenice Opera and you will have no problem finding it. We plan to return to Venice in 2-3 more years, and we will stay here again!

Room Tip: Room #1overlooks the canal and is spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lqmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#132 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#111 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ca' Fortuny
Hotel Ca' Fortuny
#197 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Alcyone Hotel
Alcyone Hotel
#262 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
San Marco
Alloggi alla Scala
Alloggi alla Scala
#171 of 468 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
San Marco
Casa Fenice
Casa Fenice
#78 of 468 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Palazzo Minelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Palazzo Minelli

Property: B&B Palazzo Minelli
Address: San Marco 1878/a, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 468 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your B&B Palazzo Minelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing