We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit.!”

Ristorante Casa Bonita
Reserve with
Ristorante Casa Bonita is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #173 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Description: Tipica cucina veneziana stagionale pesce , carne, verdure
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

My hubby and I went here tonight and had monk fish and sea bass and it was very pleasant.Quick to serve us,nice to be off the main street and you get to see a little bit of a sunset.Very good but not excellent..Worth a go!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PipB26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    283
    89
    38
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, CA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Our favorite in Venice”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This restaurant is on the canal away from the busy center of Venice. It is near the historic Jewish Ghetto. It was our favorite. It had great seafood dishes, friendly and fast service and a great reasonably priced wine called 360. Many non tourists were there, yet our waiter knew English. We were there for lunch, but went back again on another night. Great great food, and very reasonable prices. Ask for Dennis and you will get get wonderful service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjbeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Terrible. Worst experience in Venice.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stopped at Casa Bonita partly because they displayed a Trip Advisor rating in the window. I don't know who gave this restaurant good ratings, but I can only assume it was someone who didn't eat anywhere else. I don't like giving poor ratings, so I will explain why this one rates so low.

The service is terrible. Worse than terrible. We ordered some wine for our meal. The wine was brought out fairly promptly, but it took another 10 minutes for wine glasses to arrive. And no, the restaurant was not busy. Also, once our food came, a waiter was not to stop by our table again. We were a bit surprised as we had mentioned at the time of ordering that we would probably be ordering another carafe of wine. But no. There we sat. Even though the waiter walked past our table no fewer than a dozen times, he refused to make eye contact even when we tried to flag him down. (We are familiar with the differences in service and customs between the US and Europe. Trust me...this was just bad service.)

The food was utterly tasteless. I ordered a simple pasta that may as well have been rice cakes for all the flavor it had. I had to add olive oil from the table and salt...and then it only tasted like olive oil and salt. The bread was pretty bad, too.

When we were finished, we had to ask THREE DIFFERENT wait staff for our bill. It seemed that although they had no intention of waiting on our table, neither did they want us to leave. And at the end, the bill was FAR higher than the quality of the food.

If you have taste buds and like to be treated with some level of service, avoid this restaurant. There are just too many good ones in town to sit through this terrible experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Kyra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful and great morning espresso”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I can't say enough good things about these people. When we arrived in Venice, we walked to our apartment which was just down the walkway beside this restaurant and our host was nowhere to be found. We don't carry cell phones on our European vacations because of the crazy Canadian fees and our iPads only work on wifi which is generally not available on the sidewalk. I walked down to Casa Bonita and asked where the nearest public phone would be.....back at the train station.....I told the woman behind the cash about our dilemma and she kindly offered to let me use the phone. This was so generous and I was astounded as I expected a shrug. We were able to contact our fellow, but since then, we go in everyday for espresso as I truly believe that one good turn deserves another. The food here looks good and the place always has plenty of locals, so if you're in this area, come down to support a local restaurant and enjoy the view along the canal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Temptationgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Very good not perfect”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

The food i ate was very good(Mix Fried Fish) and the portion was goodly sized. Only minor thing was the price. It was 14?

Helpful?
Thank Jakob L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Casa Bonita also viewed

City of Venice, Province of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
 

Been to Ristorante Casa Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing