We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza in Italy”
Review of Conca d'Oro

Conca d'Oro
Ranked #638 of 1,435 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Castello
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Italy”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Was not overly impressed with the quality of the food in Italy, that is until we visited this restaurant. Finally a range of inspiring, tasty pizzas, not the bland boring ones we have tried elsewhere. They were large, with plenty of topping, and extremely tasty. We didn't go back for seconds, we went back for thirds, it was that good. The third visit, I tried a different pizza and it was as wonderful as the first 2. Service was very good and the ambience was also quite good, although each time we went, it was far from crowded.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronp1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    165
    95
    60
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Decent pizzas at ok price in atmospheric location..”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Very basic standard pizzas and food but the restaurant offers decent places considering the location. Efficient service and you get what you pay for.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blajjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Decent pizzas”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were recommended this place at the hotel as the real pizza place away from the tourist track though we found it was just behind San Marco and pretty much on the beaten path. It must get recommended to a lot of tourists as we saw no italians around. Though it has quite a big terrace we couldnt find space so we had to sit indoors, which it was not very atmospheric. The pizzas were good - with some of us rating them very highly - but my pasta dish was fairly average.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HendrikM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Does The Job, Decent Value”
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

We had the Pasta Carbonara, and a chicken in red sauce. Food was good. Had 2 beers and a soda, total bill €90. Good value for a sit down dinner in Venice.

Helpful?
Thank ErnieL94
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not recommented even if you are starving, bad value for money, disgusting WC”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This place seems to been left back to '80s. It would not be that a problem if the toilettes were appropriate of a pizzeria - restaurant.
Food was just acceptable, but the bill was not. They charged 3.5 euros for nothing (don't mention 2 euros each person for just sitting to a table and using knifes and forks).
I am not recommending it to anyone, even if you are starving...

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shelman02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conca d'Oro also viewed

City of Venice, Province of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Conca d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing