We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Total Rip Off”
Review of Cavatappi

Cavatappi
Ranked #1,148 of 1,435 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Marco
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Total Rip Off”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We just popped into this place for a quick coffee and also to check out the menu.
We decided that we would go back in the evening for our meal, lucky we had the coffee first!!
When we got the bill it turned out that the service charge was 4 euros and the coffee's only come to3 euros! So the total ended up as 7 euros.
When I queried about the price to the woman behind the bar saying that they advertised the coffee as 1.50 euros each she just started shouting in a rude arrogant manner saying that the price advertised is for drinking the coffee standing up at the bar!! I expected to pay some service charge but NOT more than what the coffee cost in the first place. It would not have been so bad had she not been so arrogant about my query expecting me as a tourist in Venice to automatically know that it's cheaper to stand at the bar like in the Wild West movies!!
Needless to say we did not return back there for our evening meal and we would never ever return back there in our future visits to one of our favourite cities!! So thanks again the woman behind the bar for ruining our day!!.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    78
    40
    31
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Simple, friendly restaurant with good service”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We chose this place by using our guidebook. It is a simple wine bar-type restaurant very close to the heavily-populated tourist areas in Venice. We sat outside and ordered our food which was simple and really well prepared. We asked advice on which wine we should choose and were very glad we did. Our waitress was very kind and friendly and chuckled at my poor Italian (her English was very good). We sat and enjoyed our food and wine as we watched the snakes of tourist groups pass... and left feeling happy that we had been served some good value food by some friendly people.
Really good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidCarolKt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lucky find”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were just walking down this street last night when we had the impression the wines looked okay and the cichetti and other snacks on people's plates actually looked quite appetizing, so we decided to try the food and drinks ourselves; having already had lunch, and it being a hot day, we just wanted a good glass of white and a nice snack.Which we got: a lovely Veneto wine carefully selected by the waitress to go well with our fritto misto, a lovely mix of fried octopus, fish, calamares, carrots and zucchini. Delish!
The next day we partook of lunch at the same place, and this was good too: my wife had a lovely tuna salad with plenty of rocket salad, her favorite, and I thoroughly enjoyed one of the dishes on the day's menu, I.e. gnocchetti con salsa de zucchini e gamberetti. It's one of those pastas you don't want to destroy by adding Parmesan. Fortunately, they don't even offer you the choice to do so! The service, as on the night before, was impeccably correct and genuinely friendly. The bill was a pleasant surprise. I'd recommend this restaurant to everybody who loves a good glass of wine, fresh local food and pleasant staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FokkeDeJong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lucky find”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were staying at a small hotel right next to this bar and only ventured in one evening as the Venice heavens had decided to open and this was the nearest place to seek refuge until it stopped, however we ended up staying for the whole evening!

It's a small bar, which reminded me of a Spanish style wine bar, with fresh meats on display in the glass section of the wooden bar. The bar itself is simple, with a basic layout of tables and chairs and offers a wide variety of drinks, predominantly wine, though some draught beer was also available.

The atmosphere is chilled, the interior is not large, far from it but you we never felt crowded even though a couple were sat at the very next table a foot or so away.

The service was good and having spent most of the evening there (unplanned) we did eventually decide to eat there too and it was very tasty, a fried fish dish to share from the special's menu that we had seen other's also order.

Overall, good value simple food, wide variety of drinks and relaxed atmosphere. And not a 'tourist menu' in sight!

If you do want to try to find it, follow v. Spadaria (an alley between Hotel Concordia) from the north east corner of St Mark’s Square and it can be found approx 100 metres or so in a courtyard just passed Tratorria La Bricola on the right hand side, good luck!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pepper1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“welcome lunch break”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

69euros for lunch for three adults and two children. very fast service and good food. We shared a plate of Cochinetti and a pannini and the children had omelettes. The deserts looked great but we decided to walk and stop elsewhere for coffee and cakes later.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bonny600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cavatappi also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
City of Venice, Province of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
City of Venice, Province of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Cavatappi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing