We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best veggie food ever in Venice”
Review of Frary's

Frary's
Ranked #74 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Polo
Description: Mediterranean food, greek and lebanise options. Good variety for vegetarian, vegan, lactose free and gluten free (Certificated from AIC). Greek and lebanise wines
Sussex
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best veggie food ever in Venice”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a must be you veggie, vegan or a meat eater. Has AC so great for hot summers days. Lovely ambience inside and helpful staff. You could have Italian but why bother when you can have items from the Greek and Arab menus?
It might appear expensive but this is a special place where taste and freshness are important. You can fill up on Pizza cheaply elsewhere or invest in wonderful food at Frary's. It's a no brainier ..... Invest in the best food and remember it as part of your total Venice experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hellebore_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    199
    57
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
147 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Arab Food in Cozy Setting”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Every day we walked past this restaurant and said, "What a cozy looking place." So we finally walked in, and lo and behold the food was unlike any we had ever had. Orange flavored couscous with mussels, squid, clams and monkfish. The arab ice cream with dates, pistachios, and raisins was amazing, washed down with cinnamon liquor. The owner was charming and knowledgeable, and made us feel that we were dining in her home kitchen. Lovely experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyKmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

On our last night in Venice, thoroughly sick of pizza and pasta, we tried this and very glad we did. Lovely atmosphere, great food and friendly service. 5 stars all the way.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Reliably Good - friendly and relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We returned here last week having enjoyed our meal on a previous visit - and were pleased to find it as friendly and laid back as before. Excellent mediterranean / middle eastern food with good choices for vegetarians , friendly and chatty staff and a good location looking over the canal and the Frari church.

Good value by Venice standards - highly recommended . Follow the walking tour signs for the Frari if you are still finding your way around Venice .

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Flynn59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Oasis of kindness”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

In a city that seems hostile to the tourists on whom it depends, Frary's is an oasis of hospitality and wonderful food. Dining here was the best part of our stay in Venice. After trying elsewhere, we happily returned to dine again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ridgeberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frary's also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Frary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing