We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice meal, good value”

Ristorante Alla Conchiglia
Reserve with
Ristorante Alla Conchiglia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #564 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $44 - $89
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Castello
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice meal, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Venice is very expensive, so we were glad on our final night to find this place. The food was very good and worth the money spent. Good, cheap wine. The waiter was absolutely lovely to us. It's a good choice if you are on a budget. If you sit outside, there is a nice view of a canal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrysM16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alla_Conchiglia, Admin at Ristorante Alla Conchiglia, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you to have choosen our restaurant! we are happy that you find here a good place to have lunch! We hope you to came here again! Thanks a lot, alla Conchiglia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    106
    59
    29
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location but it ends there”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to sit by the canal and have a meal so this was a good choice. But it was our worst meal so far of over two weeks in europe. Disappointing on every level. Cover charge, house wine was disappointing, pizza was bland, pasta was unimpressive, and the oil served was not even EVOO. They could at least have decent oil and vinegar on the table for these prices. Felt like we wasted one of our meals by eating here. Not recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alla_Conchiglia, Admin at Ristorante Alla Conchiglia, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
WE're sorry if your experience in our restaurant were so bad.
Best Regards,
Alla Conchiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
191 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Our first choice: very good fish restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Quietly located terrace along a canal, a bit out of the main tourist stream. But very good quality dishes, a very warm service and good value for money. Definitely our best experience!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank IvoFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alla_Conchiglia, Admin at Ristorante Alla Conchiglia, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for your good review! we're happy that you've got a great exprerience. we wish you to come here again.
Best regards
Alla Conchiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

It was a wonderful meal, all fresh fish and very authentic! Beautiful flavors! We sat outside and it is very nice because it's away from the crowds.

Helpful?
Thank Foodgirl1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alla_Conchiglia, Admin at Ristorante Alla Conchiglia, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for yor great review. we hope you to come here again to taste another kind of fish-food.
Best regards,
Alla Conchiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
585 reviews
367 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Odd billing spoilt our experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

There is no doubt that the Ristorante alla Conchiglia can produce some excellent food because they did this for a group of six of us who arrived in on a Sunday night without a booking. The staff took good care of us and we enjoyed the meal very much. But everything was let down by the odd and disturbing billing practice that they have. First, we were charged a "coperto", which is normal practice in Venice. The EUR9 for six people didn't cause us too many problems. Our bill was EUR295.30 and service of 12% (EUR39.70) was charged on top. Again, we didn't have a problem with this because the service was good. But then the waiter crossed off the "servizio" on our receipt and said that this was tax, which it obviously wasn't, and wanted us to pay an additional gratuity. In fact, "any gratuity is up to you..." is printed on the receipt. Having eaten in many restaurants over the years, my suspicions are raised any time something out of the ordinary happens. Being told that service is actually tax and then being asked for service on top of tax was a red flag, so we refused to leave more than EUR10 (which we think was reasonable on top of the EUR39.70 already charged for service) and left the restaurant disappointed because of the way the bill had been dealt with. The lesson here is to check the bill and decide what you want to pay for service. It seems like the 12% charged is more than adequate normally, but you might like to pay more. Your choice!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Knocksinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alla_Conchiglia, Admin at Ristorante Alla Conchiglia, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
We are sorry about your worst review. We hope you to come here again in order to change your idea.
Best regards
Alla Conchiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Alla Conchiglia also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Alla Conchiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing