We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best presentation and preparation of fresh seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Alla Conchiglia

Ristorante Alla Conchiglia
Fondamenta S. Lorenzo no 4990 - 91 | Venezia, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)
+39.041.52.89095
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Ristorante Alla Conchiglia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #456 of 1,361 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $44 - $89
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Castello
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best presentation and preparation of fresh seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This restaurant does a special job of selecting and preparing the freshest seafood daily. We had Dorado, sea bass and turbo and they were all exquisite lay prepared. The wait staff was attentive, skilled, and congenial. It was such a lovely evening we returned again two nights later. Again, we were thrilled. We wish we had not paid attention to the recommendations for the restaurant we chose on between, as it fell short of the Conchilglia!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marjpiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    88
    48
    25
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
246 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Been here a few years ago but not so good as before.location by the canal is nice but the food is nothing special.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Pretty location, average food, annoyingly expensive.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Whilst not exactly bad, our meal at this restaurant during a recent visit to Venice was at the same time by some distance the least impressive and yet the most expensive. Set some way back from the main San Zaccaria waterfront down a side canal, the restaurant has a pretty location. Service was attentive until we had ordered (less so from that point), and after we had our apperitifs the head waiter gave us the hard sell for a fresh turbot ("he only had one fish') - as it was our last night and my wife adores fish, we agreed. (Stangely we overheard the same waiter make the same 'only one fish' pitch to four other sets of diners, two of who also ordered turbot !!) Now when you do agree to something like this, you do (or should) know in advance that it's not going to be cheap so the bill wasn't a surprise, but it would be nice if the food was done well. Unfortunately at this restaurant, average is seemingly the name of the game. Our bill for two aperitifs, two starters from the a la carte menu (neither of which was very good), the aforesaid fish, two deserts (dreadful panacotta and a wonderful zabaillone) a bottle of Prosecco and a bottle of water was Euro 180 inclusive of service, which as mentioned above was by a distance the worst value and overall the least impressive food we found (and we ate both on the waterfront, and at some of the well-reviewed establishments). One to avoid.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Essexscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A very poor choice despite the lovely setting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We know Venice is not a city known for its gastronomic delights at a reasonable price, however, my husband and I never expected a meal of such appalling quality as we were served in this restaurant. I ordered a set meal. The pasta was served in a thick, cloying tomato sauce with a few dried up mussels that looked as if they were straight from a tin (I never did spot the clams). The main course was a small piece of fish in the same tomato sauce minus the mussels but with the addition of a few olives. The accompanying salad comprised of a few dry, iceberg lettuce leaves. Finally for desert, a slice of creme caramel with sugar crystals on top. I'm not a fusspot but I really couldn't eat it. The worst meal I've had anywhere - truly!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moyra p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely setting by canalside, friendly service and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Apart from forgetting our order for a pre-dinner Kir Royale, the waiting staff were friendly and helpful. Plenty of choice on the menu with lots of fresh seafood and very pleasant to sit by canal. Obligatory accordion player came to sing but all helped the mood.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HectorRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Alla Conchiglia also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
City of Venice, Province of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Alla Conchiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing