We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good food but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Alla Conchiglia

Ristorante Alla Conchiglia
Reserve with
Ristorante Alla Conchiglia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #447 of 1,364 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $44 - $89
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Castello
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We had lunch at this restaurant & it was very pleasant to watch the world go by on the canal. I had the gnocchi in crab sauce which was very good & my husband had an average pasta marinara. The service was OK but the whole experience was overpriced.

Helpful?
Thank Crockl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    96
    50
    25
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It's ok for the view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Food ok. Price as expected in Venice. Bill added a service charge, but the waiter kept hinting that service was not included?!

Helpful?
Thank Auberginesalad
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
507 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“very pleasant, a bit over-priced but it's Venice !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Nice to sit by the canal and take in the passing gondola rides, service very friendly, nice rather than outstanding food, the additional charges on your bill never sit comfortably with us (service charge AND cover charge - what's that all about ?) but the accordion player who serenades you at your table is a nice extra (although he expects a tip too !) Overall : very good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mister J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great meal on the canal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Vegetarian options were excellent and the pasta in lobster sauce came with incredible chunks of meat. Wine available was excellent and the service was attentive. I understand the previous posters comments, this is not a place to eat if you are on a budget. It is a wonderful mini-splurge as is most of Venice. Check service was typical of all of Europe, you have to ask for it. Two entrees, one appetizer, four glasses of wine about 60€.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IRockOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“excessive service charge and overpriced food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This restaurant was recommended in Rick Steves Italy book but I would definitely NOT recommend it. First of all, if you order Pizza or a fixed price meal, you can only eat Inside. We were charged 1.50 euro per person cover charge (coperto) which was no big deal since we encountered this in a few other restaurants throughout Italy, but we were also charged a 12.8% service charge (itemized separately on the bill) which did not include any gratuity for the waiting staff (the bill said, "any gratuity is up to you", and the waiting staff confirmed that the service charge did not include their gratuity.) Foolishly, I ordered a fresh medium-sized Flounder without asking the price and was charged $65.55 euros for the fish!! (over $82.00 U.S. dollars!) The fish was fresh but was smothered in a black olive sauce that totally overwhelmed the fish. We were a party of 5 and the food for rest of the party was mediocre but expensive. I think the owner of the restaurant has taken advantage of the reviews received by some travel writers and is gouging the customer. And while this is located beside a canal, be aware that because it's a wider canal, the majority of the traffic is small motor boats roaring by every 5 minutes. I would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GregG931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Alla Conchiglia also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Alla Conchiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing