We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool place for cicchetti and aperitivo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Osteria Bancogiro

Osteria Bancogiro
Ranked #154 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $82
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: San Polo
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
438 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Cool place for cicchetti and aperitivo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We visited here for a light snack and a drink on a pub crawl dinner, in true Venetian style. We wandered around a bit before locating it in a small strip of similar places near the Grand Canal. It was a rainy evening, so we had to sit inside. The vibe was cool, the place a little busy, but we found a spot and sat down near the bar. We enjoyed some spritz (Aperol and Campari with prosecco) and cicchetti (small snacks, like Italian tapas) before heading out for another place. I wish we could have stayed for dinner, as it looked like a nice spot with nice views of the canal. We would go back again, even if we had only a few days in town.
It was listed in R*S*'s book, but it was not overrun with book-toting tourists (unlike some other spots).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    419
    106
    38
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with quaint vaulted ceilings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cosy, quaint with good food. But even better if you like Italian "tapas" and want to sit downstairs overlooking the Grand Canal with a nice glass (or two) of Prosecco, wine or beer ... whatever takes your fancy. We had mixed cichetti washed down with a nice bottle of Soave, and watched the gondolas and boats going up and down the Grand Canal. Loved it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank s1m0ne192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

After a gondola ride it started to rain. My wife and i found cover in this little piece of paradise.

Lunch consisted of three courses of the best food in we ate in Venice and top two meals in Italy.

We ate, drank excellent wine and had fantastic dessert.

I could not recommend this place highly enough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Chloe_Ware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Slope, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Although we found this restaurant a little difficult to find, as we were not staying in this area of Venice, it was well worth the few wrong turns we took to find it. The restaurant is right along the canal and has stunning views. We happened to be there at dusk and it was just beautiful. The food was delicious and the menu offered different items, not just the pizza and pasta that we were used to having. Also, we were a large party of 11 and quite a difficult group, but the waiter and waitress that served us were wonderful! Its a little bit expensive, but we find Venice as a whole to be expensive. We love Venice and plan to come back, next time we do, we will definitely come back to Bancogiro again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Early Dinner and Service with a Smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We found everyone at Osteria Bancogiro to be helpful and welcoming, especially when we arrived at 5:00 after our flight from the U.S. looking for supper. We started the evening outside on the wonderful patio watching the Grand Canal traffic, then a rain shower caused us to move inside. The staff was very organized, moving the food while we grabbed our wine glasses and resumed our meal at a prepared table upstairs. The atmosphere indoors is charming as well.

They serve wonderful cicchetti, a great variety of fish and unusual pasta - green spaghetti or squid ink pasta. Their location is walking distance from the Rialto bridge and definitely worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank maryc5249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Bancogiro also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria Bancogiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing