We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous lunch on the Fondamenta dei Mori in Cannareggio”

Osteria L'Orto dei Mori
Ranked #124 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $67
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous lunch on the Fondamenta dei Mori in Cannareggio”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Getting away from the hordes of tourists in Venice is great fun. Finding a fantastic restaurant with a view of a canal in the old Moorish district was even better. We went to Cannareggio in October 2011 in search of the Madonna dell'Orto church, where Tintoretto painted many of the frescoes. Stumbled on the Osteria l'orto dei Mori and read the testimonials in the window. It's a very small restaurant with one or two tables by the window, a tiny kitchen that turns out incredible food. Good service, helpful staff gave excellent wine recommendations.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robinboylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    285
    76
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Modern Italian cuisine”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very convenient to my hotel. Food was very very good. Good wine list, and excellent service. Creative desserts including a terrific tiramisu.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and good service”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We truly enjoyed Christmas Eve dinner at the Osteria and couldn't be more pleased. Everything was well-prepared, delicious and gourmet. The wine was excellent.

We did not find the service to be lacking. Instead, the waitress was very helpful with her recommendations and with suggestions for our two children. They entertained the kids with animal sounds and the chef was very personable with them when he came out to check on the diners. We booked by email and had no problems. None of this, of course, should impact on the quality of the food, but I felt I needed to state that the service was very good during our visit.

As we finished dinner and dessert and began to ready to leave, the servers did become a bit overwhelmed as several large parties appeared at about the same time. The restaurant space is very small, so there was a bit of a dance to get tables ready and people seated. But I did not witness any surly or rude behaviour.

Again, the food was perfect, and we thouroughly enjoyed our very memorable Christmas Eve dinner in Venice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marpogo1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Cosy Unpretentious Osteria”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I made a booking through the phone one month in advance. The person who answered was very easy to talk with. That night we arrived and had a small table near the door. The place was small and cosy, nice and simple decoration, soft lighting and good food. Decent portions, well presented, good timing between meals. The only thing is that there were only two waitresses, so they looked a bit stresssed and hardly give you a smile, which I don't necessarily care as long as the food is good, but other people might feel uncomfortable by this attitude. One of them didn't even know what a chinotto was, when this is a very popular soda produced in Italy by several companies!!!!! anyway......We had the degustation menu for euro 122,50 which is fair for what we had. If we come back to Venice I would return to this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayuelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This restaurant is a real little gem which we found during our trip to Venice in November. It's only small so you need to book ahead. The service was fantastic. The staff were so welcoming and the waitress took great pains to describe various items on the menu and help with our wine choice - her recommendation was excellent. Food was delicious and beautifully presented. Would highly recommend for a special meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fearnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria L'Orto dei Mori also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria L'Orto dei Mori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing