We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Canal Grande
Ranked #11 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I had the room with a terrace overlooking the Grand Canal. What a treat! I can only agree with all the positive comments. Giovanna on the front desk is lovely, warm and welcoming. All staff were friendly and helpful. The little balcony at the front is a great spot for breakfast or a late afternoon drink. The hotel is very close to a vaporetto stop and has a dock at the front that means you can arrive and depart for cruise ships or the airport by private water taxi.

A big drawcard for me was the fact that it is away from the throngs at St Marks and Rialto. Both areas are within easy walking or vaporetto distance. I spent more time exploring the Canareggio area. There are lovely small cafés and restaurants away from the masses.

I spent 4 nights here and would definitely stay here again if I get to Venice again.

Room Tip: Room 201 with the terrace is small but lovely. I imagine any rooms with a canal view would be good t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,450
    260
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
272
1,193
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a few days in April 2014. The welcome at reception and the subsequent level of service were excellent and our room was comfortably furnished in slightly over the top baroque style - but good fun as part of the Venice experience. One of the best aspects of the hotel is breakfast in the small balcony overlooking a Grand Canal busy with morning traffic. The hotel is located amidst a picturesque maze of narrow streets well away from the shoulder-to-shoulder madness of the more touristy sites but it's still within easy walking distance of them all. Situated just across the bridge from the main railway station, it's an easy walk if you don't have massive amounts of luggage. A tip - make sure you get good directions before you arrive. We caught a cab to the bus/cab terminus and it was quite a hike over several bridges before we finally found the hotel. We'd stay here again with pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

By far one of the best experiences of our travels. We had the only room with a terrace!!!! Amazing. Had breakfast out on the terrace watching one of the busiest small ports in Venice - gondolas, delivery boats of yogurt and cheese, laundry fun to watch. The hotel staff are amazing!!! We had help finding a local spa to help with pedicures, a local Venice hair magician - Matteo at "Hair!" who gave my husband a great haircut and shave, great room with a wonderful bathroom, great shower, Damask wall coverings, super comfy bed, and with our 7th wedding anniversary a complimetary bottle of Presecco (brought to our terrace. Wonderful! Very close to Riva de Biasio v.e. stop - walk right to the wall then turn left, then go to the square turn right and go toward the canal - they are at the end with the flags and by the gardens (not hard to find once you know) no signs from Ria de Biasio (they will also meet you at the v.e. if you need help). Can't say enough about this place - if you can splurge get the terrace room ($360 E) Amazing experience. Giovanna at the front desk is wonderful...along with the entire staff! Thank you for a wonderful stay! We'll be back!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get room #201 (the only room with a terrace looking out on the grand canal...absolutel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiakim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
81 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed 1 night in February 2014. It took a little navigation to get to this charming hotel. I had a room in the annex and hallway and room were quite narrow. Inside the room it was interesting and nicely decorated with good bathroom. If you were a big person then you might find the room in the annex rather confined. Breakfast was good but with limited choice. Hotel staff were very friendly and had recommended some good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BPK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I had a wonderful holiday in June at this lovely hotel in a fantastic room.
My daughter treated me to a 4 night stay here for my 60th birthday. Best present ever. We stayed in room 102 and had views of the canal from 5 windows including the bathroom. My greatest pleasure was sitting on our beautiful bed and watching the world go by. From the carpenter to the wedding party and birthday party. 8 Gondola's came past with a man singing beautifully for the birthday person. The staff were very helpful. Although we had to ask for a tray and kettle for hot drinks in our room. No problem the tray arrived very quickly and stayed for our holiday. Anybody staying have a lovely time.

Room Tip: Views over the Canal room 102 is excelent wonderful four poster bed in blue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BELINDAR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taipei
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The hotel is about 10 min walk from the train station ( with luggage). If you follow the hotel map instruction, is quite easy to find it.
The room is small but nicely decorated. It is in a nice and quiet area ( small square) so is a bit away from the tourist and noise. Walking distance to all areas in the main island or you can get to the water bus station in 3-5 walk ( without luggage).

Staff are helpful and provided a lot of good suggestions in food and place to go. There are not too many choices for breakfast but all good quality of food. Try if you can have the breakfast outside, you will get to see the morning busy venice with a lot of boats carrying all the food, water or even hotel beds to different places in Venice.

Internet is free and in good speed/connection. will definitely stay again if coming back to Venice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanAndIanAtTaipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is hotel is not far from Santa Lucia Station. Just cross the canal and few steps of walk will lead you there. It locates in a plazza beside the canel but it's much quieter than the station area. Our room 401 is clean and small just as most of european hotels. The staffs are super friendly and helpful. It can be easy approached by public boat No. 1. If our room has canel view I will definitely give it a 5 stars. However, I will recommend my friends to stay here when they visit Venice.

Room Tip: a room with canal view will be much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rliao1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,611 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 3,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#13 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#20 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Property: Hotel Canal Grande
Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing