We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A venice treasure”
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Canal Grande
Ranked #11 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I love venice, it's one of my favourite cities and this hotel definitely adds to the experience. The staff couldn't be faulted, genuinely friendly, helpful & attentive. The rooms were luxuriously decorated & great views. The location is perfect. We arrived by taxi boat to the hotels private dock so were able to enjoy the grand canal as we arrived. The hotel itself is a walk from the Rialto area but it's peaceful & away form the crowds. Walking the back streets is part of the venice experience anyway! Don't miss sitting on the small terrace with a drink & watching it all go by, breakfast was a treat too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenA1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 2,157 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Great experience! Staff was so friendly and helpful during our stay providing us directions, recommendations and helpful hints about Venice! Rooms were very nice and the location was beautifully situated right on the canal amazing views! Thanks to a great staff!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank VSWATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great hotel in a quiet area directly on the canal. Away from busy crowds this hotel had great views of the canal. Spacious rooms excellent shower amenities. Staff was super attentive. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The building wasn't so fancy..but once we stepped in after a trip from Milan..I was called by NAME...the staff can be rated 10/10...they immediatly explained the city like a tour guide..
The rooms are so modern you don't wanna leave...
Please catch the tasty breakfast at the balcony...priceless.. 4 tables out there but early morning are quiet...
The only negative is the location far from the main attraction..40 mins by the public water taxi...but the beauty superceeds

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Osama A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

The Hotel Canal Grande was our first stop when arriving in Italy....what a treat!! The staff was very accommodating and made sure all of our needs were satisfied. The rooms were very nice! Can't say enough about the location....How do you beat having breakfast overlooking the Grand Canal?!?! I wished we had more time to stay in Venice and had not listened to friends saying we needed only a few days in Venice....wrong!! So for our next visit to Venice, staying at the Hotel Canal Grande will be the Top of the List! Thank you again for making our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LACUBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

What is there not to love about this hotel!
The location was ideal with easy access to all the Venetian transport network but also walkable (with comfortable shoes!) to the many attractions that makes Venice so diverse.
The hotel is small, clean and very comfortable beautifully positioned next to the Grand Canal but still within a tranquil, pretty square.
However it is the hotel staff that make this hotel so special. They were all welcoming, courteous, polite and very helpful. The advice and recommendations they offered enabled us to make the most of our 4 night stay.
Thanks to the Hotel Canal Grande and it's brilliant staff we had a wonderful visit to Venice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ang117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay in Venice at the Hotel Canal Grande. We have a double prestige room with terrace, the only room with a terrace. The room was small but very clean, beautifully decorated and had an amazing canal view. The staff of the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful, always inquiring to your needs. My birthday was during our staff, the staff sang happy birthday to me and the hotel provided me with a birthday cake, candle and all. I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to visiting them again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
3,877 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,603 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $151 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing