We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canal Grande
Ranked #11 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have just returned from a five night stay at the Hotel Canal Grande, from the moment we arrived to checkout , everything was perfect.Our room/suit was beautiful and spotless,and very comfortable,and had everything we required.Every one of the staff was very helpful and friendly,it would be hard to name them as they were all brilliant,and all had good local knowledge of restaurants which we found very helpful.Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff,and all we attentive at all times.Breakfast was good and in a nice relaxed atmosphere.Have on hesitation to recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: our room was on the side above the courtyard which was nice an quiet,although not a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dorothy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,434
    257
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
269
1,181
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

just spent 5 days at Canal Grande Hotel in Venice. What can I say! from the moment we arrived until we left the staff were just fantastic, nothing was too much trouble to make sure we enjoyed our stay with them and they were so very friendly with excellent English. The room was beautiful overlooking the Grand Canal, I could have just sat there all day looking out. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I began our two week holiday in Italy in Venice at the Hotel Canal Grande. I cant say enough about what a wonderful start to our holiday this was. The staff are exceptional, especially the wonderful lady at the front desk. I only wish I could remember her name so I could thank her once again. Her assistance was exceptional, from helping me with the finding my way to personally calling the tour company to verify the time and confirm our reservation.
Cant wait to return, and highly recommend the hotel and the staff.
Molte Grazie

Room Tip: Our room was not one the ones on the canal and it was great. Safe and secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Downundernomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel with a typically venetian decor was very very cozy. The location was very good, near to the train station and local restaurants. The staff was kind and helpful all the time. Breakfast was wonderful and our room was beautiful and comfortable. Value for money! We loved!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rafaela_Bernartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, Kent, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We thought from previous reviews on Tripadvisor that the hotel would be good, and we were right! Excellent position beside the canal and five minutes walk from the railway station. There's a vaporetto stop a couple of minutes away.

The room that we had (Carlo Goldoni) was small and beautifully furnished, but everything was there and what 'made' the hotel was the friendliness of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The buffet breakfasts were excellent, and if you were lucky, you could have it on the terrace in the sunshine, watching the hustle and bustle on the canal.

If you like a small, friendly, well-positioned hotel, this is the place to stay in Venice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJGJAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

it was a return visit to canal grande for my husbands 65th birthday and our friends celebrated their ruby wedding.What a wonderful hotel with first class staff..Giovana welcomed us and offered an upgrade. The restaurant staff were so attentive,remembering our preferences for breakast. We came back one day to find in our room chocolate cake for my husband and complementary bottle of prosecco.Our friends were thrilled by the service received. What a memorable trip..Venice in all its splendour and Canal Grande,the ONLY place to stay. We look forward to a third stay

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam186466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I am a travel agent and hence have the pick of the bunch of hotels on offer and wow did I pick the best at the canal grande
From the moment you arrive the lovely staff are there to make your stay memorable
The position is fantastic the decor very tasteful with original murano glass and Venetian furniture you actually feel you are staying in your own palazzo which is the unique factor
The rooms are beautiful especially the canal view suites which are to die for!! These can accommodate a family also
The breakfast was yummy with an array of goodies and as I am gluten free they presented me with a lovely assortments of extras which was a treat
The terrace overlooking the grande canal was so special watching the hustle bustle of everyday life on the canal and where the water taxi delivers you to and a great place to have breakfast or aperitifs I can recommend their delicious local wines
Venice is a magical city and hotel canal grande makes it so
There is so much to see and do that you feel you have to return
So put it in your to do one day list but don't leave it to the last minute or they will be booked up!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christinenewtonabbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,569 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 3,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Polo
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#20 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#12 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Property: Hotel Canal Grande
Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing