We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Canal Grande
Ranked #11 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Clean Venetian style hotel. Helpful staff. We unexpectedly had to stay one more night and the same price was offered to us! I will definitely come back to Venice and stay here again. I liked the fact it was near the waterbus but tucked away from the busy tourist areas

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie2070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,689
    297
    36
    6
    1
See reviews for
341
1,371
35
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife and I had the opportunity to stay at the Hotel Canal Grande in July. We had the great fortune to have the Antonio Canova room which has a private terrace with a view of the canal.
It was spectacular! The service from everyone was A+ and the room was beautiful. If we are ever in Venice we will definitely stay at the Hotel Canal Grande again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdopks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This place was so helpful, clean and great service. Sitting outside at 10 pm at night drinking wine and beer with other Americans and watching the boats go by, it doesn't get any better than that. We actually came in late and while giving away our room, worked it out that we got another room with them and they were so apologetic about it, but it wasn't their fault. They made it right!
Would definitely stay there again and recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Booked for a special birthday weekend and special is what the Canal Grande certainly is! Fantastic location, friendly and attentive staff who couldn't do enough for you and a beautiful room! Book the Santa Lucia suite for a wow factor, 3 levels with top one being your own private roof terrace, simply superb!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Located right off Grand Canal. You take a water taxi from the airport, right to front door of hotel. Pretty scenic and awesome. All the staff were super friendly and helpful. Rooms are located adjacent to lobby, which is a little weird, but the rooms were nice. Old style furniture and dressings. Definitely was a little walk away from the busier parts of the island, but it was cool because it made you wander thru the city. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funkdoctor8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We arrived after a long walk with our luggage. The front desk clerk was helping other guests check-in in perfect German. We were given chairs to wait and offered a cold glass of water while we waited for the other guests to be checked in. We were served in perfect English (and French as well).

We chose this hotel because of it's authentic Venetian decor and we weren't disappointed. The room was wonderfully decorated with upholstered walls. The housekeeping left our room perfectly spotless. The Internet wifi was good. We found the room to be a bit hot (being fall, the heating was already on) and we were told by the front desk that it is centrally controlled and we needed to ask them to lower the room temperature.

We got wonderful help finding a place to have dinner. Instructions on how to get to the Jewish Ghetto and even some of the more unusual places to see in Venice from them. It was everything that we wanted from a stay in Venice. Especially good for those who are less independent than we are.

The hotel is directly on the canal, but the pedestrian walkway isn't, at this point. If you want a room with a view, make sure you choose one with a view, otherwise you will have a view of an interior courtyard with no water view whatsoever.

As for breakfast, a typical Italian breakfast buffet is served with espresso, macchiato, and cappuccino, of course. But they did have filtered coffee for those who wanted it. The toaster... was the weirdest toaster I have ever seen. Eggs and other hot items were available at extra charge for those who wanted them.

Room Tip: Be aware that some rooms are located in a secondary building that is about 3 or 4 doors away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAdviceCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This was a absolutely lovely hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was beautiful.

We stayed in the Canova room which is a "GRAN CANAL PRESTIGE DOUBLE ROOM". This room is not facing the canal but faces the square beside the hotel. However the windows still gave a very nice view of the canal. When we were shown the room we were disappointed that it did not face the canal and that it was so small. However, this is the only room with a patio (approx 10x8 feet) so the space you give up indoors you get as an outdoor space. Turned out that this was really nice and we were grateful we kept the room. Indoor-space wise, it is a very small room (not much larger than the bed) so there was no place to set our suitcases. We kept having to put them on the bed to get into them. That said, we would stay in this room again. And (my wife says I must put this in) the shower was FABULOUS! (no tub) The shower had rainshower, body spray and hand held and you could turn on all three at the same time. It was very nice.

Location: So this hotel is away from most of the attractions in Venice. It is basically at the opposite end of Venice from St. Marks. It is about a 15 minute walk to the Realto bridge and about 30 minutes to St. Marks. Now that is of course if you don't get lost. It is however just a bridge across from a main shopping / restaurant street that was a lot of fun. For us this location was great because we did not spend a lot of time in the "tourist" areas (of course the whole place is "tourist" but you know what I mean). However, for folks mainly interested in being able to get to St. Marks, the Realto or La Accademia quickly and easily this might not be the best location.

So another word about the staff. They were really great. We showed up at 9am tired from our red-eye flight. They sat us down on the outdoor balcony at water level and plied us with food and coffee. They also had our room ready around 10 and allowed us to check in and make ourselves human again. Service at breakfast each day was friendly and fast (can get as many espressos as you could desired (skip the american coffee and do as the locals do)). The front desk staff was also friendly and helpful with directions and suggestions.

All in all, we would totally stay here again and would request the Canova room again.

Room Tip: We staying in the Canova room which was the smallest but the only one with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,904 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,675 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Hotel L'Orologio
#21 of 385 in Venice
709 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Property: Hotel Canal Grande
Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing