We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canova room was small but the balcony / patio was worth it.”
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Canal Grande
Ranked #11 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This was a absolutely lovely hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was beautiful.

We stayed in the Canova room which is a "GRAN CANAL PRESTIGE DOUBLE ROOM". This room is not facing the canal but faces the square beside the hotel. However the windows still gave a very nice view of the canal. When we were shown the room we were disappointed that it did not face the canal and that it was so small. However, this is the only room with a patio (approx 10x8 feet) so the space you give up indoors you get as an outdoor space. Turned out that this was really nice and we were grateful we kept the room. Indoor-space wise, it is a very small room (not much larger than the bed) so there was no place to set our suitcases. We kept having to put them on the bed to get into them. That said, we would stay in this room again. And (my wife says I must put this in) the shower was FABULOUS! (no tub) The shower had rainshower, body spray and hand held and you could turn on all three at the same time. It was very nice.

Location: So this hotel is away from most of the attractions in Venice. It is basically at the opposite end of Venice from St. Marks. It is about a 15 minute walk to the Realto bridge and about 30 minutes to St. Marks. Now that is of course if you don't get lost. It is however just a bridge across from a main shopping / restaurant street that was a lot of fun. For us this location was great because we did not spend a lot of time in the "tourist" areas (of course the whole place is "tourist" but you know what I mean). However, for folks mainly interested in being able to get to St. Marks, the Realto or La Accademia quickly and easily this might not be the best location.

So another word about the staff. They were really great. We showed up at 9am tired from our red-eye flight. They sat us down on the outdoor balcony at water level and plied us with food and coffee. They also had our room ready around 10 and allowed us to check in and make ourselves human again. Service at breakfast each day was friendly and fast (can get as many espressos as you could desired (skip the american coffee and do as the locals do)). The front desk staff was also friendly and helpful with directions and suggestions.

All in all, we would totally stay here again and would request the Canova room again.

Room Tip: We staying in the Canova room which was the smallest but the only one with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dancerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

946 - 952 of 2,131 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

I visited Venice with my boyfriend for our anniversary. There are so many hotels to choose from but luckily we chose the Canal Grande.

We booked a special rate and was given a Prestige room in the main building. I was worried the fancy decor would be shabby but actually it was beautiful and seemed newly decorated. The decor reminds me of the Ritz and it is perfectly in keeping with the theme of the hotel. The TV is hidden in the mirror which is quite cool! The room and bathroom were on the small side but we did pay a cheaper rate, and we were not in the room very much. Our room was kept immaculately clean throughout our stay and was perfectly comfortable (you get all the amenities such as slippers, toilettries, bathrobe, hairdryer etc).

The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to the Rialto Bridge and this is no chore as the streets of Venice are so beautiful. There is plenty to see on the journey in addition to the main sites.

The service at the hotel is exceptional. The staff are very personable and are happy to discuss recommendations with you at length. Our first lunch was at Padova (I think that's the name) which is just across the bridge from the hotel and the food was excellent - try the crab pasta with peppercorns.
The only restaurant recommended by the hotel that I did not enjoy at all was the Bistro de Venise. A horribly overpriced restaurant where they completely mess around with the food i.e. try to make it avant garde. One of the pasta dishes had curry powder in it which was disgusting and didn't work at all. The service was great but this really is a restaurant that caters for tourists who don't know anything about Italian food (we paid £200 for the privilege).

Back to the hotel, the breakfast was very nice. They have a large selection of meats, cheeses, pastries, cereals, yoghurts, fruit and toast. There is the option to have hot food (i.e. omelettes, sausages) for extra money but this isn't really necessary as there is plenty to choose from to fill you up before exploring the streets of Venice.

TIP: 1. Have a drink on the balcony overlooking the river. Really romantic and the bar is very reasonably priced.
2. Don't use the hotel trip to visit Murano. The salesmen follow you the whole way round the factory and I found this intimidating and uncomfortable. The only benefit of this trip was getting the private water taxi to the factory. Apart from this, you don't get to see Murano and are made to feel guilty by not purchasing a £16,000 glass ornament.

I really would recommend this hotel for people who cannot afford the top luxury hotels but who still want a more than comfortable stay, with a personal service and a hotel which is in a quiet (but not too distant) location.

We will 100% be back to the Hotel Canal Grande and would recommend to others.

PS: If you'd like anymore restaurant recommendations please let me know!

Room Tip: We would opt for a room overlooking the canal next time as our room didn't really have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kas25Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is one of the nicest hotels I have every stayed in. Small, stylish and the staff so very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in a quiet square right next to the Grand Canal. It has about 20 or so rooms, each named after a composer. The rooms are stylish, immaculately decorated to a very high standard. We had a junior suite with bedroom complete with four poster, a sitting room and two bath/shower rooms. The room overlooked a small courtyard so was quit. We were offered a room overlooking the Grand Canal for a supplement but declined because we only stayed one night and did not intend to sit too lonmg in our room. One minor negative comment was the footfall noise from the room above which was acceptable but if you are a very light sleeper you may want to consider asking for a room on the top floor. I cannot overemphasise how friendly and helpful the staff were. Upon arrival they explained all of the hotel details and helped us get underway touring Venice. They were more than happy to stow our luggage until our room was ready and afterw e checked out prior to departure to the airport. The communal rooms were cosy with a veranda directly on the GC. About a ten minute walk from the Train Station or 20 from the Bus station. All very doable. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor. The Grand Canal is very very busy at all times so a room overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briankirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We visited Venice for a special birthday celebration & chose the Canal Grande following quite a bit of research. The hotel impressed even before we arrived by assisting with selection & pre-booking of restaurants. Their suggestions, especially the Antica Besseta (reviewed elsewhere) were spot on. Both Anka & Chiara on reception were brilliant. The hotel didn't disappoint either. Our room (Doge) overlooked the canal & was beautifully appointed. Breakfast was good & you shouldn't miss the opportunity to take it outside on the wooden terrace - even with your coats on as we did!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Love this hotel. It was a bit tricky to look for the hotel but the hotel staff gave very good directions when we called them. It is conveniently located not far from the San Marco Garage where we parked our car, so we didn't have to take the water taxi or the water bus to go to the hotel it was only a 15mins walk to the hotel from the garage. We had the Vivaldi room and it was gorgeous. It was not overlooking the canal but the square which was quite and airy. the breakfast room was facing the rands canal and the breakfast selection was quite good. The complimentary trip to Murano was a nice addition.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanhamimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We arrived at this hotel and was greeted with our names before we had chance to say anything,the staff were fantastic so warm and welcoming and very helpful with what to do and not to do in Venice.We must return to this Hotel soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilkosteph28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We arrived in Italy and got a private speed boat from the airport to the door of the Hotel Grande Canal, it felt like we were in a James bond movie. Great way to kick off our honeymoon! When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by a friendly member of staff who took our suitcase. we were taken to the hotel reception and given tips and advice on getting round venice, including the very important map which without we would have been wondering around in circles. The room was quite small but perfectly comfortable and all we needed as we were only in there to sleep, as the days sight seeing were long. The breakfast was good, with a good choice. Definitely recommend this small but friendly hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 385 in Venice
3,841 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,591 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $159 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Splitty, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing