We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We are simply Delighted !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canal Grande
Ranked #11 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We are simply Delighted !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully restored with magnificent views over the grand canal with period furniture ,Beds are the only issue they seem very hard and the pillows quite flat something that needs attention however the staff are very professional I can only recommend highly .

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gavin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,431
    256
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
268
1,178
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Arrived by water taxi after a long flight. Staff was wonderful helping us find medical services for my wife who needed very specific anti-rejection medication due to her kidney transplant, the meds that she brought over were not in our carryon. The staff was wonderful, more like family!! They helped us find a pharmacist and a doctor that helped us get the medication that my wife needed to survive. They saved her and our 25th anniversary vacation. The food, breakfasts, were very good, the room gorgeous, and the views unforgettable. I would definitely come here again. We truly miss our new family members Gianna and Jon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PwrBrkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just returned from our trip to Venice and our stay at the Hotel Grande Canal. We were welcomed by Gianni at reception who was expecting us - having already answered some of our questions by email before arrival. Gianni could not have been more helpful telling us about the local area, and marking off places of interest on a map.
We were a little disappointed that we had booked two rooms and one of these ended up being in the annex - however as the hotel is quite small and both rooms were decorated and maintained to an excellent standard it did not cause a problem. Lovely to stay in a room decorated in the Venetian style.
Breakfast was plentiful and staff extremely happy to do anything to assist us and ensure we were happy. There was a small balcony onto the canal and we did manage to eat out here on one of our mornings.
We also made use of the free water taxi arranged by the hotel to visit the island of Murano and the glass factory - prices were way out of our league but worth the visit to see how the items are made and the variety available.
All in all we loved Venice and for us the hotel made our trip even more special.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellB0770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulau Ubin, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel is on a relatively small scale but I give my sincere compliments to the two female owners! They were just simply lovely and made our arrival at the hotel so welcoming.

Hotel Antiche Figure is directly opposite the train station. Cross the bridge and you will reach it. However, if you are carrying many huge luggage, I suggest you engage a porter or two to help with the heavy bags. Because there is no way you can take a boat across the canal unlike some other hotels. My hubby and I were not aware of the porter service upon our arrival and had to carry our 3 heavy samsonites up and down the stairs ourselves. At 5 to 10 Euro for 3 pieces of luggage should be negiotiable.

We booked a superior room prior to our trip and upgraded to a deluxe room when one of the owners showed us the 2 rooms. I loved the deluxe room and the toilet was really impressive! It was weird, there was a fungus growing right under the window ledge beside the bath tub. Despite this, I thought the room was just fabulous! The room overlooks the grand canal and the furnishing in the room and toilet were very nice. Luxury with a cosy feel.

Another thing which I loved a lot was their shower gel and body lotion. It has a tinge of orange-flavoured aroma and the lotion feels really good after application. I'm never a fan of using body lotion but this one is just great! I still have the bottle of body lotion in my bag and have been using it whenever my skin feels dry when travelling. I wanted to ask for a bottle or two more to bring back home but I didn't. I really regretted not to.

The breakfast was really simple (to me) and great for people who love bread and pastry. I'm not a fan of bread but I have to admit that their danish pastry was very tasty! And the owner made a great cup of cappuncino!

I don't like walking. Though the distance between St. Marco square and this hotel may stretch to about 20 - 30 min, I didn't find the walking part taxing. I would definitely come back to this hotel if I were to visit Venice again!

Room Tip: The blue deluxe rooms with grand canal view are simply beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolphin358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We felt the hotel offered a great location especially if arriving by bus/train as either are an easy 10/5 minute walk even with luggage. Although the room was nothing special it was of adequate size and clean (very dark with no view), but I imagine that helps maintain lower temperatures in the summer. Beds were typically European (twins, considered queen/king). Their terrace was excellent for a drink while sitting gazing over the Grand Canal. The included breakfast was perfect for our needs (toast, coffee, meats, cheeses, fruit, croissants, juices, yogurt, etc...and you could order eggs additionally if needed). We ate dinner at two recommendations from the Hotel while the first was very good the second was lacking service but came with a beautiful view of the Canal. Our tip to all would be use of the Vaporetto Del Arte boat tour/water taxi - no crowds and you can purchase hop on/off anytime for different periods of time; both the #1 & #2 were always packed (even on a 10p trip from the hotel to the Rialto Bridge).

Room Tip: Although we did not have a room on the Canal our room would be far more quiet and cooler during busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
130 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We arrived at the hotel's own pier by water taxi, which was a fun splurge I recommend. We were immediately met and assisted with our bags. At check-in they noted we'd reserved a canal-view room and gave us a choice of retaining that or taking a smaller room that had a terrace. After looking at both rooms we opted for the terrace room - the only one at the hotel. We loved that terrace and the compromise on room size was well worth it. The view was of a small square and the Grand Canal. When we'd had enough of the heat & crowds of the city we retreated to the terrace and watched everything from our comfortable perch.
The breakfast provided was good, and included made-to-order latte, espresso, etc. staff recommendations for dinner were very good. At the end of our stay they inquired if we could recommend any improvements! I've never been asked that before.
Although 1 trip to Venice was enough for me I highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Ask for the terrace room - there's only one. The bathroom is tiny but the private terrace is wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jawms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,566 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 3,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Polo
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#17 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#12 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Property: Hotel Canal Grande
Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing