We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“After the second trip, I still think this is the best hotel in Venice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Canal Grande
Ranked #11 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“After the second trip, I still think this is the best hotel in Venice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Hotel Canal Grande and I must say it is still head and shoulders over any hotel we have stayed in Italy. When we arrived, I had reserved the room I thought I wanted and when we seemed dissapointed, the hotel staff immediately offered us upgrade options. We went ahead and upgraded to a canal view room and could not have been happier. We are already talking about going back!

Room Tip: The canal view rooms are worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasTriad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,452
    260
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
273
1,194
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in March. Hotel is located right on the grand canal about 45 mins walk to St Marks Square. The room we stayed in was in a newly renovated house 3 doors down from the hotel. The room was beautifuly decorated, spacious and spotlessly clean. The staff at breakfast and on reception were extremely helpful and nice. The breakfast was a cold buffet and had everything you could ask for. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone taking a trip to Venice.

Room Tip: We didn't opt for a canal view but the room was beautiful and we got the view at breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annaoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This quaint hotel was perfect for our second leg of our Italian honeymoon. The location is really close to the train terminal and you have a pleasant view of the church across the water. We stayed in the Grande Doge room and it is a romantic room with lots of space! The front desk service was very friendly and helpful. My ratings of the Hotel Canal Grande are all 5 stars!

Room Tip: When getting lost close to this hotel, go across the river (train terminal side) and wander around t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joel i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Struggled to find it from the bus station but asked in a shop and another hotel (which was named grand canal) but got there in the end...glad it weren't dark! So make sure you got your touch and map handy to find it!

But once arrived...amazed! Very friendly hotel reception, that speak good English and told us that we had a upgrade for the first night to a canal view, but had to move us for our next 2 nights to a junior suite...was this ok?! COURSE!!

Suite was stunning, with 2 bathrooms, lounge area, 2 TV's including 1 in a built in mirror, and a 4 poster canapé bed!

Very quiet location, but close to everything including the grand canal and about 20 minute walk to San Marco

Breakfast was continental, what you expect from a Venice hotel and was nice!

Would defiantly recommend this hotel to friends, well worth it's 4 star reputation

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

There was nothing particularly wrong with this hotel.
However I was disappointed to be housed in a separate building, not even really on the water.
The window from our room faced indoors into a little concrete galley so there was minimal natural light and this made the room feel a bit depressing.
Also the room had a sloping ceiling and an attic feeling so felt quite tiny.
Apart from this the service was great, location good and breakfast reasonable.
We paid a very reasonable price so perhaps this was why we were in the separate building but had I known prior I would have not booked a stay in this room. Perhaps it is apparent on the website but I understood it to be on the canal, not around the corner in a separate building.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aussietraveller1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AleForna, Direttore at Hotel Canal Grande, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
we checked your comment and about room description, you are right,
we did not mention in our website that we have 2 buildings
and we will change our Prestige Room description asap.

But it is very clear that we do have some rooms overlooking the Grand Canal / S. Simeone Square our Grand Canal Prestige Rooms
and
some side rooms overlooking either a little street or with a internal view,
our Prestige Rooms.
They have a different view but of course a different rate.

It is even true that we mentioned that we have 2 buildings into some tripadvisor Owner Responses specifying that :
Our Prestige Rooms (street side view) are either in the main building or in a little building completely restored only 19 metres far from the main one.
Prestige rooms, there, are larger and , inside these Prestige Rooms as a plus, you have a complimentary Coffee and tea maker and bathrobes.
They are beautiful Venetian Style rooms with all comforts.

Then,
I have a 2 questions :

Did you ask at the Reception to change your room ???
Our Reception is open 24 hours and if you are not happy with the assigned room
we are always ready to do our best in order to change you the room.

Do our Prestige rooms (even if they are in a different building) deserve
a 1 (tripadvisor vote) as a quality vote ??

Our Prestige rooms are all furnished in 17th century Venetian Style
and inside they have an hand made painting that gives the name to the room.
Wifi connection, satellite TV, coffee and tea maker, bathrobes, wooden floors .......

We really hope that the vote you gave to our room was not the real vote we deserve
and we will be very pleased to welcome you again in our hotel.

Thank you for your kindness,
we wish you all the best!!

Thank you,
best regards,
Alessandro Fornasier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Ideally I wouldn't just want to repeat what has already been mentioned on Tripadvisor by other guests, but rather provide another insight into staying at the Hotel Canal Grande in February. That said I have to mention that the service received from start to finish was second to none, the room finish of an extremely high standard and the quality of the breakfasts outstanding, the location far enough away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to take a relaxing stroll and reach St Marks Square in around 40 minutes (allowing for browsing time along the way!).

Now to the practicalities, we stayed in the Antonio Canova room, a beautiful litttle room with it's own private terrace overlooking the Grand Canal. Be warned the room is small but perfectly formed! You may struggle to find enough room for your clothes and suitcases if staying for more than a few nights. We had a five night stay and took two cases, one of which we had to store in the wardrobe. The bathroom consisted of a power shower to die for, but again on the small size with no bath. All fixtures and fittings in the room and the bathroom were of the highest standard. Staying in February we were not able to take full advantage of our private terrace but could picture this as being a perfect place for sundowners when the weather improves, watching the sun set over the Grand Canal.

Which brings me on to the weather, it was freezing cold in the night (our stay at end of February), need to pack a jumper, fleece and jacket for your evenings walks (with hat and gloves as a back up!)

Getting about - we found it easy to get around the island on foot, but for the less able bodied there are Vaparetto stops all over the island.

We travelled from the airport to the hotel in a private water taxi organised by the hotel, a little bit of indulgence at 125 euros but always wanted to see my name on a placard in an airport!, and when in Venice.....!!

If your budget does not stretch to this then there is a regular bus service from the airport to the bus station in Venice which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel at a cost of 6 euros per person.

There are plenty of places to eat and drink, none which I would regard as cheap. However steer clear from dining in St Marks Square/Rialto Bridge apart from the odd indulgence to avoid the extortionate prices!

Hotel recommended a good gondolier not too far from the hotel and expect to pay 80 euros for a 40 minutes ride.

I did find some people in Venice to be a litle abrupt, but the same can not be said of the staff in the hotel who truly deserve the Trip Advisor accollades they have received.

The hotel is looking a little tired from the outside, will probably have a fresh lick of paint before high season no doubt, but the quality, cleanliness and service inside could not be faulted.

Would definitely recommend the Hotel Canal Grande and would stay again tomorrow.

Room Tip: Always choose Grand Canal view if your budget allows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cardiffgooner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stunning hotel, really would recommend to anyone. Very romantic. Food was also amazing and reasonably priced. Great location, walking distance to all attractions, and on the canal of course which is a plus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phillip_stjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,614 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 3,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#13 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,461 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#20 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Property: Hotel Canal Grande
Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing