We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and close to a vaporettostop”
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Canal Grande
Ranked #10 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our room was not ready yet, since we arrived real early. Our lugage was kept safe while we were visiting Venice. We even got an upgrade to the first floor, a large room with canal view.
As a single mom with two young children, the staff was very helpfull and friendly. But all Italiaans love children don 't they :-)
The receptionist advised us the vaporetto, there is a stop right at the hotel, so you don't have to carry your bags over all those bridges.
The beds were very comfortable and the decoration was superb! Try to find the television, ... It was the mirror.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaatverstraete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,177 - 1,183 of 2,128 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Wonderful hotel, great , attentive, friendly staff and fantastic location . Second time at this hotel and if anything has got better since our first visit , would highly recommend. Close to shops, restaurants, train and bus station.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank perth_magpie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel was perfect in every way. on arrival, we was warmly welcomed by the reception staff and the hotel kindly upgraded our room free of charge because it was my wifes birthday. all the staff at the canal grande hotel were lovely, kind and very helpful. we was very impressed with the standard of our room. it was beautiful, unique, vintage and modern all at the same time. our room had a terrace that looked out over the canal with a view of the bridge which was stunning. breakfast was also lovely with lots of choice. The location of this hotel is spot on. 25minutes walk to st marks square, 10 minutes to the bus station, plenty of excellent restaurants close by. the only problem we had was that we had to leave. i would recommend this hotel to anyone and i would go back in a heart beat. i can see why this hotel was won 'best hotel' awards.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel does really deserve its award traveller's choice!!

We had a room overlooking the canal and I was up everyday at 7 enchanted by the boats that deliver the laundry, salad, etc. to the hotel that is across the canal.

You can live Venice out of the window. We will definitely come back with the kids.

And Giovanna, at the front desk, is a very nice person who has the intention: to make you feel not only as a guest, but a bit more like a friend. And you do feel like a friend when you leave!! And want to come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal..and wake up early to see the woking boats!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quieroaguadecoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for four nights to celebrate my 30th Birthday and we have nothing but praise for this wonderful hotel! Only a ten minute walk from the bus station, the hotel is in a great location. The staff at the hotel gave us a fabulous welcome and we instantly knew we had made the right choice. The receptionist gave us a map of the area and circled places of interest. Our room was stunning- spotless, very romantic and cosy. Breakfast was delicious- continental but plenty of choice. The hotel was a short walk away from the main tourist area but we liked this as it gave us chance to explore the city and discover the traditional Venice way of life. They also have a nice little bar where the drinks are very reasonably priced. Overall, I cannot fault the hotel and the wonderful staff and we will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stunning hotel, really would recommend to anyone. Very romantic. Food was also amazing and reasonably priced. Great location, walking distance to all attractions, and on the canal of course which is a plus.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennaWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Beautiful rooms & bathrooms, delightful small dining room foyer and deck on Grand Canal, excellent & attentive service, fantastic location on grand canal but away from maddening crowds, quiet & charming; walk through interesting lanes and lovely shopping & eating surprises over the Rialto, into the shopping district and on to St. Marcus square in 20 mins. Definitely one of our most enjoyed hotel stays. Take their free taxi trip to Murano Island it's so interesting and good fun. When leaving give the water taxi a miss at EU200 to airport drop off which leaves still a long walk to your terminal, instead the hotel will arrange a porter for around EU20, to take you in 15 mins to bus depot for a comfortable very inexpensive bus ride to drop you outside your terminal, all up it cost the two of us less than EU40. We paid about $40 extra to get a view over Grand Canal & it was worth it, super. I think only breakfast is available but area has fantastic eating choices.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 385 in Venice
3,838 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,443 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,590 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $159 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Splitty, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing