We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Enchanting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Canal Grande
Ranked #11 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Enchanting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel does really deserve its award traveller's choice!!

We had a room overlooking the canal and I was up everyday at 7 enchanted by the boats that deliver the laundry, salad, etc. to the hotel that is across the canal.

You can live Venice out of the window. We will definitely come back with the kids.

And Giovanna, at the front desk, is a very nice person who has the intention: to make you feel not only as a guest, but a bit more like a friend. And you do feel like a friend when you leave!! And want to come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal..and wake up early to see the woking boats!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quieroaguadecoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,502
    271
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
280
1,239
31
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for four nights to celebrate my 30th Birthday and we have nothing but praise for this wonderful hotel! Only a ten minute walk from the bus station, the hotel is in a great location. The staff at the hotel gave us a fabulous welcome and we instantly knew we had made the right choice. The receptionist gave us a map of the area and circled places of interest. Our room was stunning- spotless, very romantic and cosy. Breakfast was delicious- continental but plenty of choice. The hotel was a short walk away from the main tourist area but we liked this as it gave us chance to explore the city and discover the traditional Venice way of life. They also have a nice little bar where the drinks are very reasonably priced. Overall, I cannot fault the hotel and the wonderful staff and we will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stunning hotel, really would recommend to anyone. Very romantic. Food was also amazing and reasonably priced. Great location, walking distance to all attractions, and on the canal of course which is a plus.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennaWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Beautiful rooms & bathrooms, delightful small dining room foyer and deck on Grand Canal, excellent & attentive service, fantastic location on grand canal but away from maddening crowds, quiet & charming; walk through interesting lanes and lovely shopping & eating surprises over the Rialto, into the shopping district and on to St. Marcus square in 20 mins. Definitely one of our most enjoyed hotel stays. Take their free taxi trip to Murano Island it's so interesting and good fun. When leaving give the water taxi a miss at EU200 to airport drop off which leaves still a long walk to your terminal, instead the hotel will arrange a porter for around EU20, to take you in 15 mins to bus depot for a comfortable very inexpensive bus ride to drop you outside your terminal, all up it cost the two of us less than EU40. We paid about $40 extra to get a view over Grand Canal & it was worth it, super. I think only breakfast is available but area has fantastic eating choices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel was in a good location within walking distance to basically everything. The staff was the best part of the hotel, they were warm and very helpful. The rooms had a Venetian (canopy bed/drapey) decor and were quiet at night. The downside to our room was that it smelled like campfire the entire time we were there. There is a small bar in the lobby of the hotel, which allowed my husband and I to meet other couples traveling in Venice.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank SanDieg0Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We enjoyed staying here -- we were looking for a great boutique hotel, good location, at a price point we could live with. This place fits the bill -- we liked the location as it's a bit off the beaten path and the crowds, but still on the Canal. And near the train station. It's a short, but nice walk to touristy areas. The staff is wonderful -- really helpful and thoughtful. The rooms are small which was a small problem with our bags, we had three or more, so never really unpacked and had to step over luggage. But the hotel was quiet and we slept great. I'd stay again, if luggage weren't part of the equation next time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alice a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Canal Grande is an excellent hotel and I am glad my wife and I decided to stay here for our honeymoon trip to Italy. It is a small cozy hotel located right opposite the Santa Lucia railway station and has a Vaporetto stop right next door.
The hotel is well set up with spacious rooms which are well decorated. Rooms do not have room numbers but have a name with each room having a painting as per the name. The bed was big and comfortable, bathroom was big and with all amenities, cleanliness left nothing to be desired, room service and food was great and the hotel provided you with utmost privacy.
Breakfast is served on the ground floor right next to the canal. Although the spread is limited but the food is great. The staff goes out of the way to help you and to make you feel at home. This was my 2nd trip to Venice and I can tell you how much difference a good hotel makes to your trip to the city. Loved it. Want to go back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank guamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,300 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#18 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#24 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Property: Hotel Canal Grande
Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing