We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Canal Grande
Ranked #11 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the train station, across the bridge and to the left. The staff is extremely friendly and kind. The hotel is quite regal. The big highlights are the showers and the little deck right on the canal that you can have a drink to have breakfast on. I personally find Venice to be very touristy and a bit overwhelming due to cramped streets and too many people. (This is coming from a New Yorker)

Hotel Canal Grande is in a quite pocket and truly an oasis in this somewhat overrun city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nycgottago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,450
    260
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
272
1,193
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We recently spent one night here on November 3rd-4th. Such a convenient hotel from the train station. The hotel is spotless and staff is superb. Giovanna, at the front desk was wonderful!! She was extremely helpful and answered any questions. Our room was ready early. We had a junior suite on the second floor. A little small, but great bathroom and all decorated beautifully. Even though The Canal Grande is a little further from main tourist attractions, we walked everywhere. That was the best part. You can enjoy the "maze like" streets in such a wonderful environment and then return to a hotel that is not in such a crowded area. Venice is so unique and interesting. Walking the city just makes it more fascinating. The breakfasts were adequate at Canal Grande. I would very highly recommend this hotel to anyone. I just wish we had stayed longer. I hope to be back someday!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ct03traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Good location near train station and bus stops "piazza republica", not located in the very heart of Venice. Just a nice walk around those narrow alleys that are so bizantine they contribute to create the labyrinth of pedestrian streets well representative of Venice! Excellent attention from the staff that is very wellcoming, very good service and well appointed rooms with quality details and styled with italian sumptuous flavor. The hotel itself is kind of small, so it remains very private for a small group of guest. That might be a litlle inconvinient at breakfast time when the bar gets a little to busy and the service can be slow. Nevertheless I recomend this option without hesitations! Try to get a room overlooking Canal Grande, the main canal of Venice, that's charming.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darnok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 6 days from 1st November and loved it!!!We were in the Salute apartment which is in the annexe and it was a very comfortable room,spotlessly clean and nicely decorated.All the usual facilities like TV,mini bar,kettle etc..The only criticism about the room was that there was very little natural light or view from windows due to its close proximity to the adjacent building.The staff were excellent,particularly Gianni.The continental breakfast was excellent with a good choice of cereals,fruit juices,cold meats and pastries.We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for any visitors to Venice.It really is a little gem.

Room Tip: For natural light and a good view,request a canal view room or front annexe room facing the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I placed the reservation direct at the hotel for two nights (22 and 23/10/2012) for a Prestige Double Room for 627 € and we asked to have "a non smoking room, quiet with two beds". They placed us in a small house nearby the hotel on the frist floor. The room was not only very small but the two beds were together and the closet was occupied with drawers+ safe and a refrigerator, so that you could only hang up short clothes. In the room was no a coat hook. After the first night we complain about the noise coming from inside the house.The door of the room was so thin, that when other guests walk in the staircase, you thing they walk in our room! In the second night the noise was even worst and we could sleep only after 3 AM! The manager make us the total price reduction of 40 €!

Room Tip: Ask to have a room in the higher floors on the side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lonina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night only in a Junior Suite for four people and the welcome and service were superb. Beautiful decor, excellent breakfast and additional helpful ticket booking for a musical show on the evening. Included in the price was a visit to a glass factory and show room on the island of Murano by water taxi with no pressure to buy.
Would love to go back in warmer weather and for longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueBlakemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We cancelled our reservation at the Hotel Danieli to experience a smaller hotel in a quieter area of Venice ... THANK GOODNESS we did! The staff at the Hotel CG is perfection. They welcomed us warmly and quickly escorted us to our rooms. They recommended delightful restaurants and were extremely well qualified to offer advice on the best attractions to visit. After visiting St. Mark's Square and seeing the large, bustling crowds, we were thrilled to return to our little jewel of a hotel away from the hubbub. We stayed in Pietro Longhi ... a room overlooking the Grand Canal ... the views from all five windows were lovely and the price of the room was a bargain compared to Hotel D. The hotel is immaculately clean and well-appointed with lovely furnishings and decor. We walked everywhere and it was an easy trek to the Rialto Bridge and on to St. Mark's Square. We also took the Vaparetto from the train station. This is the thing to do if you don't want to drag your luggage over a steep bridge. You get off the Vaparetto at the very first stop after getting on and the hotel gives easy walking directions from the stop to the hotel. Don't hesitate to choose Hotel GC. It's perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JRO487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,609 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 3,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#13 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#20 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Property: Hotel Canal Grande
Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing