We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel superbly located”
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Canal Grande
Ranked #11 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel superbly located”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is my second trip to Venice and I stayed at this hotel after numerous recommendations and it exceeded all of them. We arrived at the hotel by water taxi and the check in process was smooth. We had a room (Canal Grande) on the ground floor near to the lift, so I had initial concerns about the noise. But as they shut the fire door between us and the lift, we heard no noise during our three nights. The room was the size of a mini suite with a private courtyard area. The room was well decorated and with a great wet room. The breakfast is extremely tasty and has a great variety. The balcony overlooking the canal was used for all our breakfasts and evening aperitifs. The view from the balcony is superb and it was the perfect way to start a day or an evening out. Also the hotels location is very good with all the major sites about 20min walk away or a 2min walk to the nearest vaparetto stand.

However the main highlight was the staff. Throughout our entire stay they were polite, attentive without being overbearing, courteous and wonderful with their very good suggestions of where to see and eat. All in I can not recommend this hotel enough and would highly suggest staying here.

The only downside of the hotel was the television and remote in the room not working as they should. And the iron provided during our stay leaked and had to be used without water which meant it took an age to iron a shirt. But these little annoyances pale into insignificance when compared against the hotel itself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank derbyshirenomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,649
    293
    35
    6
    1
See reviews for
326
1,344
35
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

This was a birthday weekend treat for my wife. We went with friends and had a fantastic time. We arrived by train, having spent a few nights in Verona first. The hotel is only a short walk from the train station, so arrival was very easy.

My wife was completely bowled over by our room and it's decor - it looked stunning and hit the right note for a special occasion.

The hotel has a great little deck area next to the bar, and this was a great spot to relax and sup campari spizz, whilst watching the world go by on the Grande Canal.

The location suited us, as it is slightly away from the main tourist hotspots, but access to them is easy, either on foot or by Vaporetto, or taxi.

It is close to the Jewish quarter, and we ventured over there for dinner, again this was great as it was full of locals rather than tourist crowds.

Overall we had a magical stay, and the hotel lived up to it's standard of quality and service. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vidal-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived early for our reservation at the hotel Antiche Figure and were upgraded to a junior suite at the hotel canal grande. This was a real treat for our 2 nights in Venice. Location is fantastic as we arrived by train then walked over the bridge to the hotel. The staff were great and brought our luggage over from the other hotel. Breakfast is good and served at several tables in the lobby. There are a few tables out on the deck directly on the canal. You cannot get any closer! We had superb dinner recommendations from the front desk. We took the complimentary taxi ride over to the island of Murano to see a glass studio and store but this is very expensive stuff! The junior suite we had was amazing. The hotel is quiet and very new and clean.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SusW473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you're planning a trip to the beautiful city of Venice, you have found your hotel!! This is a sweet gem of a hotel with superb service.. And the rooms are coverd with silk and paintings. Really italian classic styled.

The location is right next to a ferry stop (witch you will be using a lot)! If you walk over the big bridge close by and continue on the riverbank on the other side of the hotell you can find lots of good resturants. Make shure you dont take the first one. We walked all the way to the end and found some lokal resturant where all the italians where. Super great food and super great area. (it used to be the jewish area).

The hotel have really nice hotelrooms and I felt like a princess living there.

The hotell service is really one of a kind. All of them took really good care of us and asked questions and helped us with maps and dining and tickets etc. We where on a round trip in Italy, and the reseptionist gave us recomandations in other citys as well. They really deserve "best hotel in venice" price from Trip Advisor. We loved to come back when its more quiet!

Ps: While we where out eating dinner, the hotel had cleaned the room and put small candies on silk pillows on our bed!! Soo cute <3

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanneTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

we were booked into the hotel Antiche Figure but when we arrived early to drop our bags,the wonderfully efficient and friendly staff there sais there was no room ready yet,however if we liked they would upgrade us to the Canal Grande,a sister hotel of theirs and only a very short distance from them,immediately and at no extra cost. naturally we accepted,and the person we were dealing with took our case and walked the short distance with us to the canal grande,introduced us and ensured that our reservation was transferred on their computer system,and left us in the capable hands of the equally friendly and efficient staff there. this is a relatively new hotel.An old building right on the canal,and beautifully restored.It is very conveniently located on the opposite side of the canal to the train station (santa lucia)The room we had was delightful,and the breakfast buffet excellent with hot dishes cooked to order. There is a small balcony over the water with 3 small tables and if you can get one of these breakfast is a totally different experience .Sitting out here on a evening with a cocktail,the venetian world is literally on your doorstep and this experience would cost a fortune at any of the other venues with this facility. In our experience location and staff are what makes any hotel stand out and be different to their competitors.Canal Grande is exceptional in both categories. we would definitely return.

Room Tip: there are only a few rooms directly facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roamer069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
84 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

A somewhat plain white box on the outside, the Hotel Canal Grande is authentic, lovely, and comfortable on the inside. Its prime location on the Grand Canal, diagonally across from the train station and adjacent to a quiet piazza, is exactly where you want to be: on the picturesque edge of the city away from the craziness of, well, everyplace else in Venice. (Their private dock is a bonus if you take a water taxi from the airport; you do NOT want to have to drag your luggage through Venice's confusing streets and allies to an interior hotel.) Breakfast (included in our rate) is served in a small dining room, and also on a small deck overlooking the canal, a perfect way to start the day that also offers a fascinating look at the city in motion. Our room was small but right-sized and elegant, with a canopy bed and plenty of closet space — and unexpectedly high tech with modern touches such as a shower with body jets, European AND U.S. electrical plugs, and a large gilded wall mirror that (surprise!) is also the TV. All of that earns the Hotel Canal Grande its 5 stars, but what puts this hotel over the top is the staff. Enough cannot be said of the tireless, accommodating people who run this hotel every day in earnest to make their guests feel welcome, and to make it as easy as possible for their guests to do whatever it is they want while in Venice. The front desk staff in particular is absolutely second to none. Suffice it simply to say that this is where people should be sent to learn about customer service and hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tabeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We only stayed one night in Venice but was made to feel so welcomed by the staff at Hotel Canal Grande. We were shown to our room personally before our bags were taken up stairs to the cassanova room which was beautifully decorated. The only thing that could have been improved was the bed could have been a little bit more soft. Breakfast was beautifully set up in the breakfast room and freshly made cappucino's were made for us. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend this Hotel in Venice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freshy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,865 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,591 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,762 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#21 of 385 in Venice
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Property: Hotel Canal Grande
Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing