We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time to Venice”
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Canal Grande
Ranked #9 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We researched this hotel through Trip Advisor plus others and it was very quaint. Very hard to find however once dropped off at the taxi stop (no cars on the Island). Luckily found their sister hotel who directed us. Our junior suite was about 400 sq ft with a large bath, very abnormal for Intl countries! Staff at front desk very nice and courteous. Location was good, right off the canal - great view from their restaurant deck. Only disappointment was their free boat ride out to Marano did not drop us back at the hotel dock as we were told but on the other side of the island so we had to hoof it back to the hotel to get our luggage.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnKColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,310 - 1,316 of 2,213 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I spent three fabulous nights at the Hotel Canal Grande in Venice. Convenient to the train station, an easy walk even with heavy bags. The hotel is beautiful and nothing is too much for the staff to arrange. Love the small patio overlooking the canal for an early breakfast to appreciate the working canal come to life in the morning or in the evening for a cocktail to watch the world go by.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We recently returned from a four night stay at Hotel Canal Grande.
We adored both the feel of the place & the wonderful way Giani & Anka
made us feel at home.
The breakfast set up is very nice - try to grab a table outside on the
deck overlooking the Grand canal.
We would come back after a great day of sightseeing, grab a table on the deck
& have Aperol Spritzers & simply enjoy the views.
Our room wasn't in the main building - but that really didn't matter as it was less
than 20 feet from the lobby area.
Will absolutely be going back!
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salbucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is made of the main building (as shown on the picture) and also some small houses around, all beautifully decorated and clean but without a view...Breakfast is good and will be served in the main room overviewing the Canal Grande. The situation is central as it is located just in front of Santa Croce Station, quite convenient! We were glad of our stay but we were a bit disappointed to be hosted outside the main building without previous notice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CATLIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I were able to finally go to Italy for our 30th anniversary. I spent the entire winter planning the trip and our very first stop was here at the Hotel Canal Grande. I can't even imagine there is a better way to start - or a better place to stay. The entire staff made us feel at home the minute we arrived. They were very helpful and we even choose our room (the Longhi room - the one with the canopy bed in the pictures). Yes it is alittle small - but sitting in bed watching the late evening or early morning boats go by will be a lifelong memory. The location is very safe (as the whole city is) and very quite. The walk to San Marco is about 15 min and well worth the adventure every time you take it!

Room Tip: The Longhi room is the canopy bed room you see in the pictures - directly faces the canal and you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whovilledc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at Canal Grande as part of our honeymoon in a standard room in early September. I normally tend to get home sick staying at hotels, but I could not feel more at home here. The rooms have a historic charm without feeling old. The rooms were elegant and spotlessly clean, and I am very picky when it comes to cleaningness. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds we had in our 2 week trip across Italy. The lady at the front desk as well as all the other employees were very sweet, helpful, and professional. The breakfast had very good quality ingredients. I liked the touch of including some packaged pastries that one could take with you for a snack later in the day.

One suggestion -
They have a very nice shower with water that comes from all directions, but it goes all over the bathroom since only protected by fabric curtain. I would suggest that they add glass around the shower.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fettuccineo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Canal Grande for the first three nights of our honeymoon during our stay in Venice. We arrived by plane and then took the bus from the airport to the nearby Plaza. From there the hotel was a short walk (and an ever shorter walk to the train station), which we were thankful for as we were carrying big suitcases. Don't overlook this hotel because of it's location - the hotel is located near the top of the canal (away from touristy San Marco) as it's much more peaceful, and still easy to get around to all the sites and shopping in Venice. Our room in the hotel was beautiful, especially the bathroom which looked like it had been recently remodeled with beautiful Italian marble. Service was excellent - the hotel staff was very knowledgeable of the area and made some good restaurant recommendations. Would definitely recommend for couples or friends/families traveling without young kids.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 387 in Venice
2,020 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#7 of 387 in Venice
3,957 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#21 of 387 in Venice
1,771 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#14 of 387 in Venice
1,625 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 387 in Venice
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $200 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing