We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really spacious accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Palazzo Odoni
Ranked #109 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Really spacious accommodation”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We've stayed in many places in Venice from B&Bs to the Danieli and we've not really found anywhere we've thought both the accommodation and the price were right for a return visit until the Residence Palazzo Odoni. The owner was friendly and helpful. The Coop supermarket, just behind the bus station, was great for supplies of tea/coffee and breakfast. The little kitchen with two rings, microwave, fridge and kettle was more than adequate. What really sold it for us was the huge living area which was beautifully Venetian ie mildly tatty but simply lovely. Three sofa's easily fit and a big dining table. One of the sofa's turned into a bed for our teenage son (which he said was comfy) and the curtains that partitioned the room afforded the right levels of privacy. I'm guessing at least one of the other sofa's turned into a bed too. Upstairs our small double bedroom was nice and clean with a good wardrobe and next door a good bathroom with jacuzzi bath.

The view of the canal was a lovely bonus. It's a nice area and hugely convenient for the bus and train station if you want to travel further afield. We always get a 5 day (boat) bus ticket so getting around Venice is not a problem - both Rialto & St. Marks are a few bus stops away so accessible but being here means local restaurants are cheaper and frankly more interesting.

Downsides ... the stairs up to the apartments are steep. The stairs in the apartment were steep too - this isn't the apartment for you if you have a mobility impairment. But then given Venice is a city of bridges and steps if you're able to get around Venice you can easily navigate these stairs.

All in all a lovely apartment, nice owner and a good price too. Thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    95
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
217
158
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Genève
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We spent 4 nights in the Residence Palazzo Odoni with our 2 kids aged 7 and 9 in April 2013 in an apartment.

Service/accommodation: Michele (the Residence manager) was there on the first morning to accommodate us and was always available to answer our different requests, even if he doesn’t live on site. Michele's wife was also very kind when we had to organize a taxi transfer to Murano (included in the price of the room). To illustrate their sense of hospitality, Michele lent us rain boots as we had to face “acqua alta” (flood) on the first day - a special experience for tourists but a nightmare for Venice as water is literally going everywhere. Hope a robust solution will soon be met for the Venetian to avoid those situations. Globally, we felt very welcome at the Residence.

Location: The Palazzo is located in a very nice neighborhood,5 minutes from the Piazzale Roma and also 5 minutes from the Basilica Santa Maria Dei Frari, it is away from tourist flow but very convenient to join the centre (you can catch the Vaporetto at the San Toma station). The neighbourhood is really nice as not being "touristic" while close to everything. You enter into the Palazzo through a very nice courtyard that make you feel a little bit like a Venetian.

Room/flat: our flat consisted in a one bedroom and one living room, including a kitchen and a large table in the middle of the living room, which was very convenient. Kitchen was well equipped and daily service includes washing dishes. Bathroom was a little bit small and old fashion even if the bath was equipped with Jacuzzi. The atmosphere is pretty "Venetian vintage" with some beautiful wood furnitures, everything is very clean. We are used to go to much modern and luxury places but all in all we found the Residence very practical and charming. It is to notice that the place is also very quiet at night. There is no breakfast but you can go to a restaurant that has an arrangement with the Residence, breakfast is 5 EUR and consists in a very simple buffet. We went there 2 times and we found then a very good bakery near the hotel ("Barozzi"): lot of good and fresh things you can take back to the Residence and enjoy a royal breakfast in your flat, that was our preferred solution.
To summarize, we wanted something special in Venice and we found it in the Palazzo. I would specially recommend this place for family, as the flat is very practical and you feel welcome.

Near to the Palazzo, go to the “Osteria ae Cravate”, an excellent and typical trattoria (it is preferable to book), and buy Italian and Venezian bakeries at “Barozzi”. If you want to buy beautiful masks, go to "Marega", there are 2 shops nearly.

It was our third time in Venice and we were a little bit selective in our visit but things not to miss in Venice are Palazzo Ducale, Piazza San Marco, Santa Maria Dei Frari, Museum Correr, La Giudecca and San Maggiore Campanile, a visit of la Fenice plus of course getting lost at night in the small streets as you will then fell all the magical of this fantastic city ! Do not hesitate to buy a pass to take the Vaporetto, this is very convenient and in the same time a very nice way to always enjoy exceptional views of the city. Get a museum pass to avoid the queue in Palazzo Ducale and a “skip the line ticket” for the Basilica San Marco, both can be purchased in advance on internet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoubidou71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from Venice and staying at Palazzo Odoni. We had the suite for four which was very well appointed and modern. Extremely professionally run and the included breakfast was excellent. The locality was also very good being a short walk to Roma Piazza and then to all the main attractions. It suited us because it was a lot quieter than high tourist areas. There are many local restaurants and the help from the owners was great.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Palazzo Odoni, and truly loved being away from all the tourists.The Palazzo is very close to all the attractions, in fact we walked all the way to St Marco, but it was lovely to go back to such peace and calm afterwards!
Our room faced the canal and some very old buildings, it was picturesque! The room was enormous, and so clean! It was nice to be able to make a big fry up in the morning as we really felt at home.e
We would recommend Palazzo Odoni to anyone wishing to really feel like one of the locals and to experience some amazing peace!!!

Room Tip: If you deal with Signor Giangreco and explain your needs, he will choose the perfect room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antonella t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellegarde sur Valserine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We enjoyed the very personal welcome and good care and absolutely helpful tips from Michele.
The room surpassed our expectations and the size (beautiful height and great ceilings) and decorations took us immediately into a mood on a Friday pm that was beyond the buzz and hectic of a hard week of work. The view on the canal (... not the loud canale grande... but a picturesque one), the tranquility and quietness, the more then easy access to the sites of interest and good restaurants made for us a great weekend. The level of detail (candles in the night in the courtyard and the stairs) is amazing and contributed to a full 5 star rating !
Thank you Michele !

Room Tip: We can recommend Tiziano-appartement if you do not mind to climb stairs to bathroom and bedroom and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chateau_Mussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel always felt more like a home when we staggered in every late afternoon after a long day wandering in and wondering at the street of Venice .Good restaurants , and having read a lot about the city I was shocked at the reasonable prices , nearby meant that we did not have to travel very far to eat in the evenings .Venice has , to say the least , a curious topography and looking at a map it might seem curious to say that the hotel is centrally located ....but it is . The staff were unobtrusive but always available to assist and the owner made a point of checking our arrival time so he would be there personally to meet us . When advised that we were arriving by water taxi he warned us of the cost but agreed that as it was our first time in Venice then some extravagence was acceptable .The hotel was recommended to us by friends and we are in their debt for doing so .No point in talking about the beautiful and impressive building itself .look at the pictures on the web site . The area is quite and I especially recommend a small bar / cafe across the canal for its local flavour .

Room Tip: We picked an two room apartment facing the canal , extra space very welcome on the one wet day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingirish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is the second time we stayed in Residence Palazzo Odoni. We took Caravaggio, one of the front apartments. The manager, Signor Michele, was really hospitable, and actually took our quite heavy bags upstairs!
We came for the Carnival and stayed for a week.
The comfort and size of the appartments are really luxurious. You are truly transported to Old Venice, and get into the spirit of the city. Although it was February, we got heavy snow, and l'acqua alta, but the perfect insulation of the appartment made it very nice.
One of the best things about Odoni's is that they are close to the Piazzale Roma, so if you come by car or by train, you just have to walk across 2 bridges.

Room Tip: Ask for a front appartment. Ask about breakfast reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny_Doin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#115 of 386 in Venice
850 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#81 of 386 in Venice
975 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Locanda Salieri
Hotel Locanda Salieri
#186 of 386 in Venice
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#104 of 386 in Venice
810 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#36 of 386 in Venice
1,989 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
3,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Palazzo Odoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Palazzo Odoni

Property: Residence Palazzo Odoni
Address: Santa Croce, 151 | Fondamenta Minotto, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Venice
#36 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner, Mr Michele Giangreco, welcomes you to his prestigious XV century gothic Venetian Palace belonging to his family for 5 generations.Enjoy the true atmosphere of Venice in the luxury apartments still retaining a nostalgic charm.Feel home at Residence Palazzo Odoni...The real Venice awaits youWe offer a unique experience both for those that have already visited Venice, or for those visiting for the first time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Residence Palazzo Odoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Palazzo Odoni Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing