We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical Venetian hotel on Grand Canal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Canal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Canal
Ranked #250 of 386 Hotels in Venice
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Typical Venetian hotel on Grand Canal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed two nights in early July 2013. Arriving by train, the hotel is brilliantly located directly opposite Santa Lucia, and is right on the Grand Canal itself. This does mean lugging your cases over the bridge, but this is definitely better than one of the many (many) helpers offering to take your cases, and money.

The hotel itself is what you would call "traditionally Venetian" i.e. in a very old building and without the usual mod-cons of 21st Century hotels. However, it does have its charm and has a good bathroom with bath and shower.

The garden used for breakfast is a lovely setting and have fun getting acquainted with the various birds cheekily approaching your table for crumbs. Breakfast itself is a standard selection of bread, pastries, jams and so on. Good coffee.

Location wise, if you like sightseeing on foot, any part of the main island is accessible, including St Mark's and Rialto. Whenever you lose your bearings, just pick up signs for Ferrovia and you'll be back on track.

For a more unusual and typically Venetian activity, pick up a leaflet in the hotel lobby for mask painting at a workshop near St Marks. This was a brilliant way to spend an hour or so out of the stifling heat, getting creative! It also gives you a personal souvenir, instead of one from the countless tacky stalls.

Finally, get prepared for all types of, let's call them "salesmen" offering everything from bouncy balls to roses. A simple "No, grazie" will move them on, usually!

Room Tip: Opt for a canal facing room if possible for a great view of the Grand Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    417
    365
    156
    123
See reviews for
297
635
44
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Right across from the train station and a quick walk across the Scalzi bridge, very convenient to drop your stuff and get on with exploring. Once we saw how crowded the vaporettos were, we were so happy we didn't have to deal with it. We missed our train in the morning, so decided to go to the laundromat just in back of the church, so convenient for light packers!

It could use a little updating (upholstered walls?), but the beds were okay and the room was clean, so can't complain. Actually, the ramshackle old Venetian effect was expected and even a little charming, if a little granny. The breakfast garden was really simple and sweet, lots of birdsong and shade, breakfast was just fine. I wouldn't go there for a honeymoon when you want some bells and whistles, but it worked well for us!

Absolutely no mosquitoe problem, and as for the canal smell, my son said, "it smells like going to the shore!" Accurate.

Room Tip: We had a quad, the beds were a little undersized but comfortable, facing a side canal but still able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jozig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was a most unpleasant experience. The hotel did not have an elevator which wasn't totally unexpected. However, after schlepping our bags two flights of stairs the air conditioning was only barely working. The continental breakfast consisted of some horrible looking meat and dried out pastries all monitored by a food Nazi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwenny1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Before arriving at Hotel Canal I read these reviews and was filled with dread. However, upon arrival the Hotel was much better than expected. Although it looks like it needs a good lick of paint on the outside, the hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. The rooms were sizeable enough and kept very clean. The use of the vintage furniture fit in well with the age of the Hotel and the overall feel of Venice. It was great value for money. The air con was perfect, the offer of a cheap mini bar was very useful and there was no issue with smell. Also, for those complaining they had been bitten badly by mosquitos, the hotel provided a free plug in device which prevents mosquitos entering the room. The breakfast was OK but being a Brit I would've loved to have some hot options too like bacon and eggs. For those of you complaining about it being 'old' and 'outdated' I think you have missed the whole point of Venice. Considering how much you pay you get a lot in return. It's not a 5 star hotel so bear that in mind before you book this hotel if you love your creature comforts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed at the hotel on 22nd June 2013

The hotel is in an ideal location. A ten minute walk from the people mover and P.Roma. Opposite the train station. I opted for the canal room for an extra charge. The view was very nice so I can't grumble. It looked out to the main canal and onto the big glass bridge.

Now for the bad points.... The hotel is very out dated. Looks as though It's about to fall down (But so does most of Venice). The bathroom had split floor tiles, holes in the wardrobe and only one power socket. Which was situated on the floor by the front door! Meaning you couldn't charge your phone and open the front door at the same time.

The day I checked in was very hot, around 27 degrees c. Our room had air conditioning, however it was completely useless. As if a small mouse was blowing at you. The heat in the room was unbearable...

The night's sleep was the most uncomfortable I have ever had. The room was like a sauna. It got so bad that I had to soak a towel in cold water and sleep in the wet towel.

The temperature in the room was that hot that I had to open the windows during the night to help ventilation. Which was a huge mistake! I was bitten to death by the local wildlife and the horrible sewer smell of venice filled the room (This is not the fault of the hotel).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WelshMarcR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My disabled friend and I travel during August and September which is a very busy time of year in Venice. We have used hotels all over Venice so are used to the quirkyness of old buildings converted to hotels. On arrival we discovered a new bridge connecting the railway station
with the bus station so it was very easy to reach the hotel on foot. We were given a warm welcome and assistance and that was the case throughout our stay. My view out the window was a courtyard roof, not at all unusual in Venice, but my friend had a view of the canal. Breakfast could not be faulted, with most kinds of food available, including toast and marmalade, cereals, ham, cheese, and of course tea, coffee and fruit juices. We dined in the gold breakfast room and larger parties in the blue room. There is also a really nice garden for al fresco eating in pleasant surroundings. Most hotels in Venice do not have lifts so that cannot be counted as a fault, my friend who is unstable managed the stairs very well. The location of the hotel could not be better, within reach of water buses for glorious trips down the Grand Canal. All rooms are air conditioned and unlike many hotels there is no extra charge for this service. We chatted to staff on a daily basis, not very well, but we made outselves understood and they appreciated our efforts. Who wants to pay around £700.00 a night for a high end hotel when most of the time you will be outside enjoying the delights of Venice.

Room Tip: Accomodation is scare in Venice due to the many events taking place during August and September. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_B503904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We’ve stayed at the Hotel Canal for 2 nights (May 30 and 31) at about $300 US for each night. The location is very good; however this hotel is very old and outdated. There is no elevator. Rooms are located on the second and third floors. The breakfast is simply horrible. Coffee is bad. Their baked goods had an aftertaste.

Rooms are clean, but very small (space for one bed and a person to stand next to it). Bathroom smelled like a sewer. Furniture and bed covering are extremely old. Bed sheets are ok. Our room had a canal view that was very cool. Our friend’s room had a view of a wall that was 1 foot from their window with an ugly sewer pipe.

Level of customer service varies greatly. Our check out was very good - the lady at reception was fast, professional and very friendly.

Our check-in was just weird. We seemed to annoy the clerk by our presence, so after taking our passports and finding our reservation he actually requested that we produce a booking number so he can verify that we did book it. So I searched for the printed copy I had in my bag, but then the clerk didn’t even look at it saying “It is ok”. That tells me that the guy was having a major constipation and was looking for an opportunity to channel his anger. Also he insisted that we pay city tax right at the check-in – something that no other hotel in Italy requested us to do.

Overall I would advise to stay away from this hotel in particular or any other hotel in Venice if your budget is less than 250 EUR per night. You can get a much better hotel and rate by staing on the mainland and taking a bus\boat to Venice. You probably need one day to see everything major (St. Marco square, Basilica and Doge palace) there is to see there, so don’t waste your time. Venice is a one big tourist trap, so don’t get caught.

Room Tip: Ask for room with Canal view (they may charge extra).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maxim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Airone
Hotel Airone
#348 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#182 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#163 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Santa Croce
Santa Chiara Hotel
Santa Chiara Hotel
#101 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal

Property: Hotel Canal
Address: Santa Croce 553, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing