We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amore Venezia !!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Canal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Canal
Ranked #247 of 385 Hotels in Venice
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amore Venezia !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was so pleasantly pleased with the hotel for a number of reasons. First of all the location is so convenient and the staff so very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. I was traveling alone and my room even though small had the most beautiful wallpaper and a view of one of the adjacent canals. The water was hot, the linens pristine, and the included breakfast was ample enough.to sustain you until lunchtime.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    414
    361
    152
    122
See reviews for
294
628
44
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you worry about appearances this is not the hotel for you - from the outside it looks like it is about to fall down (much like most of Venice). BUT , if you are on a city break, it gets points for :- 1) Location, 5 mins from bus stn (for airport) and train stn (to rest of the world). 2) Very clean room with a shower that works. 3) Comfy bed = great nights sleep. 4) Good breakfast. For the price paid (via BA site) was a very good choice, if you want to pay more try the hotels Grand Canal or Monaco Canal.
As for Venice, it's a lovely place to visit on a short break. On our main wander around the city we stopped at Basilica Dei Frari (beautiful big old church) on route to the Rialto Bridge (the vandals have made a bit of a mess) and down to St Marks square. St Marks church not a patch on the other two we visited, but it's the one you 'have to' visit. A trip up the Clock Tower is very good (8 euro a bit pricey, but everything in that area costs more). Next headed for Santa Maria Della Salute, a beautiful church and a bit quieter as it's over the canal from St Marks. Back to hotel along the south of the canal. Try the 'osterya' bars for cheaper drinks and snacks, lots of them all over.
Note to hotel, improve your key security !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel is fantastically well placed, right on the Grande Canal, only a short walk from the lively Ferrovia area with its restaurants and bars. Likewise, not too far to haul your suitcase from the Piazzale Roma. The room was small but with an air of faded grandeur, three flights up with no lift but well worth the climb, for the view of Venice's main waterway. We were there in February, before the carnival and the tourist invasion, perfect. Although it was chilly outside the hotel was warm and cosy, the rooms were clean and the staff members were pleasant. Breakfast is adequate but there are so many wonderful places nearby we wandered a little further afield. A bit basic for some but who goes to Venice to spend time in the hotel? I plan to be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We spent four days during the Venice Carnival and left such a deep and persistent impression, the Carnival gets under your skin because for some 10 days the city and her people go back in time. Roaming the streets we encountered mask after mask. The Venetian festival is all about equality, and you can’t help but warm to the Venetian people because of it.
Canal hotel it's located conveniently near Piazzale Roma (the main bus terminus, 5 minutes walk), at the top of the Grand Canal, close to the the Santa Lucia train station (5 minutes walk) , bus station and the water taxi stop ( 2 minutes walk ).The outside was a little old so we were a little worried but then we changed our mind. The hotel was basic but very clean and we found all of the staff lovely and very polite. Don't expect luxury, the room was very small, perfect for a couple, beds are clean, the bathroom was clean and modern, the rest of the room definitely had an antique feel but nevertheless has a certain Venetian charm. Breakfast was basic but more than adequate, a choice of pastries and hot and cold beverages. Everything was in within walking distance, a 20 minute walk to San Marco's square and Rialto bridge.
Overall, a good stay for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Neostream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel from 2nd-5th January and we would recommend this hotel to any one planning on visiting Venice.
The hotel was basic but very clean and we found all of the staff helpful and friendly. One bonus was that the hotel lets you leave your luggage with them after you have checked out and collect it later - which was great for us as our flight wasn't until 9pm.
The room and bathroom were cleaned everyday and were spotless, decor was a bit dated but was traditional Venetian so what do you expect? The fridge with mini bar was well stocked with alcohol and soft drinks and was actually good prices and restocked daily.
Breakfast was fine - bread, toast, croissants, cereal, fruit salad, tea, coffee and fruit juice - basic but no complaints and plenty of it!
The best thing about this hotel was the location, close to the Santa Lucia train station and the Pizzale Roma train station and also only a short walk to the Vaparetto stops (closest was the Ferrovia which was just over the pointe de scalzi bridge or you could walk to the stops at the Pizzale Roma).
Overall this hotel was in a great location right on the Grand Canal which offered lovely views (we were room 115 which looked out over the canal) even though it was basic it was clean and the staff were good, we paid a good price so haven't got any complains. Venice is a beautiful city so don't hesitate if your planning on visiting!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nikki20Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Although the staff could be nicer, I had no problems at all, the hotel was just ok. However due to its proximity to the Station I would stay with them again. You got to pay for the Wifi on the hotel lobby, I had to skip breakfast because and I quote from the Staff front desk guy: "Its too early to serve coffee or breakfast".

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

very well furnished and beautifully decorated hotel. It would be awesome if internet access, i.e wifi is included in the room price. the breakfast was awesome, freshly made bread every day and you can request earlier breakfast according to your schedule.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank puteri a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Airone
Hotel Airone
#347 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#191 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#162 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Santa Croce
Santa Chiara Hotel
Santa Chiara Hotel
#102 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#273 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal

Property: Hotel Canal
Address: Santa Croce 553, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing