We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey For What You Get”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Trattoria San Toma

Trattoria San Toma
Ranked #224 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Polo
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Pricey For What You Get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Dining from an ala carte menu in Venice is going to be expensive and this place is no exception. It is located in a fairly quiet square and the outside dining area has a certain ambiance about it. Service was very good with the owner taking good care of us. However, the prices for what we had were quite expensive given the quality of the food was not exceptional. I had what was described as calve's liver Venetian style i.e. fried liver in onions, but in fact it could have been calve's liver "anywhere" style. It was OK but not brilliant. For four adults, and two children who only had simple pizzas, the bill came to more than 200 euros which we thought was a bit too much. We had far better meals in other establishments by going for the "tourist menu. Probably wouldn't use this place again but would not really put anyone off giving it a try but be warned, it ain't cheap.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Turkophileabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    167
    43
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tourist be carefull.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We took the menu with pennette tomato which was like a tin of tomato with penne than grilled salmon with potatoes which was so dry that i could not eat it.
And on top of it we had a waiter which was really rude to us.
The only positive point was maybe the manager of the place who really tried to catch up with us and apologized but unfortunately for him the fact that he has been nice was not enough to cover for the poor quality of food served.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleidschendam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So good we came back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Trattoria San Toma is in a pretty square in the San Polo Sestriere of Venice. We stopped here for lunch on our first day in Venice - the food was so good and the waiter so friendly, we came back the following day with our son and daughter-in-law. We had a great discussion with the waiter
(who we nicknamed 'Toma' after the restaurant) about all things italian (economy/politics/food...) and spent a lazy hour or so playing backgammon under the shade of his parasol, with no hassle to pay up and leave the table. The prices were reasonable for Venice!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johannahball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor tourist service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Despite 30+ empty seats outside, our request for an outside table was declined three times! When we left there were still at least ten seats.

Rushed in and out - asked three times if ready to order in 5 minutes. Several touristy types were seated next to us and all seemed to get the rushed service.

Helpful?
1 Thank shammy84
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great tiramisu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Hotel recommended this restaurant. We had lasagna and pasta and shrimp which were good, but the best was the tiramisu. Service was mediocre, but no worse than most Italian restaurants. Food was expensive, but most venice restaurants are. It's a tourist city.

Would go back though.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank themolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria San Toma also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Trattoria San Toma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing