We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad to recommend this Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria San Toma

Trattoria San Toma
Ranked #220 of 1,409 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Polo
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Glad to recommend this Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I were given direction to the restaurant by the clerk at our B&B in 2011. We traveled on foot and made it there and back in the dark, with only a few backtracks. The food and experience was excellent. We came back in 2013 and again greatly enjoyed it. Seafood was excellent. We got good wines that weren't expensive. The waitress was helpful and attentive, but did not hover at the table. We ate outside and it was both child and dog friendly. We plan to return, maybe next time we will get to dine in the "courtyard." I asked, and was shown it, but apparently they don't serve there in the summer.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob1898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    166
    40
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely little family run Trattoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Located off the main tourist route we ate here and had a lovely meal served by attentive and helpful staff. We had the full three courses each with coffee and wine. We especially enjoyed the atmosphere. The owner and his daughter were lovely and good company throughout. Recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Couponuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice family run restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We saw this restaurant in the AA City Pack book we had bought and decided to try it. We were greeted by the owner and he was a very nice man and joked with our 8 year old. We had the tourist menu which was vegetable soup, grilled salmon or baked chicken leg and tiramisu. Our son had the pizza which arrived with a smiley face made out of tomato and olives, nice touch! The soup and main were ok and the homemade tiramisu lovely. We had a bottle of the house red which was nice and only 15 euros. Reasonable food and a nice friendly atmosphere.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank stevedyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant away from the tourists”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Great Pizza and sea food platter. Nice square with outside seating and really friendly waiter. House wine superb and generally a very nice, peaceful place to relax and chill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank idcltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very nice staff and very good food for a good price. Recomend the Spaguetti Vongole with the house wine

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria San Toma also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Trattoria San Toma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing